We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #167 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Slippery Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice surprise!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We chose this Hotel to be close to Universal Studios as well as fairly close to SeaWorld. We went through a travel agent we trust but when we got there, the front desk said that when we were booked, all that was left were smoking rooms. I wasn't happy but accepted it. He said he'd see what he could do after a few minutes on the computer, he said for another $25 a night we could get a 2 bedroom suite instead of the 2 king bed, single room we expected. I gladly took it and the four of us (wife, 13 yr old son, and 10 yr old daughter) really enjoyed the extra room! Having a fridge and 3 TV's (one in the living room. I stay up late watching TV which can't happen in a normal room due to the kids trying to sleep) was awesome for that little bit of extra money. These suites usually go for a lot more than I paid. Things were a little bit dated but I'm not that picky. We ate breakfast each morn at TGIFridays and used a voucher for our 10 yr old to be free. We of course ate at nice places for supper but TGIF was just fine for breakfast. I do agree with other's complaints about the shuttle system. You have to "reserve" it the day before or risk not getting a ticket. The return times are way too restrictive. SeaWorld only had one return time which was 7:20PM. We would have liked to stay another hour or two but couldn't because it's too far to walk. Which brings me to something about Universal and this Hotel. Despite the many complaints about how far it is...... give me a break ! All four of us are in good shape. It's maybe a mile from City Walk at the entrance of Universal to the hotel. We walked back to the hotel the days we went to Universal at the end of the day. There is a very nice sidewalk the entire way there. It's an EASY mile and was much more convenient than waiting for the shuttle. If we ever go back, I'll DEFINATELY stay here. Oh, the pool was very nice too. The beds were soooo comfy. They were better than my bed at home.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Scotttg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We are pleased to hear you and your family was comfortable and enjoyed our accommodations during your stay at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Please stop in again the time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    859
    392
    139
    126
See reviews for
969
529
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Haven, Mi
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

IHG members are recognized for their status here and are given upgrades. We received a room with 2 twins and a king bed which were divided by a living room. This was a welcome experience.

We were only here for a short time but I only wish I was given this treatment at all the hotel properties I have status at. My only complaint is their TGI Fridays which seemed to be off if you ask me. TGI Fridays is their onsite restaurant and I will review them separately.

Only negatives was one of our toilets did not flush oddly enough. Thankfully we had two...., the upgrade made it worthwhile though. We had enough room to stretch out.

I will concur with what other reviewers said about their hallways in that they are probably the worst feature of this hotel. If they were air conditioned or had more airflow they would be just fine I think.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank factory81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! As an IHG Rewards Club member, you are one of our most important guests. We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area. Additional, please note that we have a fully staffed professional Engineering team, should you ever have a facility item needing attention, please know help is just a phone call away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I stayed in this hotel because it is across from Universal Studios (not true, you have to walk a lot to get there). The hotel offers free shuttles but they have only 3 a day so not convenient. The rooms are awful and old. We have to switch to stay in a suite (3 adults one child) and pay more. The suite was old, the bathroom faucet liked a lot and one of the light bulbs did not work. The noise from the hallways and people from other rooms is so bad you can not sleep at night. Bad insulation, you could hear everything from the rooms across above and under you. Stay away, not worthed, bad internet connections, AWFUL!!!!

Room Tip: Not good stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monili_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We regret that we did not meet your expectations. We are disappointed as we are proud our property was recipient of the 2012 IHG Renovation Award. Your feedback is greatly appreciated as this will help us review opportunities for continuous improvement. I would certainly like to discuss your recent stay in more detail, at your convenience, please contact me at the Hotel. David A Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Staff are not friendly; specially the night staff to include the manager. Hallways have no A/C; rooms and hallways smells like mildew; A/C always stays at 74 degrees inside the room; dust all over the room specially over the bed headboards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We take pride in our service and strive to reach perfection so your experience was certainly the exception and not normal. We are extremely sorry about the challenges you faced while with us. We appreciate your comments and will use them to help our team continually provide an excellent experience for our future guests. At your convenience, please contact me at the Hotel to further your last stay experience. David A Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is everything they claim, close to universal, big rooms, super nice and helpful staff. You won't be disappointed. They have several free shuttles daily and a cab ride from here is 5 dollars to the parks/city walk..they will even call the cab for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5shannon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our staff at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skokie, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The hotel was fine, but do not expect the shuttle bus to take you to the other parks. There are a limited number of spaces available on the buses. If you are not on the outgoing shuttle buses, you are not allowed to catch the bus returning to the hotel. Universal is walking distance, but after a long day at the park a shuttle back to the hotel would have been nice.

The cab ride to Disney parks is about $40 (without tip). One bus a day to and from Sea World.

I did complain to the hotel manager about being deceived into thinking that we would have adequate shuttle servcie to all of the theme parks. She said that other people do not complain and this is not usually a problem. I FIND THAT HARD TO BELIEVE. The people who organize the shuttle are not affiliated with the hotel. My complaint with the hotel is that they use the "shuttle available" to get you to stay there, but in reality it is an extremely limited service. We were able to use it to and from Magic Kingdom (standing room only for some passengers), but we needed to be on the bus before the fireworks.

The hotel had a small fridge and a microwave. Fridge can hold a gallon of milk. NOTE BEDS ARE DOUBLE, NOT QUEEN. Rooms were fine and what one would expect from a Holiday Inn. Good AC. Hotel staff (other than manager) were friendly and accomodating. The pool looked nice, but we were so busy that we did not have a chance to use it. There is gift shop on the premisis for snack foods. Even though they are overpriced (to be expected), they are a bargain compared to food in theme parks.

There was a Walgreen's within walking distance (prices higher than your local Walgreen's).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nursefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are disheartened to hear that your use of the free shuttle bus left you with a negative impression of our Hotel. We strive to provide each and every one of our valued guests with a positive and memorable stay experience. We appreciate you sharing your feedback, as it is an invaluable tool for identifying opportunities for improvement. We do invite you back the next time your travels take you to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ni
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Comfortable hotel. Less than 15 min walk or $5 cab from both parks. Didnt bother with shuttle.
Had spacious one bedriom suite.more than enough room for 4of us. Disagree with previous reviews obout being dated,very clean with all facilities,beds small doubles but didnt cause oroblem and super comfortable.nice pool area. Staff very helpful and polite.
Initially concerned, thought hotel was very isolated ,as i didnt hire car. Neednt have worried. Across Doubletree carpark, next door, are restuarants, japanese chinese ale house walgreens burger king ihop. I ride stops outside hotel, tickets on sale at reception. Stayed 6 nights kids enjoyed going back and forth to parks Us/Ioa especially at times of bad weather. Overall excellent value

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanks so much for writing of your great experience while staying with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#119 of 338 in Orlando
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing