We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location if going to Universal Studios”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #168 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location if going to Universal Studios”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here using Priority Club points for two nights when we went to Universal. We arrived at 9 am the day we were to check in and I went in asking if we could possibly park the car in the lot while we went to the park. They allowed me to go ahead and check in AND upgraded us to a nicer suite. They offered a free shuttle to and from the parks but you must sign up in advance and they run only certain times. As we missed the times the first day and wanted to get to the park, we walked. It took us about 15 minutes to get to the Universal City Walk, and another 5 to get to the main gate of each park. The second day we took the shuttle and it was very convienient as well. We couldn't have picked a better hotel for going to the parks. Another perk was the outlet malls. They are across the interstate from the hotel and only took us about 5 minutes to get to. It was a very large outlet mall with many different stores. We also ordered room service from TGI Fridays (attached to the hotel) and it came promptly. The hotel was clean and the service was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brittany W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    848
    388
    139
    126
See reviews for
952
524
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 1 week in Oct. Arrived 215 and was able to check in early and upgraded to 1 before suite. Very friendly efficient check in by Chris. Suite well appointed, 2large flat screen tv's, one in lounge one in bedroom, really comfortable beds, plenty of power sockets in lounge/desk area, great water pressure in shower.

15-20 min walk to Universal or $8dollar taxi ride there 5$ back. 2 mins to iride trolley stop. 10min walk to McDonalds,IHop,5min to Starbucks,Orlando Ale House, Walgreens. 37 bus stops outside McDonalds and runs direct to Florida Mall. Iride to G13 stop after seaworld and 50 bus to Disney.

Great service at hotel-problem with water leak meant no water -was immediately offered another room. Had problem with vending machine not vending and front desk immediately gave me two bottles of water "for my inconvenience". Also asked for and git late check out at 1pm when usually 11.

Hotel exceeded expectations -an excellent base for a non driving stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smartstuff28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a week in September. The staff were very professional and helpful. Lobby and pool areas were lovely. The room was great and housekeeping kept the room nice and clean throughout our stay.Great location to walk to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hemil_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, fl
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The room was very clean and large. I had a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed, which had a large living room and kitchenette area. The kitchenette had a full size refrigerator, microwave, utensils, and a disabled cooktop (?). Also, the lobby was impressively decorated and very well furnished. We stayed on the ninth floor and had an awesome view of both Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. Upon check-in, the staff could have been a bit more helpful and knowledgeable about my Best Rate Guarantee from Holiday Inn. Other than that, I had a great stay and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure; you can see all the rides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldstein2749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

In this hotel we found best hotel service and stuff I ever seen. Lady at front desk was helpful with all our requirements and of course always with smile. Apartment was clean, very spacious, well equipped and air was fresh. Hotel is situated just maybe 15 or 20 minutes by walk from Universal Studios. Next to hotel is TGI Friday´s.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kucko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We should have been staying at the Hawthorne Suites by Seaworld/Orlando Convention Centre. However, we are a family of non drivers so when we realised the location wasn't very good we decided to change our hotel to this one.

We were given a 1 bedroon suite that was very spacious. The bedroom had 2 double beeds that were amazingly comfortable. Seriously, I cannot emphasise enough just how lovely the beds are. I'd have stolen and taken them with me if I could have!

The bathroom was quite small and basic with low water pressure in the shower but it was clean. Besides, who goes on holiday to spend it in a bathroom anyway?

There was a large living area with a tv, sofa, armchair and bureau with a small kitchenette consisting of a full size fridge/freezer, dish washer, microwave and tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel provides complimentary shuttle facilities to Universal, Aquatica, Wet 'N' Wild and Sea World but not Disney. However, we timed ourselves when we walked to Universal and it took 10 mnutes so unless you have mobility issues who really needs the shuttle there? As non driver it would have been great if the hotel provided a shuttle to Disney World. You can also purchase I-Ride tickets from guest services. The bus stops by the hotel. If you have any questions bout Orlando speak to Paul on guest services as he is very helpful indeed.

The hotel's restaurant is TGI Friday's. If you do not want to visit the restaurant the hotel does provide a small room servce menu. Our waiter even told us they will deliver a drinks only order to your room if asked. If you don't want to eat at the hotel a 5 minute walk up Kirkman Road will bring you to Orlando Ale House, a chinese takeaway and Kobe Japanese steak house. A further 5 minutes walk will bring you to McDonald's and Hooters. There is even a Walgreens should you get the munchies! As the hotel doesn't provide an evening shuttle service you will need to walk to City Walk at Universal to enjoy its bars and restaurants.

While the hotel is in an excellent location for Universal you are NOT able to walk to I-Drive. The attractions of I-Drive really aren't far away at all but the roads to get there are too dangerous for pedestrians to use. However, the short walk up Kirkman Road that I previously mentioned IS safe provided you use the designated crossings.

To sum up my 2 week stay at the Holiday Inn:-

Pros
Excellent location to Universal Studios
Free shuttle service to most of the parks
TGI Fridays
Large Rooms
Comfortable Beds
Quiet location (unable to hear the noise from Kirkman Road)
Easy access to the I-Ride trolley

Cons
Not able to walk to I-Drive safely
No in-room safe. Free safety deposit boxes in reception.
No quiet hotel bar available. TGI's can be rather noisy!
No shuttle to Disney
Reluctance to change travellers cheques (Amex)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms were very spacious and well equipped. When there was a burst water pipe and we had no hot water, staff were extremely helpful and apologetic and supplied us with another room for showers straight away. The problem was resolved by the next morning. TGI Fridays very convenient. There was a free shuttle to Universal but these were not particularly frequent and need to be booked in advance. Excellent base for Universal Studios.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniperBerry66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#115 of 337 in Orlando
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing