We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ehh - I've had better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #166 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Miami
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ehh - I've had better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2008

I was there with my family for 2 nights. I would have to say the best department in the hotel was housekeeping. The room was clean, and the housekeeping department did a good job at that. However, they need to put some money into this hotel. The furniture, fixtures and bathroom mainly. It looks like the lobby was redone, and they must of put some money into the carpets and some new chairs in the room. I'm guessing they did this to keep the Holiday Inn flag. But the bathrooms, doors, and beds are old. The locks are hard to open with. My phone was missing buttons, the TV is old. The location was good, it was right across the street from Universal. I am used to higher end hotels, and due to a last minute booking and availability I selected this Holiday Inn. So if you are used to luxury then this is not the hotel for you. If you are on a budget and looking for a good location then go ahead and book it, also if you are not planning on spending a lot of time in the hotel room. Take a shower instead of a bath, the tub didn't look that good. Also, when we checked in at the front desk the agent really didn't seem to care. Well actually let me correct myself, I looked at her name tag and she was the Assistant Guest Services Manager. I was shocked, it seemed like she was making $7/hr and could care less that we were there. I don't know if she even made eye contact with us. And I think the only time she really spoke with us is when she was asking us to sign the registration and asking if we had a car. Another agent who checked in my friend's room was really friendly to the family in front of us, but then with my friend didn't seem to care. Maybe because we had a low rate?! I can't say that the hotel was all together horrible, but there are so many choices in Orlando that you can easily find something better.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Arriving
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tzippy187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    829
    379
    133
    122
See reviews for
931
503
47
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

As soon as I checked in, my room was upgraded to A SUITE!!! It was impeccable with no smudges. The room was just beautiful.

There were a small shop downstairs that sells basic stuff (shaving cream, sunglasses) in case you forgot to pack them.

Nothing really scenic about the hotel itself, but literally, only a street away from Universal Orlando. (Cross Kirkman Rd and you're at the Parking dock area of Universal.)

Although the only restaurants on the same block was TGI and Crocker Barrell, it is in a walking distance from ALL THE RITZY RESORTS IN THE UNIVERSAL AREAS!!! (TRATTORIA del PORTO, HARD ROCK etc.) You can dine there, and also take a free water-taxi to University Citywalk.

I can recommend this hotel for anyone who wants yuppy for less and with strong legs. Once you get to Universal resort area, you have to walk a lot, as "one-block" there is almost like 4-blocks in New York...

  • Liked — LOCATION!!, accessibility to Universal without a car, Clean room, Big kitchen, Fridges, Small stores
  • Disliked — No hot breakfast, kiosks downstairs have 'siesta' time in mid-afternoon...
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JustNOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2008

ROACHES in the sink! Aweful smell in the halls. Coke machine, ice machines , coin machines did not work! No continental breakfast. TGIF Friday is attached but breakfast for 4 is $60. Kids 9 and younger eat free but for $5 it is not worth it at all. Spend the extra money to go to a better hotel. They all have the same buses to attractions.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — arriving
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank darkenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Orlando hotels

destin,fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2008

We came with our middle school band. The hotel was very accomodating. Location couldn't be better. Beds were very comfortable. Bathrooms need to be redone. Hotel rooms could be cleaner. Other than that, we came to do stuff, not hang out at the hotel.

  • Liked — location, good beds
  • Disliked — worn out bathrooms
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shrimpchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

Okay, we have just arrived after a 3 night stay at the HiUniversal hotel on 14Apr-17Apr. We drove from So Flordia with a 3yrd old and a 8month baby. We arrived at the hotel a little after 1pm and simply wanted to drop off our bags since their stated check in is 3pm. We were pleased to know our room was ready for us. The hotel is a bit ragged looking on the outside, however, much to our surprise the hotel WAS NOT dirty, the hotel staff WAS NOT rude but in fact quite helpful with any and all requests or concernes we had. We booked a one room queen suite. IT'S ALL ABOUT PREPARATION PEOPLE. Anyhwere we go be it the RItz Carlton or Comfort Suites, we take some sort of sanittizer and thouroughly spray down the most common surfaces in our room...i.e. telephones, doorknobs, countertops, remote contorls etc. The room was clean, NO WE WEREN'T MISSING CURTAINS, and it was certainly what we paid for. This hotel is older than 5 years and it's one of the closest to the Universal Orlando parks.....conclusion....it's well traveled. Consider the cost and location and one can reasonably conclude "everyone and their momma" has stayed there and will stay there after you. So.....no it's not the newest or best out there but honestly folks. We had a nice expercience at this hotel. It's all about your attitude and being realistic. Hope this provides some helpful and fresh perspective. Good luck and great travels.

  • Liked — The location and staff
  • Disliked — It was a bit old
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gods_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

Check in took some time although the staff were polite and friendly. The room was shocking with cracks down the wall and damp looking. Carpet was filthy and I couldn't bear to get in the shower, the bathroom was a disgrace. Fortunately, we were only staying for one night. I would have seriously complained if we had more nights to stay. Based on this and the general downfall of all the Holiday Inns we have stayed at in the past 12 months we will be booking at an alternative better chain in future.

  • Liked — Staff politeness
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winterton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynantskill, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

We just returned from a week at this hotel. Great value! The hotel is older and according to one of the staff people, is slated for renovation beginning this month. Our room was cleaned every day - extra towels given every day. The pool area is the very best. Very clean, well kept and open long hours. Fridays is a plus. I would recommend this to anyone - you can't beat the location!!!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Older hotel - will be great when renovated.
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#111 of 335 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Florida Center
BEST WESTERN PLUS Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing