We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Room, Perfect Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Ranked #167 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Fort Lauderdale, fl
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Room, Perfect Service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The room was very clean and large. I had a 1 bedroom suite with a king bed, which had a large living room and kitchenette area. The kitchenette had a full size refrigerator, microwave, utensils, and a disabled cooktop (?). Also, the lobby was impressively decorated and very well furnished. We stayed on the ninth floor and had an awesome view of both Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure. Upon check-in, the staff could have been a bit more helpful and knowledgeable about my Best Rate Guarantee from Holiday Inn. Other than that, I had a great stay and I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure; you can see all the rides...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldstein2749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    859
    392
    139
    126
See reviews for
969
529
48
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

In this hotel we found best hotel service and stuff I ever seen. Lady at front desk was helpful with all our requirements and of course always with smile. Apartment was clean, very spacious, well equipped and air was fresh. Hotel is situated just maybe 15 or 20 minutes by walk from Universal Studios. Next to hotel is TGI Friday´s.
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kucko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We should have been staying at the Hawthorne Suites by Seaworld/Orlando Convention Centre. However, we are a family of non drivers so when we realised the location wasn't very good we decided to change our hotel to this one.

We were given a 1 bedroon suite that was very spacious. The bedroom had 2 double beeds that were amazingly comfortable. Seriously, I cannot emphasise enough just how lovely the beds are. I'd have stolen and taken them with me if I could have!

The bathroom was quite small and basic with low water pressure in the shower but it was clean. Besides, who goes on holiday to spend it in a bathroom anyway?

There was a large living area with a tv, sofa, armchair and bureau with a small kitchenette consisting of a full size fridge/freezer, dish washer, microwave and tea/coffee making facilities.

The hotel provides complimentary shuttle facilities to Universal, Aquatica, Wet 'N' Wild and Sea World but not Disney. However, we timed ourselves when we walked to Universal and it took 10 mnutes so unless you have mobility issues who really needs the shuttle there? As non driver it would have been great if the hotel provided a shuttle to Disney World. You can also purchase I-Ride tickets from guest services. The bus stops by the hotel. If you have any questions bout Orlando speak to Paul on guest services as he is very helpful indeed.

The hotel's restaurant is TGI Friday's. If you do not want to visit the restaurant the hotel does provide a small room servce menu. Our waiter even told us they will deliver a drinks only order to your room if asked. If you don't want to eat at the hotel a 5 minute walk up Kirkman Road will bring you to Orlando Ale House, a chinese takeaway and Kobe Japanese steak house. A further 5 minutes walk will bring you to McDonald's and Hooters. There is even a Walgreens should you get the munchies! As the hotel doesn't provide an evening shuttle service you will need to walk to City Walk at Universal to enjoy its bars and restaurants.

While the hotel is in an excellent location for Universal you are NOT able to walk to I-Drive. The attractions of I-Drive really aren't far away at all but the roads to get there are too dangerous for pedestrians to use. However, the short walk up Kirkman Road that I previously mentioned IS safe provided you use the designated crossings.

To sum up my 2 week stay at the Holiday Inn:-

Pros
Excellent location to Universal Studios
Free shuttle service to most of the parks
TGI Fridays
Large Rooms
Comfortable Beds
Quiet location (unable to hear the noise from Kirkman Road)
Easy access to the I-Ride trolley

Cons
Not able to walk to I-Drive safely
No in-room safe. Free safety deposit boxes in reception.
No quiet hotel bar available. TGI's can be rather noisy!
No shuttle to Disney
Reluctance to change travellers cheques (Amex)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Esmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

The rooms were very spacious and well equipped. When there was a burst water pipe and we had no hot water, staff were extremely helpful and apologetic and supplied us with another room for showers straight away. The problem was resolved by the next morning. TGI Fridays very convenient. There was a free shuttle to Universal but these were not particularly frequent and need to be booked in advance. Excellent base for Universal Studios.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuniperBerry66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We both loved the bed/pillows/sheets. The rooms are okay but sort of dated and dingy. Our view was over the parking lot - nothing much to see, but the orlando sun in the morning!

Location is great - it is about a pleasent 10-12 minute walk to City Walk. It is right next door to the Double Tree hotel (they are essentially the same distance to the parks). There are always a couple of taxi's at the front door that will take you over for about $8.

Breakfast is not included - but there is an $8 breakfast buffet at the attached TGI Fridays (did not eat there so can't comment on quality). I believe childen eat there free.

Pool is nice & clean. Bring Room towels as the pool towels are barely bigger than wash cloths! There is also a seperate kids pool. No hot tub. Hotel information states the pool is heated - but it wasn't the day we went in.

Security - I never felt unsafe at the hotel. We walked back from the parks in the dark and was never worried. We did get several pizza flyers slid under the door - which made me uneasy at first, but just tossed them per the hotel's recomendations.

Overall - the hotel met our needs as a place to sleep & shower while visiting Universal.

Room Tip: The suites have a small kitchenette that includeds fridt, microwave, and dishwasher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in for 8 nights in September and had a great time.

The hotel is close to every where really, short walk to Universal and nearby I-ride trolley shuttle to International drive and lots of places to eat around.

All the Staff we came acorss were very friendly and helpful especially Lesh

Beware of the Holiday inn vacation club crew at the guest services though, they promise fantatics gifts so long as you visit Orange Lake Resort for a few minutes. What they don't tell you is that you are going for a hard sell time share presentation that feels like you are in a Lion's den and it's for the whole day. You are better off buying your tickets from the Universal Desk next to them, more expensive but with no hassles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kemdtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

myself and my boyfriend have just returned from a 10 day stay in orlando and we were very pleased with this hotel. I had read alot of reviews on tripadvisor before i came away and was very suprised at the bad reviews people had to say.
from the beginning of the holiday the staff were really great to us. When i arrived in the room the air conditioning was very loud, i thought i had turned it off but it still made alot of noise when i reported this to the manager he offered to move us to a suite. myself and my boyfriend were happy with our room and did not want to leave however it turned out i had not switched the air con off properly!!
people might be put off if they think it is on the doorstep of universal studios however it is a lovely 10/15 min walk away from the hotel.
our room was cleaned and towels changed everyday that we were there and we never had any issue with housekeeping. i had read some reviews that stated the bathroom was not very big but i found this was not the case.
this was our first trip to orlando and we will definitely be going back and i will definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Doubletree By Hilton at the Entrance to Universal Orlando
Florida Center
Hyatt Place Orlando Universal
Clarion Inn & Suites
#119 of 338 in Orlando
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Florida Center
Best Western Plus Universal Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando

Property: Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
Address: 5905 Kirkman Road, Orlando, FL 32819-7925
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando 3*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn & Suites across from Universal Orlando is located in the heart of Central Florida's exciting attractions, convention and shopping area. Visit our recently renovated hotel just across the street from the Universal Orlando Resort. Our property features a variety of room types to fit any traveler's needs from Deluxe Guest Rooms with two double beds or a king size bed, and spacious One or Two-Bedroom Suites with nicely equipped kitchenette including microwave and refrigerator. Must be at least 21 to stay. Fabulous amenities to enhance your visit to Orlando such as Game Room, Gift Shop, Guest Laundry Facilities and Valet Service, Fitness Center, Business Center, Outdoor Heated Pool and Kids Splash Zone and the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk with discount attraction tickets to Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, and SeaWorld. Complimentary Limited Scheduled transportation to Universal Orlando and SeaWorld. Transportation to Walt Disney World also available. Shuttle transportation schedule subject to change seasonally, service provided through the Destination Universal Guest Services Desk, advance reservations required. TGI Friday's Restaurant on-property serving Breakfast Buffet, Lunch and Dinner, Bar offers Happy Hour daily. TGI Friday's also serving room service. Banquet/Meeting facilities feature 13,000 sq. ft. of flexible function space including 6,500 square foot ballroom and 8 break out rooms. Our experienced team will make your stay or event with us special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn And Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando
Holiday Inn & Suites Main Gate To Universal Orlando Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing