We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Nearby Hotels
$148
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$166
$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$285
$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$144
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$241
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$91
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$394
$303
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,281)
Filter reviews
2,281 results
Traveler rating
597
934
441
162
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
597
934
441
162
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstgi fridayskirkman roadminute walkstayed at the holiday innupgraded to a suitekids eat freefree shuttlegolden corralcity walkbreakfast buffetguest servicesone bedroom suiteuniversal orlandotwo double bedsinternational driveshuttle servicegift shop
Filter
Updating list...
1,114 - 1,119 of 2,281 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The worst Holiday Inn I have ever been. We arrived about noon, prior to our check in time. They told us to return at 4pm but we could leave our luggage there. We were absolutely tired after flying from Argentina for more than 18 hours. So when we returned at 4.30pm our bedroom was no ready yet. Once it was ready it took them about 30 extra minutes to give us our luggage back.
The smell of the carpets was awful.
We reserved an apartment with one room, so out children were supposed to sleep in the sofa. That was impossible because it was absolutely unconfortable. So they slept in same room with my wife and me.
The location is excelent, just accross from Universal Studios Parks.
The swimming pool had a good temperature but was to close to the parking lot and there were too many busses parked on the other side of the fence (tall enough) but still a bad view.
Could not earn Priority Club points because I made the reservation through a travel agent (my fault, I did not know that) but at the hotel they did not help me with that situation.
The bathroom was small and old (so is the whole facility) and was not so clean.
I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Old building, no so clean, excellent location
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menduco_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

We are disheartened to hear that your experience left you with a negative impression of our Hotel. We strive to provide each and every one of our valued guests with a positive, memorable stay experience, and we certainly failed to meet that for you. We appreciate you sharing your feedback, as it is an invaluable tool for identifying opportunities for improvement. We remain hopeful you will give us a second chance and stay with us again should your travels ever bring you to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked the room as part of a vacation package, the hotel is literally across the street from Universal. The suite size and comfort exceeded our expectations and there was plenty of room for the 5 of us. The Kitchenette was under stocked, the full size fridge cycled loudly which is a factor for person sleeping on fold out couch. The pool area much nicer than the photos. Maid service was spotty during our 5 night stay, made beds every other day, we had to ask for linens and towels daily, no replacement glasses or disposable cups provided after first day. Guest services and front desk staff only OK. Great location if you plan to walk to the park. We drove daily so next time we will choose a cheaper hotel further away. Overall the value was OK.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed your accommodations at the beautiful Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We use your valuable feedback as opportunity to improve the quality of our Hotel experience for all. We hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked in advance for 2 nights on our tour of the Keys and Sanibel our teenagers insisted on a detour to do Harry Potter at Universal and this is the only reason why we would ever come to Orlando, (will never return either) good deal for the 2 nights and at check in was upgraded from a 2 double room to a 2 double suite. thank you very much. The suite was basic, good WIFI but no safe and very damp smelling possibly due to the dish washer. Lots of groups of teenagers around the hotel. Do not eat at TGI Fridays very expensive and poor quality.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trumelvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience while staying with us at the beautiful Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We hope to welcome you back next time your travels takes you to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

While the hotel is in an excellent location it fell short on being "NICE" especially for the price we paid the only thing special was TGIF was literally next door and delivered. The bathroom was tiny, it was noisy and we were on the 10th floor you'd think it would be less noisy and for being a suite it was exactly the same as the comfort inn we stayed at in TN but three times the price. We had to get extra pillows because the ones on the bed were stiff and lumpy. Location is really the only thing this hotel has going for it don't be fooled by the fancy lobby lol it's worth it to just drive down the road for a cheaper hotel you'd still be saving money. We won't be staying at another holiday in again. Also, they had all you can eat breakfast served at TGIF for guests for $9 a person which was good, I'm not one to complain you're paying for the location that's it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MASTERS613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you so much for your review! We are reviewing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We do take all reviews seriously and appreciate all the feedback we can get. We remain hopeful you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We chose this as part of a Universal Studios package and the location worked perfectly for a family with kids. We walked most days and took one inexpensive taxi ride. The hotel met our needs and was generally clean & welcoming. The pool was enjoyable and not too crowded. Would stay again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank CityLakeGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Hall_Operations, Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the beautiful Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando®. We look forward to having you stay with us again next time you are in the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews