We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Nearby Hotels
$227
$202
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$211
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$209
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Caribe Royale Orlando(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$98
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$549
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$508
$316
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Disney's Pop Century Resort(Orlando)(Great Value!)
$204
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,254)
Filter reviews
2,254 results
Traveler rating
593
926
432
159
144
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
926
432
159
144
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstgi fridayskirkman roadminute walkstayed at the holiday innupgraded to a suitekids eat freefree shuttlegolden corralcity walkbreakfast buffetguest servicesone bedroom suiteuniversal orlandotwo double bedsinternational driveshuttle servicegift shop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,124 - 1,129 of 2,254 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel has a great location if you can handle a 15-minute walk to Universal Studios. You have to cross one busy street but the crosswalk is good; many families were doing it with us.

We got a 2-bedroom suite since we had 5 people, all over 18, in our party. The room was a little larger than we expected. The kitchenette was nice. I had read a few reviews about bugs but we didn't notice any. The room was a little musty but reasonably clean when we arrived.

We were disappointed that the room attendant left fewer and fewer towels every day. A bottle of disinfectant was left in the room one day. The trash bins were not emptied for the 4 days we were there. (Maybe this practice brings the bugs that others have mentioned.)

We called the front desk one night to ask about a shuttle to another park. They told us to call after 7AM the next morning for information. We called the next morning and were told that you had to reserve the shuttle the night before! We wound up driving to the other park. This was disappointing.

The check-in and checkout processes were accurate but handled by rather gruff and surly employees. I am not sure why as I didn't see anybody being unpleasant with them.

Overall, the hotel was fine but the service was disappointing.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSPTraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear MSPTraveler2,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I loved this hotel. The staff was fun, friendly and informative. They had a free shuttle that took you to and from universal studios. If you missed the bus, it was a short fifteen minute walk to the park. Or the hotel called a taxi which cost you $8.00 to get to the park. The hotel rooms were clean, with a microwave, coffee pot and fridge. The shower was brilliant white. The maid service gave new towels but did not reorganize and rifle through your stuff, which i like. There was room service available and a heated pool! Really enjoyed our stay here and perfect location for the parks. Booking with universal and using this hotel with a 3 day park ticket ran us about $500. I think a very good deal!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennigirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for a night. 4 adults and 4 kids, they were accomodating and gave us a suite because they couldn't give us adjoining rooms. When I called to book and even when we checked in, we were never notified that their "shuttle" only runs every 1/2 hour and you have to book it in advance to get on it!!! we were so upset! had to pay an extra $20 to park at universal. Hotel itself was just ok. kind of older.... We had stayed at the Lake Buena Vista and had such a great experience, we were just so disappointed here in comparison.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hfeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear hfeo,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our shuttle service. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Great hotel if all one cares is proximity to the Universal parks, good beds and a huge room with no frills. It was all we were looking for and we were quite happy about it. Forget about hotel services. There is no breakfast in property and the odds you will take all your luggage to the room are Huge. On the other hand, check in was ready faster than the speed of light, parking is easy and free and it costs 7 bucks by cab each way to the amusement parks. It was very easy and fast to reach my aimed destination.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Ernesto A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Found several cockroaches in our room and the night managers are extremely unhelpful. Also woke up in the middle of the night sweating bullets because the AC sucks. Would recommend Hyatt place right across the street. They are much better and affordable.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leasindomino21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2013

Dear Leasindomino21,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we strive to be the best hotel around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. It is a disappointment that we were not able to deliver on the cleanliness of the room as well as the air conditioning unit. Your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances to our attention.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews