We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Orlando World Center Marriott
Ranked #70 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Queens, NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great room with a view”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My wife and kids had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a week and were totally satisfied with the hotel, room, and staff. upon arrival we were greeted by some of the friendliest people i have ever met in the hotel industry. We were checked in by Kate (sorry i don't remember her last name) who practically fell in love with my kids to the point she was taking pictures with them. She gave us valuable information on where to stay in the hotel and how to maneuver around the area for amenities not found in the hotel. While the hotel is more business oriented (numerous conventions were being held at the time) it still has enough amenities to make the kids happy. Our room was located in the north tower and we took a high floor (18) as Tripadvisor reviews made it clear this would be a good vantage point to see the nightly Disney fireworks. The kids loved seeing it when we happened to be in the room at that time of night. The real kicker, however, was the hotel put on its own fireworks show on Friday at 9 pm. The fireworks are set off in the hotels golf course and from our balcony it was practically in our face. The kids were truly excited during the show. The hotel has some great people on their housekeeping staff too. Kim (sorry i don't remember her last name) was very helpful and attended to our every request. When we found a couple of things wrong with the room, the supervisor, Darius Nall, personally came to inspect and had things rectified almost immediately. We really appreciate all the efforts made by him and Kim in giving us the best experience possible at the hotel. The Falls Pool was great as was the kiddie pool and water slides. There is even a Lego play area for the little ones which my little loved. The hotel is HUGE but access to all points is conveniently laid. They have a shuttle to Disney which we used once only because we missed the time to come back the first time and had to wait so we decided to use our car after that just for our own convenience. Plenty of eateries within 10 minutes of the hotel in any direction you go. And the north tower has it's own parking lot so no need for shuttle bus back to tower or lobby after parking. In all i would DEFINITELY stay there and recommend it to anyone who asked.
My only con with the front desk staff was when we returned late one night and the hotel had just recovered from a blackout as i was told by a young lady at the desk. I informed her that the elevators in the north tower were not working. She proceeded to tell me the hotel had just experienced a blackout. Her tone and expression on her face was one of "duh, didnt you know we just had a blackout???" which we did not know since we just got back from a theme park. i then asked her if we could use the service/freight elevator. She replied no and i should walk up to my room...on the 18th floor. In other words take two sleeping kids (4 and 7) up 36 flights. When i told her that was out of the question she replied "well i can give you a $25 credit towards your bill." In an effort not to "lose it" I just turned my back and walked away back towards the elevators were my and sleeping kids were. We were then told by two security officers we COULD in fact use the service elevator to get to our floor.
That's the ONLY reason why i cant give the hotel an Excellent rating this time.

Room Tip: North Tower, 18th floor was GREAT for views of Disney and hotel fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeamMember, Executive Offices at Orlando World Center Marriott, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Don09,

It makes us very happy to hear that you had a great room with an enjoyable view at our hotel. It sounds like your family really took advantage of all of the amenities at our hotel and we are so thrilled to hear that.

We apologize for any issues you experienced with housekeeping, but are glad they were rectified quickly. We are also very sorry for the situation with the elevators and the miscommunication about the best way to get you to your room. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way. We appreciate this feedback and will be reviewing our policies and procedures immediately with our staff to ensure a communication breakdown like this does not occur again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,403
    1,183
    442
    154
    130
See reviews for
1,362
343
39
2,021
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Large property well located for all of the typical Orlando destinations. Easy on/off I-4 so getting around isn't an issue.

The pool area and family facilities are great. No problem spending the day at the pool with the family...eating and drinking on property has everything you want/need albeit a little pricey.

Rooms are in good shape...clean, equipped...and exactly what you would demand from a Marriott resort.

Staff in all areas from front desk to housekeeping to bar staff to onsite stores...all very kind and helpful.

Facility is built to accommodate large events from weddings to giant trade shows...and does so well!

No problem giving the facility a 4 out of 5. Pssst...don't miss having a mix of frozen mango + strawberry by the pool!

Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeamMember, Executive Offices at Orlando World Center Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Marcus S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about our property. We are so glad that you had a good time and enjoyed so many of our services and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Many years ago, I stayed at the Marriott Orlando World Center and was disappointed with the experience. It seemed like the hotel was just too big to run well. I just stayed there this week, and have to say, it's enormously improved! The hotel runs beautifully! Everything is very organized, the restaurants are good, the location is great, close to everything, and the hotel has beautiful grounds, with a huge, gorgeous pool (actually several pools), golf on property, and my room was very spacious. There were two large conventions in house at the same time, so there were a few times of day when it took a few minutes for an elevator, but no problems. If you're thinking about using this hotel for groups or meetings, they have a LOT of very beautiful, flexible, meeting space that's well-situated and close-by.

Room Tip: the rooms facing the pool have very nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeamMember, Executive Offices at Orlando World Center Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear cherylfs,

We are so glad that you came back and gave our hotel another try and are also very happy to hear that you found the entire property vastly improved. Each of our 1,400+ hosts works hard to ensure that everyone has a smooth and comfortable stay and we are happy to hear that this was true in your situation. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here in Mid July.

The room was large and comfortable with a view of the large pool.

Staff was very attentive.

Be prepared to walk a lot if you use the self park. It's a long way from the parking lot back to your room.
There is a shuttle that runs from the parking lot to the main building.
Valet parking is also offered.

Food court food is just fair and overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeamMember, Executive Offices at Orlando World Center Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Victor246,

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay. We do indeed offer a complimentary shuttle to the parking area and also provide a variety of dining establishments to appeal to most any taste and budget. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed 1 night (2 rooms). Hotel is very nice. Crowded from time you pull up to front. Arrived at 9:00 am and got both rooms right away. Staff was polite and welcoming. Pool had a nice resort feel. Parking is not convenient and is a drawback. The only real negative is the size. It is a very large hotel and rooms are very spread out. Would be fine if I was attending a convention but elderly would have a hard time at this property. They have a shuttle to parks but we did not use.

Room Tip: Ask for main tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BSVeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeamMember, Executive Offices at Orlando World Center Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear BSVeep,

We are glad that you found our hotel to be a nice property. We do indeed offer complimentary shuttle service to the parking area so that no one needs to walk very far. Many guests do prefer the size of our resort as it offers a lot of variety in terms of facilities and amenities. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Very nice hotel, a stones throw from downtown Disney. Great pool and water slides. Had the most awesome waitress at the pool, DeReece. She put up with a lot of shenanigans with a friendly and courteous smile. She deserves a raise!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeamMember, Executive Offices at Orlando World Center Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear lorduck,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review and to single out DeReece. We appreciate the recognition of her talents and will pass this on to her. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yigo, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I arrived on a Thursday night for a six night stay. It took a long time to get checked in. They ask a lot of questions and the process for each customer takes a long time. I was fourth in line and I had to wait 20 minutes. However, when I got back to the hotel the next day, the line was about 50 yards long and was still moving very slowly. Be prepared for a long wait to get registered.


There are a couple of inches between the door and the floor of each room. When people go to there rooms, a lot of noise comes into the room. I woke up many times when people would return from partying over the weekend. The clientele has no inclination to be quiet during the early hours of the morning. It got better on Sunday night and thereafter, but I woke up many times due to noise the first few nights.

The resort is incredible. It is nice to take the elevator up to the top floor and see all the resort has to offer. Everywhere I ate the food was terrific. I had a brisket sandwich in the pub that seemed to melt in my mouth. I had a steak in the steak has that was very tasty. The food in the buffet café was very good also. I started each morning off with a coffee from Starbucks.

Except for the registration and the noise at night, it was a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Try to get as far away from the elevators as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LowMaintFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarriottTeamMember, Executive Offices at Orlando World Center Marriott, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear LowMaintFam,

We are so glad to hear that you found our resort a wonderful experience and do apologize about the slow check-in. We are working to see how we can expedite this process for all guests.

We are also very sorry about the noise levels you experienced. As you said, we do hope that guests maintain a sense of courtesy when traveling down the halls late at night to their rooms since they are essentially in a "public" forum; however, that is not always the case. We wish it was something we could control, but while we can make suggestions, it is the responsibility of each guest to be respectful of those behind the other doors.

We are very happy to hear about your enjoyment of our food and will be sure and pass that along to the associates who work in Food and Beverage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
5.7 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
1.5 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
1.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#57 of 337 in Orlando
3,973 reviews
3.1 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,410 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Grand Cypress
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orlando World Center Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orlando World Center Marriott

Property: Orlando World Center Marriott
Address: 8701 World Center Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6358 (Formerly Marriott Orlando World Center Resort & Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#15 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#23 Business Hotel in Orlando
#27 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#44 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#62 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Orlando World Center Marriott 4*
Number of rooms: 2003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Already one of the nation's most impressive hotels, Orlando World Center Marriott features the ultimate in comfort and style, just minutes from the city's hottest attractions, entertainment and dining options. And now, with refreshed suites, an all-new pool area, three water slides, a reconcepted on-site restaurant and more, our world gets better every day. Recently completed renovations include new Suites, surround yourself with the comfort of island-like tranquility whether resting up after your event or catching up on some work. Starbucks(R) has been redesigned and expanded to resemble those found on neighborhood street corners across the country and features additional seating for networking. The Falls Pool has offers a refreshing new pool experience featuring an expanded pool deck and function lawn for poolside events. Siro: Urban Italian Kitchen opened January 2013, a rustic-style venue aimed at showcasing fresh and authentic family-style Italian cuisine with local farm inspiration. Experience the new Falls Pool Bar & Grill offering refreshing beverages and casual dining, a renovated game room with interactive games and a Kid's Zero Entry Pool and water playground with fountains, bubblers, water mushrooms, in-ground spray jets, water cannons and lily pads. Finally, slide into summer with a new slide tower featuring two, 200-foot winding water slides and one, 90-foot speed water slide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Orlando World Center Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Orlando World Center Resort And Convention Center
Marriott Orlando World Center Hotel Orlando
Orlando Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing