We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #171 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed April 13, 2010

If you are looking for a good value hotel close to Universal then stay here. The hotel is currently being renovated and as a a result we were in a one bedroomed suite which was clean spacious and had everything we needed for our 2 night stay.
The reception staff were very helpful as we turned up very early and our room was not ready which we expected so they stored our luggage in a secure room to allow us to go and spend the day at Universal and come back to check in. On returning they remembered us and checked us in quickly.

The hotel is a 10-15 minute walk to Universal studios and although it is across a large highway there is a pedestrian crossing so it is not difficult to get across. In all honesty it takes almost as long to walk from the far end of the car park in Universal as it does from the hotel!!

All in all the hotel is great value for money and is as close as you will get to Universal without staying in one of the resort hotels which will be far more expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suz77Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,290 - 1,296 of 2,166 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2010

We returned yesterday from a week long stay at the Holiday Inn Universal. Yes, the place is older but are undergoing a billion dollar renovation - inside and out. The staff could not have been more helpful. We had a suite which was cleaned thoroughly every day. The beds are comfy and the bedrooms are quiet, I never heard anything from the hallway or from outside. This is the place to stay for Universal and I can't wait to go back next year to see the renovations!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PEmbree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The hotel is within walking distance to Universal Studios, but it's a LONG walk.
There is 1 bus in the morning going to Universal and 1 returning, catch it, it's better than walking. A taxi is a good option at $7.
The whole feeling of this hotel is DO NOT expect to be pampered.
If your goal is to spend the day at Universal and you just need a place to crash, this place is fine. The hotel is well worn. There is a very mediocore TGIF restaurant attached.
Not recommended for people with small children.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jbinder007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I am not a hotel snob. I will stay at a 3 star hotel if it is clean. Honestly a clean room is always my main concern because I spend very little time in the room except to sleep and shower. Before I unpack I do a check of the room that I learned watching one of the news programs. I first check the bed by pulling back the blankets and sheets and check the folds of the mattress (I even do this in 4 & 5 star hotels). When I walked into this room it looked clean but when I lifted the fold of the mattress can you guess what I saw!!?!?! Two bed bugs just waiting for me to lay down so that they could begin their feast. Needless to say I went to the front desk let them know that my room was already occupied and that I would be leaving. The night manager was very apologetic, but he was not as surprised as I would have liked him to have been. My husband even brought one of the little critters down in a plastic cup. So if you don't mind sharing your room with icky bloodsuckers that may decide to hitch a ride home then this may be the hotel with you.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank DeeDee076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

...and that's about it! the staff was nice, but the place itself is a dump! when we first arrived we were welcomed to sinks, photos, pipes, and other random things scattered about on the lawn. it looked like a yard sale that someone took a metal bat too. so after that i wasn't expecting anything special. our room had the view of a back-lot. and the curtains are incapable of closing, so be prepared to rise with the sun! the table in the room was set, but they left dirty dishes in the dishwasher. we got this room because not only can you literally walk to the park, but it said that they had a kitchen. HOWEVER, the stove tops don't work because they decided not to make them functional. why? it's a mystery that the staff doesn't even know about. the room we had was pretty big and spacious. 2 beds a living room/bathroom/wash area. the sink in our vanity was not only falling out of the countertop, but it was clogged since the day we got there, and we kept asking for them to fix it. ....that never happened. needless to say when we left it didn't drain at all! last, but not least (i'm sparing your time by not telling you everything that happened) there were multipul trays of leftover food from applebees that someone didn't want to finish, just chillin out in the hallway, waiting 5 days for someone to pick up. yup. ...it was nice being so close to the park. so we didn't have to pay for parking. and that's really the only thing positive i can say about it.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler222225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2009

When I read the reviews I was afraid because I had already made my reservation to this hotel. But we were very happy with our room. Our reservation was for a room with two double beds (for 4 persons) and we had the surprise to have a kitchenette (fridge, dishwasher, table) and a sofa. We had plenty of place and it was clean. And it is easy to walk to universal studios, it took 10-15 minutes. (but they have shuttle if you want)
We had a great time :)

Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank acidburn666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

I think that some of the previous reviews of this hotel do it a major injustice. Granted, it is not the newest hotel in the area, nor is it the most luxurious, but it does have some excellent advantages:
1. Location
Situated right at at the entrance to Universal Sudios and an easy walk of about 10 minutes to both parks. The property also has a TGI Fridays on site and is roughly 2 minutes in the car from the heart of International Drive.
2. Price
Excellent rates and far cheaper than many similar standard hotels in the area.
3. Rooms
Not the most modern, but extremely spacious and with all the required extras. We had a 1 bed suite, and this included a small kitchen, microwave, fridge and 2 TVs.
4. Staff
Very friendly and helpful. There is also a Universal Studios desk in the hotel selling park tickets and a car hire desk (I think it was Budget).
Overall the hotel "does what it says on the tin". If your looking for a cheap, clean and spacious hotel right next door to Universal then choose this one.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattUKManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
The Point Hotel & Suites
#20 of 341 in Orlando
4,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $87 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing