We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
Ranked #290 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“DONT STAY HERE!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. I have never written a bad review but in this case felt it was very important that everyone should know that please do not ruin your holiday by staying here. You can get something similar in price and much better. I am not a fussy person. I generally only have two requirements, the hotel is to be clean and safe. This hotel was disgusting. The bad reviews are completely true. It smells really bad, there are stains everywhere. There was even mold in my room. I can understand the frustration of people working at this location which led to not great service. I truly feel sorry for them as they probably have to deal with many irate guests. It really isn't their fault as they have little to work with. I can understand that management cannot afford to revamp this property with the way this economy is going. There is a couple of things they could do like get rid of the moldy pictures on the wall. Maybe pull out the carpet, I would think it is the same one put down when the hotel was originallly built. A new coat of paint does wonders, please consider doing this. Even consider doing one room at a time. There were also cockroaches in the room. This could be because it is very hot in Florida, so I will give them the benefit of the doubt.

Room Tip: There is nothing good at this property. Just stay home if this is your only choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    378
    443
    192
    291
See reviews for
535
386
80
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

second time staying in this hotel , i found the room great had 2 big kingsize beds , there was a good sized table , plenty of hanging space for clothes etc , and a nice table and chairs , the rooms are slightly dated in decor but clean and fit for purpose , the reception area is busy most times to use the free wifi , reception staff are friendly and helpful , great base for visiting the theme parks and there is a ticket desk in the reception for the shuttle buses to the parks , there are loads of places to eat on the door step and wet and wild is across the street , as we had a car there was no need to use the shuttle buses , in all a great day to get your head down and there is also a pool just next to the reception

Room Tip: ask for a low floor as you can get out and in to your car and your off
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grc1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

IGNORE ANY BAD REVIEWS!!! We have just recently returned from an 18 night stay in this hotel. We also stayed in August 2010 for 16 nights. This is a fantastic hotel for those on a budget. At the end of the day when your in Orlando how much time do you actually spend in your hotel room? We prefer to stay in a cheaper hotel so that we have more money for the theme parks and shopping! Staff are really helpful and friendly, especially Mertylina (sorry if its spelt wrong!), Brian and Alex. We had a minor issue with the hair dryer not working, it was sorted on that day. Having stayed before we requested the same room and they were happy to accommodate us, we also had a friend come and stay for 3 nights during our holiday and they put him in the room next door to us. Our room was always clean, housekeeping changed the towels daily and the bedding when we requested (by leaving a placard on the bed) They provide a free safe and the room also has air con and a fridge-freezer. The hotel is in a great location, across the road from wet & wild, a 15 minute walk from universal and they provide a free shuttle to Disney (note that MOST hotels DO NOT offer this service, our friends stayed at a more expensive hotel and were expected to pay $18 per trip for a shuttle!) You can also use the I-trolley to venture up and down I drive and sea world ($1.50 pp) and the lynx bus service is great too (especially if you want to go a bit further) There is a coffee shop at the hotel which provides tea/coffee/hot chocolate and many breakfast items for great low prices. They provide free wifi in the hotel lobby and pool area for if you desperately need that Facebook fix! Both times we have had fantastic stays, would recommend this hotel and we will definitely be going back!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
9 Thank B3AN87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Only stayed at the hotel for one night before driving to Miami. The location is very close to Universal Studios which is great. You get free parking and wifi (only near the pool and reception area). The hotel / Motel is not more than 2 stars. The room was clean but the hotel and room itself was rundown and could need some refurbishment. Friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DollyOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just got back from a two week stay at this hotel. The hotel is a bit rundown, but the price reflected that. The room was clean, fresh clean white towels everyday, bed sheets were always clean, staff were very friendly, I used the wifi in the lobby with no issues, I used the microwave and it was always clean and I didn't have to wait to use it, the pool was always clean (and it gets lots of sun throughout the day).

The hotel is in a great location, within walking distance of Universal and lots of restaurants on International Drive. I used the I-Ride to get to the outlet malls, only cost $1.50 per journey and there is an I-Ride stop right outside the hotel. I used the Lynx bus to get to the Florida mall, this was only $2.00 per journey, and again, there is a bus stop right near the hotel. Wet n Wild is also just across the road. There is a small Walgreens next door to the hotel, which is very handy. I used the hotel complimentary shuttle bus to Disney and back, it was on time and the driver was very friendly.

The hotel was cheap and cheerful, it is not perfect, it could certainly benefit with a fresh cost of paint and some sprucing up, they could do with buying some newer sunbeds for people out by the pool (but the ones they have are okay, they are just clearly quite old), basically it was cheap, but it was good enough for me, I was hardly in the hotel anyway, there is so much to be out seeing and doing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Arrived here on a thursday, and checked out monday morning, and this was about as much as I would`ve wanted to stay. We only visited Orlando as we desperately needed to escape the UK weather and Virgin had a great sale on, and based on that, given the nightly rate, it was a great little trip. We were out of the hotel apart from just to sleep.

Its a great locale for Universal resort and Sea World (both a quick shuttle bus away) and the beds are comfortable and the staff enthusiastic and helpful.

However, its very dated, in need of a lick of paint, close to a noisy freeway and has no wifi in the rooms. (Everyone gathers in the lobby all day and all night to get their desperately needed Facebook fix).

For a random trip to see the highlights of Orlando, it is fine, however if you are coming here as a `once in a lifetime` family vacation, you will be massively disappointed...stick to the resort hotels for that kind of thing.

Room Tip: Try and get back facing as the front is full of wifi seeking guests chatting at all hours
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beauxl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I know it is cheap, and I was expecting ugly, but I think cleanness is just a MUST.
Shower was disgusting, the shower curtain shows no cleaning, towels are like yellow, and I felt I couldn't be bare footed on that carpet because Ill get an infection.

We arrived at 1am, and checked out at 8am
I am so glad my husband got a different hotel

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulagocolombia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Monumental MovieLand
Monumental MovieLand
#245 of 334 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Heart of I-Drive
#284 of 334 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 stars 721 reviews
Florida Center
Floridian Express Hotel
Floridian Express Hotel
#289 of 334 in Orlando
3.0 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge International
#202 of 334 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Grand Hotel Orlando
#238 of 334 in Orlando
3.5 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel

Property: Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel
Address: 6825 Visitors Cir, Orlando, FL 32819-8227 (Formerly Riande Continental Plaza)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wifi located only in lobby and pool areas. Free shuttle to theme parks Close to several attractions and restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Orlando Continental Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Plaza Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing