We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well appointed rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #164 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Stoneham, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great location, well appointed rooms.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I and my parents stayed in a 2 BR suite for two nights. The suite was well apportioned with a central living room and kitchenette (full size fridge and dish washer, microwave, toaster, and assorted dishes and silverware) between two bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. Each bedroom had 2 full sized beds - sort of small for 2 people, with weird, lumpy pillows. The linens and shower curtain had some wear, but the rooms were clean and the location couldn't be beat. The service desk was slow, but we were checking in/out at high volume times. We loved having all the room and would consider staying there again.

Room Tip: The 8th floor west side of the building has a nice view of Universal Studios - you can see the firew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our future guests to read. We take pride in our friendly service here at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are proud that you had a wonderful stay! We invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    829
    378
    132
    122
See reviews for
927
503
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

Staff was very friendly, and accommodating. Location was extremely convenient.
The beds were very comfortable. Affordable
Spacious rooms. Bathroom was ok.
Hotel was a little dated but clean.
TGIF was right on the corner of the property. Wonderful restaurant choice for property.
Pool area was nice, good size. Included Kiddie pool area.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cplot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thanks for sharing your recent stay experience at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Please visit us again next time your travels take you to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed here, just across the street from Universal. It is convenient location to access malls, international drive and the outlet malls. It has an on site TGIF so food is not a problem. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicalaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Yes, had a room and transportation was good, but my bags were lost and didn't arrive until the next day! AUGH! Next day the hotel had no water! That's right, no flushing or bathing til after 8PM and then there was no hot water......Nice place, had a good time and good eats at TGI Fridays attached. Unfortunate series of events though.......

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cynthia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are extremely disappointed to hear about the experience of lost luggage and the inconvenience you encountered due to challenges we encountered that day. I can share with you a planned water shut off scheduled to last a couple of hours to upgrade our water supply system did not go as planned resulting in a longer water off time. That upgrade is completed at this time. We are extremely sorry and express our sincere apologies. We invite you back to stay with us next time your travels take you to Orlando. We are confident you will find that making positive memorable stay experiences is what we do the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
280 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Staff and stay was great. Across the street from Universal and close to restaurants and other attractions. Rooms were great and clean. Staff scheduled shuttles to and from the parks. Would recommend this location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jtipton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are pleased to hear you and your family was comfortable and enjoyed our accommodations during your stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We invite you to stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

At first, I had a package through Universal where we were staying on premises which also provided fast pass on our tickets. THEN I saw a deal on Expedia that included flight if we stayed off premises....I decided to check out everything individually....flight, shuttle, hotel with AAA discount, tickets (we got the 3 day for price of 2 day). 7 of us ended up flying down and staying at this hotel, paid for a shuttle to and from airport, and tickets - ALL for cheaper than driving down (from NC) and staying on premises. We went Dec. 15 - 19 which is the PErFECT time to go. Things get crazy crowded Christmas week. Other than my husband and myself,
our party included all college age kids. They get out a little earlier than the regular public school system (K-12) so we were able to beat the crowd. Average wait time for most rides was 5 minutes this time of year!!!!! Unbelievable! Definitely did not need to pay for fast pass, glad we didn't. I think the longest wait (and only one for this amount of time) was 40 minutes at Harry Potter's Olivander's which is an interactive walk through store. Hotel was 15-20 minute walk to City Walk which is the area you walk through to get to either Universal or Islands of Adventure. Hotel offered shuttle, but we never used it. We were never too tired to walk back and felt if we walked we could eat a Cinnabon at the Cinnabon store at City Walk. ha! ha! We reserved 3 rooms for $63 a night per room!!! Thought we were reserving regular rooms with 2 beds and a bath but we ended up with 3 suites...each had a living room, bedroom (with 2 beds), bathroom and kitchen. Everything was great. Hotel has some age on it, but it was clean. We would definitely stay here again and advise others to do the same. Starbucks is within walking distance and another at City Walk. McDonald's is within walking distance. there's an Ale House within walking distance and TGIFriday's is attached to the hotel. Husband walked a little farther to get to grocery store to load up on breakfast items, BUT on the last day we were there we noticed a Market sign straight ahead in front of the hotel. We should have asked the front desk, but it seems there was a grocery store closer than the one my husband was walking to. Great place to stay if you want to save money - but you feel like you're not b/c everything is so nice! (PS - did you know if you stay on premises at Universal you have to pay a daily rate for them to put a small refrigerator in your room? Crazy! AND if you stay on premises at Universal you still have to pay a daily parking rate of something like $18 a day!!!! - No thanks....I'll take Holiday Inn.)

Room Tip: We got the suite as opposed to standard room and didn't even realize we were getting it....so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chipper340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! Please stop in again next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#111 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TravelUp, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing