We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A FANTASTIC CONFERENCE HOTEL” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #12 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Plantation, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A FANTASTIC CONFERENCE HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was our second year at the Florida Hotel and Conference Center for the 49th Annual Florida Collegiate DECA Conference, and look forward to having our annual conference at the Florida Hotel and Conference Center for many years to come. In three words that are most important - customer service excellence.

The staff of the hotel work together as a team providing the best experience I have encountered in years! There is not a stone unturned and they take care of things before having to ask. From the beginning, working with Jim Fleck, Sales Manager, and Sheila Gipson, Catering Manager, everything, from the bellmen greeting you as a guest in the front drive, to the front desk reception encountered, to the restaurants under the direction of Jonathan, Food and Beverage, to the Executive Chef, to Housekeeping, to the wonderful gal in the Grab and Go, to Simone, Director of Sales and Marketing, and Lori, Catering Director - - all I can say is WOW!


Not only is this a GREAT venue for a conference, but I've stayed there with family and we all had a great visit, and again, felt like a guest walking into someone's home.

I applaud Mr. Terry Shaikh, CEO and President, for visiting with us each and every day to ensure that everything was perfect. In complimenting Mr. Shaikh on his fabulous staff, Mr. Shaikh replied, "I am blessed with great people!" I replied, and they are blessed to have you as a leader who takes every opportunity to recognize employees. I can honestly say, Mr. Shaikh must spend a considerable amount of time in his daily activities recognizing their accomplishments which are well-earned and well-deserved.

While the hotel is connected to the Florida Mall, guests have every store imaginable and plenty of great restaurants and a fantastic food court. The location is excellent; the staff is superb, and I am sure you will agree with this review.

Kudos to the entire staff of the Florida Hotel and Conference Center.

Room Tip: I had attendees in many rooms of the hotel and we had not one complaint which says excellence, excel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,667
    1,290
    239
    60
    46
See reviews for
1,119
736
299
2,663
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (717)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Clean modern room. Friendly attentive staff. I do not go to Orlando often but when I do I stay at this hotel. I had been travelling for the entire day from San Francisco. I checked in late but the front desk team was super friendly and made me feel welcome. I live in NYC and the room was bigger than my Apt. If you have to go to Orlando this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryWCurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed in room 617, strange smell in the room, although this was on the entire floor.
Noise insulation for the Windows is very good, the room door however is poor with a large gap between the door and the floor, this makes sound travel from outside quite easily.
Hotel is in a horrible location, neighborhood nearby is a complete dump.
Would only say you would chance staying here if you have a car.
There was no DND sign for the room so the housekeeping staff kept coming back despite telling them we didn't want the room serviced.
Check-In staff was ok, Checkout staff were having a chat with someone for a while before they dealt with us.
The guys at the door were very nice.
Hotel is connected to a large mall, if your into the shopping thing.

In short I would not recommend staying here unless you absolutely have to for a convention or something.

Stay downtown somewhere if you want things close by to be able to walk to.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irish Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Decided a little pampering was needed on this stay, so we chose to stay in the Florida Hotel & Conference Center.
Came straight from the airport, check-in was nice and quick. Had a wonder around the Mall, and a couple of drinks at he Hotel bar. Nice hotel, would stay there again..

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Heno34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waycross
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

How can you beat a hotel attached to a mall in Orlando Florida? You cant! I brought two friends here for a day of R&R after a concert in Gainesville and it was perfect. The rooms were clean and everything worked as it should. When we felt rested we wandered through the mall and of course checked out the M&M's store. You just can't beat a trip to Orlando, especially for the quality and price of The Florida Hotel and Conference Center. It'll leave you refreshed and with some extra coin in your pocket to spend at one of the areas many entertainment or fine dining destinations. Can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank relyeamichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

My wife and I have visited this hotel twice before and stayed for 7 days this Feb. We are Hilton and Hyatt members but for this particular trip find the Florida hotel meets our requirements the best.
Its location is part of its appeal and the rooms are perfect for our needs. In Feb we took the with breakfast package and it was worth it.
The breakfast was on a par with the top Hilton and Hyatt properties in the area and we have stayed in everyone of them.
A pleasant poolside adds to the amenities and a choice of valet or free parking.
We where delighted with the attitude of the staff and can again put them on equal footing to the best Hilton and Hyatt can offer.
We will be returning in April for 13 days. I cancelled a previous booking with another hotel to again stay at the Florida hotel.
We can recommend this hotel for both business and pleasure it does both we ease.
Stephen.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have better views but tend to be slightly more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The best feature is that it is attached to the mall. The friendly staff is so accommodating. Easy access with a central location. Thankfully it is not in the congested area of International Drive. Self-parking was very close to the front entrance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
The Point Orlando Resort
#25 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
Floridays Resort Orlando
#18 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,626 reviews
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 335 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection
Address: 1500 Sand Lake Road, Orlando, FL 32809-7081 (Formerly The Florida Hotel and Conference Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Orlando
#3 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Family Hotel in Orlando
#22 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection 3.5*
Number of rooms: 510
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at The Florida Mall, the Florida Hotel and Conference Center offers amenities not available at most hotels including a Starbucks in our lobby and direct mall access. Located just minutes from the Orlando International Airport, the Orange County Convention Center, and Walt Disney World Resort, we are at the center of everything there is to do in Orlando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Best Western so you can book your The Florida Hotel & Conference Center, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Hotel Orlando
Florida Mall Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing