We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #172 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week to visit universal studios. Huge rooms, small but adequate bathroom, free parking, kids eat free with paying adult at onside restaurant, did I mention FREE PARKING! Check in was a breeze, nice view of universal studios. Tip if you plan on walking to universal: walk to loews porfino bay (5 minute walk from holiday inn) and take the water taxi to city walk. This is a life saver if you have kids!! All in all I have no complaints. Nice hotel awesome value!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ch20032003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

We appreciate your kind words towards our location at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,037 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of a Universal partner hotel package due to price and proximity to Universal. All staff we encountered were very friendly. The location is superb--right down the road from Universal and on the trolley line. The only 2 downsides are the very small bathroom and the double beds. The rooms are actually quite large but only have 2 double beds rather than 2 queens which seems so odd. This would possibly keep me from staying here again but that is the only problem we encountered. The free shuttle to Universal is handy but you have to reserve your spot 24 hours ahead which was sometimes difficult. We found it much easier to pay $5 for a cab ride to Universal at our leisure. All in all, good experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huthmacb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for the review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Stayed for two days in May in a two bedroom suite with golfing friends and as previosly, had no complaints. The rooms are comfortable, parking is free, there is a TGIF next door for breakfast on the run, Kirkman rd is pretty close to Universal Drive's many attractions and the staff were always polite despite us not using their tours to Universal, Sea World etc. The tvs in the room were large and had ample channels, the fridge/microwave were an added plus since we did come back from golf with drinks and to-go meals needing re-heating, and the beds were good quality...great for a bunch of ageing tired golfers! NO COMPLAINTS ...ONLY KUDOS!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gammo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay experience at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Please visit us again next time your travels take you to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel while visiting Universal. The location was perfect and we walked to Universal every day. It did have a major highway in between that you needed to cross, which made me slightly nervous. As long as you follow street signs you'll be fine. The walk is about a 15-20 minute walk but it is so convenient. They do have shuttles available in the morning if you prefer that. We received a smoking room which was disappointing, but it was kept clean and we didn't have a problem. All we did was sleep at the hotel because you are so busy during the day. The beds were comfy and the room spacious. For the price, you can't beat this hotel. Make sure when arriving from the airport your cab driver knows which Holiday Inn you are staying at. Ours had some confusion and brought us to the one down the street at first.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DJK112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for your kind words! We’re pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Location, location, location.

We picked this hotel for our first ever trip to Universal because of it's location and we were not disappointed. It is located exactly .7 miles from the parking deck of Universal. Perfect location that allows you to go to the park in the morning then walk back to the hotel for lunch/afternoon swim and then back to the park in the late afternoon when the temps start to cool.

In regards to the walk itself it could not have been easier. There are a total of 4 crosswalks to use with the one going across Kirkman being the busiest. It seems traffic there is used to pedestrians and we had no problems getting across nor did we feel uneasy crossing such a busy highway.

I have read numerous reviews about the walk being too much in the heat but as slightly overweight, out of shape, middle aged man .. I had no issues. In reality with the parking deck being so close to Kirkman Road you really are not adding that much to your daily walk. For me it was worth not paying the 15$ a day for parking.

The hotel itself was what you would expect for a Holiday Inn. The rooms had two double beds that the wife and I shared with an 11 and 8 year old. They were plenty big enough to allow each of us to share with a child.

The pool was nice and despite being on the side of the hotel closest to Kirkman Road it was not as loud as one would expect. They have the pool contained within a fence that helps to block the road noise and they also played calypso music. We barely noticed the traffic noise.

They also offer free kids meals at the attached TGI Friday's. Which is an added benefit to those with kids.

Overall our room was as expected. It was a nice size, clean (by hotel standards) and we really had no complaints. We would stay there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GuinnessNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Second time we've stayed there and again a quality stay. The location is ideal for universal, 20 minute walk to park gates save $15 in daily car parking.

Room is fine, well equipped, we had a twin room and the doubles are not huge (guess just used to king size at home). Tv, a/c, fridge, microwave all just fine. Wifi also more reliable this stay.
No room safe, did question this and told hadn't had them since the refit, swear had one in 2011's stay!

Swimming pool is small but clean and tidy, ideal for a few hours.

Tgi's is as expected, if you eat before 10.00am the buffet breakfast is good but seemed to get sparser the later you went. Staff very friendly.

Overall, a solid mid range hotel that is a bargain compared to the universal on site hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indyrider91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

We appreciate your kind words towards our location at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are thrilled this was your second time staying with us and are looking forward to seeing you again during your next visit to the Orlando area. We would also like to point out safe deposit boxes are available at our front desk center.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I scoped out the reviews on here before booking a super cheap package deal through Spirit Airlines, and couldn't pass it up. It's a Holiday Inn so I didn't expect a Renaissance hotel. However, I was delightfully surprised.

The hotel itself looks recently renovated--still a Holiday Inn, but definitely improved. Lobby was in good order, and the adjacent TGIFridays does come in handy for the breakfast buffet, snacks and drinks. Check-in staff were fine--concierge wasn't as helpful as possible, but adequate. Keep in mind, to use the free shuttle to Universal you have to get a ticket early in the morning--around 10:30am on our last day we were told there were no more shuttle tickets, so we couldn't use it. It's an easy enough walk, but we just thought it was odd that we needed a ticket to board the shuttle, so we never used it. Regardless, by the 2nd or 3rd day your legs will get tired, so bring comfortable shoes.

Our room also surprised me as well. We had a standard double on the 9th floor, and again it seemed newly renovated and had a minifridge and microwave. Spacious with a desk and different thickness of pillows (they were labeled "soft" or "firm"). Beds were super comfortable, but I like a less firm bed. TV worked fine, bathroom was standard and clean. I always pull the edges of the bedding back to check for bedbugs/cleanliness and didn't notice anything on either bed.

I could see the pool area from our window but we didn't have time to use it. It was small, but again adequate and looked tidy. I never saw more than 5 or so people down there so can't imagine it being crowded.

Overall, if you're paying a cheap price, don't want luxury but want the closest possible hotel to Universal Studios, this hotel is a great option; it's more than adequate for what you need. There is also a little gift shop on the first floor that sells snacks, cooler drinks and trinkets.

Room Tip: -Get up early to receive your Universal shuttle ticket -if you want to travel to the Premium Outlet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®, recipient of the 2012 IHG Renovation Award! We are happy to hear you had a great time. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! Please stop in again next time you visit the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#149 of 340 in Orlando
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Point Hotel & Suites
#19 of 340 in Orlando
4,949 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#144 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $98 - $258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing