We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lack of careness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #165 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Lack of careness”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The location was nice and the room was big and clean, but the seevice was very poor. The Room service never answered my call. The staff about Disney Land was very rude and doesn't care about anything but eat. She doesn't provide any information at all. If I owned a hotel, I wouldn't even let her sit in my hotel for free, it would ruin the hotel's reputation! The front staff and the staff about Universal were very kind and useful. Overall the hotel was good, but lack of careness with those details.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arneshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our future guests to read. We take pride in our friendly service here at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    828
    378
    132
    122
See reviews for
926
503
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Glad I stayed here (3 nights) as it was close to where some other friends were staying, and walking distance to Universal Studios (would have been a waste of money to rent a car and not use it). Nice rooms, and pleasant multi-lingual staff. But I had to request a different room after the first night due to loud, inconsiderate guests next door at 2 am. I wish hotels would invest a little more in soundproofing their walls! The other two nights were thankfully quieter. It would have been nice if breakfast was included, but at least there is a restaurant next door (TGI Friday). Also, Wi-Fi access was an exercise in frustration, most of the time I couldn't connect in the room and had to go to the lobby to get a proper connection.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcusCalgary_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay experience at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Please visit us again next time your travels take you to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel from February 1st to the 8th. And I loved staying here, the last time I was here in August 2011 they were renovating the hotel. The place looked great, the rooms were very big and clean. There were alot of people staying at this hotel and there was a line for checking in but I had no problems what so ever. The wi-fi in the hotel was very slow but I guess that is because there were alot of people staying at the hotel that week. The shuttle to Universal was free and crowded after visiting a few other hotels to pick up people. The room was great, the shower pressure was a bit low but I couldn't do anything about it. The room also came with a microwave and a mini-fridge which was great. Overall this place was great, the wi-fi needs to be more powerful or put more of them around the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShinGokuIAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Thank you for posting such great review of the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are thrilled to learn your time with us was splendid, and we look forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

i was there 2 weeks ago ,had a little trouble whit my reservation took me like 25 minutes to check in(it was paid up front),but the lady on the front desk was really nice and polite and did everything to fix it, and they did.
CONS- there is no safe at the rooms,alot of the tv channels didn't work (in my room),and the wi-fi doesn't work really well(in the lobby works excellent)
PROS-clean rooms(that is the most important thing to me),excellent staff(polite,helpful),great location,free shuttle to disney world,and nice price(no hotel fee),close to grocery store(walgreens),
in general it's a good hotel it need a little fixes to be perfect.i would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karl z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We value our guest’s comments and strive to ensure that our service exceeds our guest expectations. We are pleased you found our rooms clean, our staff helpful, and have discovered our great location. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the technology issues you encountered during your recent stay with us. We did in fact experience some technology difficulties a couple of weeks ago in limited parts of the building. The components that contributed to those issues are now replaced with new equipment. We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel into the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

Towards the end of January I went to Universal Studios with my girlfriend and her friend to do the Harry Potter celebration. Now, as far as location this is the BEST hotel for Universal Studios. It is only a 15 minute taxi ride from the air port, and a five to ten minute walk to the amusement park. For these two reasons alone I will use this hotel again. Also, the staff is very helpful and kind.

BUT, the hotel does have a musky smell to it, paint is coming off in various parts of the hotel (one example is the door of our bathroom), the curtain rod for the shower was also half off. It seems that this Holiday Inn knows people will be staying here no matter what, and will not fix it up. Also, it didn't make a difference since we were there during the day, but our room's view was a wall/roof (second floor).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Croix B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Thank you for your comments! We are pleased to hear you have discovered we offer the perfect place to stay for visiting Universal, or any of the other fun Orlando attractions. We are deeply sorry your impression of our building conditions fell below your expectations. Our hotel holds a high level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. Staring this past January, we have significantly enhanced our preventive maintenance program, ensuring our dedicated PM Technician visits each room on a scheduled basis. We look forward in welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is literally one of the best hotels we've ever had the pleasure of staying at! The location just across the road from Universal was perfect. The room was spacious and very clean. All the furnishings were modern and comfortable. Outside our window, we had a great view of some of the rides and we absolutely loved the free shuttle service provided by the hotel. It saved us so much time and money. (You should see the never ending line of cars outside of the parks...not to mention the cost of parking.) And just in case you were wondering, the shuttle service will take you to all the major parks.

The staff was friendly and made it easy to check in and out. We loved the fact that you can purchase park tickets and arrange for shuttle rides down in the main lobby. All in all, it was a very positive experience and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher floors facing Universal had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you very much for your fantastic review! We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing time at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you as our guest again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here over New Years 2013/14 for 7 nights with my girl friend. Overall, was a pleasant experience. We did not have any major issues with the place. My review of this hotel is highly influenced by the nightly rate, which was very cheap considering what you get.

We stayed in a standard deluxe room, with two beds. Room was clean and spacious. We did our own housekeeping due to traveller's paranoia, but our housekeeper was very friendly when we ran into her outside and got fresh towels when reuired. Sleep quality was fine for us, but I must say that rooms neared to the elevators must be annoying, as they are quite noisy.

Service was good, both at check in and out. We did not use any other services. For those wondering, there is a Disneyworld shuttle bus, but only at selected times. I've uploaded the times while we were staying there. The only downside is there is no late shuttle bus back, so if you want to stay for the fireworks, you'll have to cab it back, which is about $40 - $50. The service is free though, so can't complain too much, but this impacted our disneyworld experience.

On the upside, location was great when visiting Universal Studios. Only a quick10-20 minute walk, which meant you can take your time at the parks. However, we found it really hard to find good food places within walking distance. TGIF is terrible and expensive at dinner time (never went to breakfast). We found a Hooters, McDonalds and some other restaurants but ended up eating at the theme parks most nights instead which was expensive again.

Overall recommendation - great place to stay for visiting Universal Studios, but would recommend staying closer to Disneyworld if that is where you're staying the majority of your stay for more convinence and better food.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jediRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
Thanks for writing the great feedback from your recent stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®.. We invite you back the next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#109 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing