We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #164 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

There are a number of negative comments about this hotel, which from my experience seem unfounded.

Check-in was fast efficient and friendly. I had let the hotel know before my arrival that I was celebrating my birthday during my stay and they upgraded me to a one bedroom suit. Very kind of them because all I was expecting was maybe a card to acknowledge the passing of another year.

The suit itself was compact but very comfortable with a separate lounge area with kitchenette and a separate bedroom with two double beds. Between the two rooms were a washing room and small storage area and a bathroom. The bed had quality linens and comfortable pillows, as was the mattress. This ensured a good night’s sleep. The suit itself was clean and well serviced every day. You know some people complain about how rooms are serviced but take my advice, when you see the maids out in the corridor, take time to say hello and be friendly to them. You will reap the benefits as they will take extra care when servicing the rooms. The odd tip here and there also helps.

I did not use the hotels dining options. They have a TGF Fridays on site. I did however make use of the pool, which although was small, had nice warm water.

I chose this hotel because I was also spending time at Universal Studios. The hotel offer complementary transport to Universal. I used on the first day. The only problem is that it picks up guests from other hotels. The second day I decided to walk. The walk is about 15 minutes. I left at the same time as the complementary bus and arrived at universal at the same time as the bus.

In summary the service was excellent. All the staff I encountered was friendly and went out of their way to help. I have nothing to complain about and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Universal area. If I come back to this area this will certainly be my first choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JmIOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments! We’re thrilled that you had a great stay with us at the beautiful Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We are happy to hear you had a great time. Making memorable stay experiences with our valued guests is what we do! We look forward in seeing you again next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    842
    384
    136
    123
See reviews for
942
517
48
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our family has stayed in many Holiday inns over the past ten years and we usually get a clean room, reasonably well maintained, without any frills. But we were disappointed with this particular Holiday Inn. The original room we were given smelled odd so we asked for another room. The second room also had a slight mildew like smell, but we were too tired to go to another hotel. The carpeting is old and needs to be replaced the bathroom is tiny and outdated (old tiles and some missing grout). Yes it's super close to Universal, but next time we will stay in a nicer hotel.

We also had just spent 3 days in the Marriot Grande Vista, which was much cleaner, had a full kitchen, balcony and dinning table for only $30 more per night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mom60195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
We are disheartened to hear that your experience left you with a negative impression of our Hotel. We strive to provide each and every one of our valued guests with a positive, memorable stay experience, and we certainly failed to meet that for you. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the circumstances you encountered during your recent stay with us. We value our guest’s feedback and strive to ensure that our guest service exceeds our guest expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights prior to our cruise out of Cape Canaveral. I'm not sure how much the rates are normally since I paid with Ultimate Rewards points, but if they are as high as I'm assuming they might be, I would probably be rather disappointed.

The room itself was all right but awkwardly large (two full size beds when there was more than enough room for queens), although the bathroom was incredibly small. However, the hallways and other common areas aside from the lobby are extremely run down and really give the appearance of an old, cheap motel. I'm really not the least bit picky about decor and style normally, but the brown paint and stained carpets did not make me feel like I was on vacation. In their defense, they were apparently shampooing the carpet while we were there, which smelled awful, by the way.

Speaking of smelling awful, we used one of the staircases near an exterior door one time. I would not recommend doing so. I'm not exaggerating when I say it smelled like people routinely used it as a restroom and/or something had died in it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience. Comments like yours provide us with a valuable feedback in identifying areas that we can improve upon. We look forward in welcoming you back next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

First time to Orlando, fitting in some vacation between work. The aim is to hit the theme parks on my own. I booked on Universal Vacations because it was a one stop for airplane ticket, airport pickup & drop off, hotel accommodation and 2-day tickets to Universal. I selected Holiday Inn as the hotel of choice since it was opposite the Main Gate and there were a lot of good reviews on it compared to the Doubletree. (Although I am a Hilton Diamond member and status-less with Holiday Inn)

The hotel is in a need of maintenance or a renovation. Things are falling apart - as an example - door and cupboard knobs will come off when you pull them, the taps in the kitchen will actually put out of the kitchen counter top so you need to be careful. Also with regards to hot water - although it was hot but the pressure wasn't that strong.

The fitness center looked okay - not that great but usable. There is also a swimming pool which people used.

Service was excellent. All the staff I encountered were friendly and went out of their way to help. The check in lady upgraded me to a suite since the room reserved for me was smoking and I had an allergy to smoke. That was really appreciated. Everyone was nice and I have nothing to complain about.

Summary: For a short trip where you are hardly in the room, this is good enough. If I had my family here for a long trip, I may have to think hard on whether to select this.

PRO

- Would have been the hotel I would have selected anyway even if they weren't part of Universal Vacations.

- Location to Universal - directly opposite. Although you could walk in - I heard it was 20-30 minutes walk but still do-able. The shuttle is convenient. Just had to book it from the shop in the lobby but they opened early and more than enough time to get your tickets. It has a TGIF next to it. Cross the road and is a Doubletree but beyond it, is a small strip mall with some restaurants and a 24-hr Walgreen at the far end. Opposite the Walgreen is a McDonalds. Walgreen was great as there was a kitchenette in the room and I had a fridge to store cold food as well as basic kitchen utensils so could make my own breakfast and dinner.

CON

- Comfort. The bed was springy and noisy. Walls were not that thick so you could hear others around you. It didn't make for a comfortable night sleep but after spending a whole day at a theme park sometimes you just collapse from exhaustion.

- No safe in the room. You had to put your valuables in the safe deposit box in the management office. Just seem like an extra effort to do it.

- Distance to Disney. Although the shuttle was free, there were only 3 departures and only to Epcot Center. Similar with return, there were only 3 returns but timing was good - late in the evening. This is a shared shuttle, so it goes around other hotels picking up people. When I took it, I was the first and the last to be dropped off. In the morning (early) - it took an hour to get to Epcot and there were only 2 pick ups but the bus had to stop at a lot of hotels anyway. Return was nearly 40 mins with many drop offs. Taxi from Epcot was nearly USD 50 excluding tip !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultraelite_archer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review for our future guests to read. We take pride in our friendly service here at the beautiful Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. Your comments will help our team continually improve to provide a better experience for our guests. We invite you back to stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresson, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Reception was nice and check-in fairly easy. Then, nobody was about to show our room or explain the funcionalities, not even taking the luggage. We were ok, the rooms were fine but TV did not work until we called service to check on it. Bathroom ok, small but funcional. Check out ok but if I was on business....too slow.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliver B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us. The points you have described are being reviewed by our Management Team as each of us share a common interest to ensure each and every guest receives a most positive and memorable stay experience. We invite you back next time you visit the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Level Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The worst Holiday Inn I have ever been. We arrived about noon, prior to our check in time. They told us to return at 4pm but we could leave our luggage there. We were absolutely tired after flying from Argentina for more than 18 hours. So when we returned at 4.30pm our bedroom was no ready yet. Once it was ready it took them about 30 extra minutes to give us our luggage back.
The smell of the carpets was awful.
We reserved an apartment with one room, so out children were supposed to sleep in the sofa. That was impossible because it was absolutely unconfortable. So they slept in same room with my wife and me.
The location is excelent, just accross from Universal Studios Parks.
The swimming pool had a good temperature but was to close to the parking lot and there were too many busses parked on the other side of the fence (tall enough) but still a bad view.
Could not earn Priority Club points because I made the reservation through a travel agent (my fault, I did not know that) but at the hotel they did not help me with that situation.
The bathroom was small and old (so is the whole facility) and was not so clean.
I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Old building, no so clean, excellent location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menduco_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are disheartened to hear that your experience left you with a negative impression of our Hotel. We strive to provide each and every one of our valued guests with a positive, memorable stay experience, and we certainly failed to meet that for you. We appreciate you sharing your feedback, as it is an invaluable tool for identifying opportunities for improvement. We remain hopeful you will give us a second chance and stay with us again should your travels ever bring you to the Orlando area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked the room as part of a vacation package, the hotel is literally across the street from Universal. The suite size and comfort exceeded our expectations and there was plenty of room for the 5 of us. The Kitchenette was under stocked, the full size fridge cycled loudly which is a factor for person sleeping on fold out couch. The pool area much nicer than the photos. Maid service was spotty during our 5 night stay, made beds every other day, we had to ask for linens and towels daily, no replacement glasses or disposable cups provided after first day. Guest services and front desk staff only OK. Great location if you plan to walk to the park. We drove daily so next time we will choose a cheaper hotel further away. Overall the value was OK.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations at the beautiful Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We use your valuable feedback as opportunity to improve the quality of our Hotel experience for all. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing