We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location if you're in Orlando for Universal.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #166 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Adelaide
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic location if you're in Orlando for Universal.”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you are coming to Orlando just for Universal and don't want to pay the high price of an onsite hotel - the Holiday Inn is perfect. It is about a 10-15 minute walk to Universal and it is all pavement and lit in the evening - so you don't feel unsafe walking back after 9pm closing time. The rooms themselves are large and have very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are clean and the rooms are decorated comfortably. There are numerous places to eat across - Millers ale house, Chinese restaurant etc so you don't have to eat at TGI Friday all the time. Overall I would definitely stay here again if we were heading to Universal - amazing value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CC161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    846
    388
    138
    125
See reviews for
950
523
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a great stay here, hotel was very clean and the room was massive. It is located about 5 minutes walk from Universal Studios which was an absolute boon. There was a courtesy shuttle bus to the studios but wasn't necessary. Attached to it is a TFI's which has a great bar so you don't have to drive anywhere to get a drink. It was fantastic value, got a deal using Hotel Coupons magazine for walk ins only. Get the Hotel Coupons app from itunes and you'll save a bundle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidgoespop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Ohio
Level Contributor
218 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is right across a busy road in front of univeral studios. It was very nice. we asked for a regular king room, but they were all booked so they upgraded us to a king suite room for the same price as a regular room. It was clean and decorated very well. It had a bedroom area and then another room attached for the living room area. So much nicer than the regular holiday inns i have been in. the beds were very comfortable! it was on the top floor so we could see some of universal from our room. this hotel did not have free breakfast, but they have a TGI Fridays attached and you pay $8 per person/for adults for the breakfast buffet which was pretty good. the front desk was not very helpful when we asked where are the nearest outlet shops were, she acted like she couldnt speak or understand very good english and gave us a blank look, so it was awkward. so then we said, "are they in walking distance?" and she said no. thats it, no other reply. so we had no clue where they were. they do have computers in their media room, but they are expensive to use, .25 per minute, which is ridiculous. other than that, we enjoyed this hotel.

Room Tip: top floor king suite is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemountChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

a 10 minute walk to universal studios made the choice for us with this hotel. The rooms are fine but the corridors are a little tired, the pool is clean and a good size for relaxing after a hard day playing at universal! a TGI's is attached to the hotel and serves guests breakfast as well as offering discounted meals throughout the day so the kids were entertained day and night, although you need to travel to eat anywhere else. Unknown to us a large charity group took over the whole hotel and limited the pool use at times, but after a chat with the organisers we were able to join in with them so the chaos wasn't too much of a hindrance. A good option for universal but if you want full use of the hotel facilties check first if there's a large group booked.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank markmsomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel was very affordable and right across the street from Universal. You can easily walk to the parks, but the hotel also offers a free shuttle. The room had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker.

We had an issue with our television the first night we were there; I called to report it, and there was a technician there within minutes of the call. He was able to fix the problem within an hour or so.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfinmimi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The best part about this hotel was the location as it is right across the street from Universal. However if you are looking for other places to go, there are not many choices as far as non-chain restaurants/bars. You can tell they definitely updated but it still feels as though it is an old hotel with updates = not new. The rooms are very large so that was a nice surprise. Housekeeping was a little loud in the hallways and overall the renovations helped but you are still working with an older hotel and it shows. I would stay here again because of the convenience, but know what to expect.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Scotland.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The location is great for Universal Studios as it is quicker to walk there than to drive. The hotel had a decent room but the standard of housekeeping was poor as towels, shampoo, coffee and soap were not being routinely replaced. Every day we stayed here we had to call for replacements. The biggest problem we had was when a large charity group arrived (10 bus loads) and the hotel became chaos, getting to use a lift was a big problem as they were constantly in use. My partner had to walk up the fire escape to the sixth floor on one occasion. I feel strongly that the hotel should have warned us when we checked in that this group was arriving and offered alternative accommodation. I mean to harm or disrespect to this charity, but we were on holiday too. The hotel obviously knew of the impending chaos as they left us a letter asking for us to be patient and allow exclusive access to the pool for this group at specified times. If you are thinking of staying here you might want to check if large charity groups will also be staying. The lift problem was also worsened by one of the lifts being out of action. Overall very poor for a holiday Inn.

Room Tip: A low floor to avoid lift problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HumptyNumpty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear HumptyNumpty,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I am pleased you liked the location of our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered with the housekeeping service and that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay with us. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken.

Thank you again for your comments and we all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#117 of 337 in Orlando
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing