We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Orlando
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Shades of Green Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here while he was at conferences, and we had a wonderful time! The rooms were so big, and our room (Palm rooms wing) looked over the golf course which besides being beautiful was surprisingly quiet. The buses to Disney were so convenient as well. We can't wait to go back with our family! Wonderful place to stay!

Room Tip: Our room in the Palm Room wing overlooking the golf course was very quiet.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,752)
There are newer reviews for Shades of Green Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,062 - 1,068 of 1,752 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Thanks to my son, our whole family of 12 from all over the country was able to stay at this magical hotel on a tiny budget. April Military Child rate was spectacular and included breakfast. The grounds of this hotel are breathtaking and the space inside and outside our adjoining ground floor rooms were wonderful playgrounds for our handful of preschoolers some of which are indeed a handful. The room was huge and clean. The pull out was a real twin bed. We only used the pool until 12 but it was huge, empty and warm enough. We walked to the Polynesian to use the monorail with our mega strollers and never took the Shades of Green bus.
The problems: 1. Checking in and using the desk is much slower than at a typical hotel 2. The breakfast wait time was ludicrous since the breakfast room was mostly empty. Send an able bodied runner down to put your name on the list and have him wait instead of the whole family waiting. 3. Bring your own shampoo, etc.
Enjoy. We will be back.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor with outside access to the lawn for the kids to runaround.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lggNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We had to get to the hotel late and when we got there we were in love! Beautiful property, everyone was so nice and the rooms were really big at a great price! It's awesome to take shuttles everywhere. We had an awesome trip!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrpatrick1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Biggest rooms on property, easily sleep 6 with no issue... I love how the bathroom has an area to get ready and a door on the toilet so more then 1 person can get ready at a time, all rooms have balconies that you can walk out on... Hotel over looks the Magic Kingdom and we had an amazing view of the Wishes fireworks show from our balcony! It was wonderful to sit, sip wine and watch the fireworks after a long day :) loved it so much I'm going back next week!!! The ONLY thing I didn't like is that you can't take the Magic Express from the airport so you have to have a car and they charge $5 a day for parking

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sherie_1229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week and were very impressed. The staff was friendly, the amenities were endless and the overall atmosphere was great. We have a three year old and between the pool, the little playground and everything else, she was quite entertained. Getting to disney is a breeze because of their daily bus shuttles and if you choose to go outside of Orlando, you can easily rent a car from the Almo which is on site. The breakfast buffet was perfect as there are tons of food options to choose from. We will be back and would reccomend this resort to anyone coming to Florida, especially those with kids.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jaxyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week and were very impressed. The staff was friendly, the amenities were endless and the overall atmosphere was great. We have a three year old and between the pool, the little playground and everything else, she was quite entertained. Getting to disney is a breeze because of their daily bus shuttles and if you choose to go outside of Orlando, you can easily rent a car from the Almo which is on site. The breakfast buffet was perfect as there are tons of food options to choose from. We will be back and would reccomend this resort to anyone coming to Florida, especially those with kids.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jaxyari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our first trip to Walt Disney World with our twin 7 year old boys. We booked the military child package at $92 per night. This included a buffet breakfast that included a FULL buffet and not some continental breakfast that most other hotels offer. The rooms were big and the entire hotel was very clean.

They had a nice outdoor pool with one being renovated while we were there. The golf course looked very nice from our balcony but no time for that.The value was unbelivable and I will stay there every time we go to WDW.

The only downfall is the bus schedule was on every hour which if you miss the bus you could end up waiting a while for the next one. We chose to walk 10 minutes to the Polynesian resort and take the monorail to either the Magic kingdom or to the TTC.

I highly recommend this hotel as there isn't a Disney resort that can comes close to the value that this place offers, try it, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Timjka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shades of Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shades of Green Hotel

Address: 1950 Magnolia Palm, ** Military / DoD only ** (see Details tab on this page), Orlando, FL 32830-8418
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $72 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 586
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shades of Green Resort is a military-owned resort within Walt Disney World and is exclusively for military guests and their families. Information on eligibility and reservations can be found on the Shades of Green website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Shades Of Green Resort Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Walt Disney World
Shades Of Green Resort Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing