We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Hotel Experience Of My Life” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #166 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Experience Of My Life”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2010

The three phones, tv sets and internet did not work in our first suite and the heat was not working either. They moved us to another suite. No heat or air. Internet access was atrocious. The staff never cleaned the floor with a mop or anything else. The housekeeping staff did not speak English. Parking is poor at best. Food is poor at best.
The "suite" was supposed to have a full kitchen but there was no oven and utensils for 3 people consisted of 1 knife and 3 tablespoons. There were only enough dishes for 2 people. The noise level in the hotel was loud - you could hear the people in the next room.
Sad to say this property was just renovated in June 2010. They need to keep working...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dasci02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    816
    372
    126
    120
See reviews for
906
497
46
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St.Paul
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2010

Thanks to a wonderful staff, great room and super location, our vacation was excellent! We always stay here, since it is so close to the attractions and right off of I-4. Since the remodel, it is even nicer. The beds are heavenly, with lots of comfy pillows. Love the suites, nice to have a fridge and coffeemaker. Great that there is a TV in the living area and another in the bedroom. Pool area is awesome, really like the separate kids area. TGIF is on the grounds and always has good food. We will definitely be back many more times.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justlinda1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

We recently stayed 4 nights at this freshly remodeled hotel. Holiday Inn went through a recent transformation of its hotels, which we must admit was much needed. Upon arrival, we were welcomed in a clean, basic lobby where the staff was quick and efficient. After some basic check-in procedures, we were assigned to a room on the second floor of the hotel. Luggage carts were available (no bellman; however, it is not customary for Holiday Inn to offer this service) which made the move into our room quick and efficient. Our room was freshly remodeled with two double beds with Holiday Inn's signature bedding. A flat panel television and workdesk accompanied a basic chair and small chest of drawers. An open closet with very limited hangers was provided. The bathroom was small with very limited space around the sink; although the bathroom served its purpose. A tour desk, gift shop, and TGI Fridays are in the hotel. All in all, we recommend this hotel to all types of guests. The Holiday Inn brand is on its way back to competing with Hampton Inn, Courtyard, etc.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CadeParian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2010

We went to Orlando for a two-night Universal trip and lucked out by winning this hotel for $40 on Priceline. It was $90 per night on every web site I checked.
It turned out perfectly for our needs.
First and foremost, what a fantastic location if you're visiting Universal. Particularly if you're driving your own car, because you can park for free at the hotel and walk over to Universal. As most people have said, it's a less than 10-minute walk. Perfectly comfortable when we went. I'm sure it would be a little more uncomfortable in the heat of summer, but then again, you're planning on walking around the park all day anyway, right?
In case you're not up to walking the hotel does provide a free shuttle back and forth.
So on top of the money I saved on the hotel, I saved $45 by not parking at Universal for three days. Oh, and my daughter joined us one day and the hotel happily let her park there as well, so that's another $15. Plus the hotel, being a Universal partner, gave us a discount card for meals in the sit-down restaurants in the parks. That saved me another $20 over the course of the three days.
Service was efficient and friendly. We didn't really have any needs to attend to, but there was always someone available at the desk. Room was roomy and comfortable. Kirman is a main road, but we couldn't hear a thing in terms of outside noise.
The folks who gave this hotel bad reviews may have been there during the renovations. The lobby and public areas look newly renovated. They were still doing the tile at the main entrance when we were there, so you had to use an alternate door. No big deal. They said they still had some of the side entrances left to do.
Though obviously you could hear the work when you were in the lobby, we couldn't hear a thing in our room.
It had all the amenities you'd expect in a Holiday Inn. Clean, comfortable. Well-maintained.
It had a TGI Friday's attached. Food is what you'd expect. Not great, but fine. Friday's also served a $5.99 breakfast buffet that we didn't attend.
All in all, you'd be hard-pressed to beat this place if you want to stay off-site for Universal. I'd highly recommend, particularly if you're lucky enough to get a Priceline deal. I bid $40 and used the International Drive North zone and 3 stars.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank royayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

Stayed at this hotel because of its proximity to Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure theme parks. This hotel is at the main gate and you can easily walk in to the parks. The walk to the edge of the car park takes 5-6 mins. If you take the car you could be parked just as far away as that and you have paid about $15 for the privilage, every day. From there its another 10 mins and you join up with the rich people who did choose to pay to park. At the end of the day a free bus does go back if you cannot take another step. when we checked in to this hotel we immediately got upgraded to a lovely suite for the price of a normal room. After seeing the room we booked for another X nights. The suites have a living room with sofa and chair large HD TV, Internet and a well fitted kitchen. However the hotplate has been disconnected, apparently no license was granted so can't be used. The bedroom is as you will get used to in America, large with two double beds. Bathroom has a bath/shower with a toilet and a large vanity unit outside the toilet door. Our suite did over look IOA, see pictures. Adjacent is a TGI Fridays. The food there was very good but the Americans will insist on bringing your main course before you have had a chance eat your starter, even when we specifically asked for it to come after the starter had been cleared. We asked when we were at other restaurants and it is possible but it takes a lot of explaining. Breakfast in TGI's was not good and very disappointing. Room service was provided by TGI's. With all fairness to Holiday Inn TGI's is a separate business although both are inter connected.
The staff at the Holiday Inn did everything they could to help whenever we asked. The only bad point was on the second day the room was not cleaned. Over all a great stay so much so we booked again after we returned from a visit to Tampa.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naturist888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2010

We had stayed at a Radisson in Cape Canaveral prior to our cruise. It was nothing to write home about. On Friday 11/26, we made it to Orlando, dropped off the one's that wanted to go to Universal and just wanted a nice place to rest for the day and night. I was thrilled to have picked Holiday Inn. We saw the location from Universal, called and got a reservation and was able to check in. It made our day. I will only do Holiday Inn from now on.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomorecruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

Was cautious booking this property as previous reviews were inconsistent. I understand it has been remodeled. All was perfect for us. Paid about $85 through priceline for King non-smoking. Never could find good solid details about distance to the park. They bill it as a 12 minute walk and that is accurate. You must take a path to cut through the parking lot which apparently is legal as no one tried to stop us and not sure why they would. You walk to the corner of property, cross the street to get to a sidewalk, go about 50 yards, cross over rode and enter a parking lot exit (at the Jaws section). This only takes about 5 minutes and you are now as close as those who paid to park. Follow the signs to "Attractions" and yo are on the walk way (escalators, etc.) to the City Walk and the Park(s) entrances. We easily did this twice (there and back twice) in a day. Room was nice, and looked new. Very very spacious. Staff was friendly but not overly helpful. When I asked ho to get to the park, they said just cut through the parking lot. You can figure out how, but a little more detail would have been helpful. Note that as you descend the last escalator, there is a gate out to the street that was open. You have to maneuver through some bushes/palms, but you are right out on a parking lot exit road and just a very short (30 yards) walk to the main road and then just another 100 yards or so to the Holiday Inn. For the price and location, it beats the onsite properties.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank allwdwfreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Clarion Inn & Suites
#107 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando, Sea World and Wet n' Wild. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 12,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing