We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #167 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I read other reviews before I went to the hotel and as many others have stated that the front desk staff is very rude. I stayed there for 4 nights. It started at check in when I asked for a non-smoking room due to my daughter having severe asthma plus I just cant sleep where people have smoked. The front desk person actually said to me "This is why I wanted to go on break". Then one day the maid staff did not have towels and I was told by them to go to the front desk and get some. Again RUDENESS! They do need coffee or something in the lobby. The carpet was horrible. The good thing is that they let kids eat free at Fridays and they are so close to Universal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I sincerely apologize that your most recent stay with us was not enjoyable and assure you we are as committed as ever to bringing the high service standards that Holiday Inn is known for across the globe. What you have mentioned is very disturbing to me, and I wish to investigate this matter in more detail. Please contact me at the Hotel so I may attain additionally information as I personally look into this matter. I will not accept any of my staff to be rude to our valued guests!

David A Hall
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    859
    392
    139
    126
See reviews for
969
529
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus MS
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pros:
- Front Desk: A+ —CHRIS, CHRIS, CHRIS!!!
- Convenient to Univ Studios Park and Walgreens (three blocks)
- Secure
- Ample elevators
- Ample electrical outlets
- Microwave push button type, but not a big learning curve to operate.
- Good AC, Good TV.
- Building and lobby are modern and in good repair.

Cons:
- I WAS A LATE ARRIVAL. FAXED AHEAD TO MAKE SURE ROOM WAS WAITING. CALLED AHEAD AS WELL. THEN GOT OFFERED A SMOKING ROOM SINCE MY ROOM WAS NOT AVAILABLE. SHEER INCOMPETENCE / SHEER DON'T-GIVE-A-DAMZ.
- ROOM SEVERELY STUNK UPON CHECK-IN - THE KIND WHERE YOU THINK YOU WILL STINK WHEN YOU LEAVE THE ROOM. HAD TO PERSONALLY CLEAN IT or find another room at mid-night. These are the guys who say the best surprise is no surprise.
- NOT 5 minutes from park as some others have suspiciously stated. Brisk 20 to 25 minutes walk, crossing two fairly dangerous intersections (one intersection even has a RIP memorial). Shuttle is available for those who don't mind sitting on the benches in front of as hotel wondering when the shuttle is going to take them to the next hotel on the route.
- Have to hunt for parking when hotel is full
- Internet spotty in room - slow, but adequate
- Well-tipped housekeepers did not leave soaps or cups. Tipping ended.
- Lobby shop chocolate milk ~$3.50 / 16oz bottle. Other pricing follows the same.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinceR355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mark084,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience the service you received from our hotel may have caused. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that is right across from Universal Studios, less than 20 minute walk, and right next door there is a TGI Fridays where you can dine without having to drive anywhere. Also the rooms are very spacious which is a plus when you have multiple people staying at a room. The downside is that the hotel doesnt offer breakfast, and the service is kind of crappy. We stayed there 2 nights and they did not clean the room nor provided with new fresh towels the time we were there. We went ahead and called when we got back to the room and they they didnt even offer to bring us fresh towels.Additionally the AC was not working properly, no matter what temperature you would set the AC it would still be really HOt in the room, specially in the middle of the night. In my opinion kind of crappy service. Overall if you arent spending a lot of time at the hotel and just want to enjoy the park. Its a good deal.

Room Tip: Dont get rooms near the elevator, too loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for choosing Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We appreciate hearing from our guests and are extremely sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We always try to provide our guests with a valuable stay and we will review your comments with our team to ensure our quality is consistent. Please consider staying with us again the next time your travels may take you to the Orlando area, so we may have that opportunity to provide you the best positive stay experience we are known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very close walk to Universal Studios. Mrs Brenda Roa was so helpful and pleasant in our stay and upgraded us for being priority club members. TGIF restaurant is connected and kids under 12 eat free for breakfast with hotel voucher which helped us a lot with the family we had. Rooms are okay but they forgot to clean on our third day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations and our helpful staff at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. As a Priority Club member you are one of our most important guests, and we greatly appreciate hearing from you. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel from May 9th-12th in one of their 1bd suites. I am a travel agent, so I am well versed on hotels and what to expect. This hotel says maingate, but don't let it deceive you. If you are planning on walking to Universal, plan on an almost 1 mile walk.

There is a free shuttle, but it is only available thru 10am and doesn't return you until 7pm. Us and our kids hicked several times back and forth over our 3 day visit.

The hotel itself is dated and run down and can use a face lift, but the pool area is awesome. Nice and big, nice patio furniture. There are always pool towels available. Interestingly enough, this hotel still offers smoking on some floors, which radiates up thru the top floors sometimes. The suites are nice and spacious, the beds have the Holdiay Inn newer bedding, but the kitchenette's and bathrooms need to be updated. If you have kids, go for the suites, they have queen pull out beds in the living room area.

Overall, our stay was comfortable. I will not stay here again, just because of the location alone. It was a good thing we had a rental car to get around to the various restaurants in the area

Room Tip: Stay in a suite if you have children, you will have alot more room for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suziepad1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your experience while staying with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are proud to have read your stay was comfortable and you had a chance to enjoy our awesome pool area. Making memorable stay experiences is what we are all about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This hotel is one of a handful of off-site hotels that you can actually still walk to the park to from the hotel (about 1 mile or 20 min).

The hotel was clean and quite normal. We've had some bad experiences with hotel stays lately, so we were quite happy with this room. The check-in person was extremely friendly and later the assistant manager went out of his way to help us and another guest. We were really surprised how helpful and sincere they seemed. We will definitely stay here again.

We found out they are dog friendly and it's a $50 fee.

Room Tip: Ask for an 01 room which is larger. Some may be handicap accessible though and have a walk-in shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcyrfw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We take pride in our friendly service here at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are proud that you had a wonderful stay! We invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Stayed here for eleven nights; we paid for the the room upgrade to a one bedroom suite (though by reading the reviews; it appears they often upgrade people for free): Checking in was OK enough; if not over-friendly but; we was charged $25.00 holding fee per night; with a total of $250.00 finally held off our card; be aware of this as it does dent your wallet: You wouldn't mind if they were offering something to hold it off agaist such as a spa; in room bar etc; the only reason I could see; would be for telphone calls; the in-room movies ($15.00!) or ordering from a TGI's on-site menu: speaking of which; its also worth avoiding this branch as the service was dreadful: As somebody else has stated; they were understaffed when we arrived and manners cost nothing... Didn't bother eating in the end. The one-bedroom suite itself was actually very large and worth the upgrade (paid or not!); it may just have been our bad luck; but there was a lot of noise from the bedroom above; considering the rooms are thickly carpeted; the noise they created at the late hours of the night was unacceptable; and dispite a couple of calls to reception; it didn't quite them. Maid cleaning was mostly excellent though a sweep of the carpet over the eleven nights wouldn't have gone amiss and I did have to ask for our bed sheets to be changed after the eight night: Would I recommend? In the long run yes as its close to Universal; but there are other better establishments out there...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelsRwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Fresh, Fun, and Affordable Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We invite you to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#119 of 338 in Orlando
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing