We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort
Ranked #205 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed here for a meeting. This is a renovated older hotel. The common areas were nice enough. The pool area was inviting with 2 pools and plenty of outdoor lounging space, bar and pool chairs. The room was a little small, it was tight with 2 people. There was only one vanity sink and it was open to the bedroom, not closed inside a bathroom. So when you turned on the light to get ready in the morning, it lit up the entire bedroom. The AC was loud and it never cooled enough. We kept it on 60 degrees the entire time and it still was not as cool as it should have been. The beds and pillows were nice and comfy, better than expected with nice linens and feather/down pillows available. There is window but no balcony. The food was better than expected, very good. There is a snack/mini grocery in the lobby and they have a Starbucks. The meeting rooms were nicely done and roomy. Service was good, clean, friendly. There are plenty of places to eat and shop right across the street. This hotel is in the heart of downtown disney.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank medirep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil R, Manager at Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hello medirep,

Thank you for the great review on your most recent stay with us. We appreciate the positive comments and we're glad that we exceeded your expectations. It’s also good to hear that you enjoyed our new meeting space and food & beverage menu. I will share your feedback with our culinary team and they will be delighted to hear that you were pleased with the food offerings.

We truly appreciate the review and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,353 - 1,359 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at the Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort from the 19-22 of October and had a lovely time. Check in was easy and the bell man that assisted us was great in taking our luggag etc to our room. Jacob even notified maintenance as he had tried to put our diet coke in the fridge but found the fridge was not working. Much appreciated. The room was clean, and the beds comfortable. The pool area was a lot of fun for our 7 year old and we did take advantage of the pool side mani/pedi, but felt it was a bit overpriced. We have stayed at many resorts and really felt that this hotel "nickel and dimed" for all the extra services. It is an older hotel with some renovations but don't go into the hotel expecting a 5 star resort. We would return to this hotel if we got a good deal on it, but we would not be paying a premium price for it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvdWinni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil R, Manager at Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hello AvdWinni,

Thank you for reviewing our property on your most recent stay with us. We also appreciate the great feedback on our staff, especially our bell person Jacob. With regards to your comments on the value of your pedicure that you received, I have shared this review with our Director of Spa so that she can ensure our pricing is competitive with similar resorts of this size and caliber.

We truly appreciate your feedback and we hope to be able to serve you in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The property is obvious a converted 3 star. I wouldn't give it a 4 star resort rating. Here are the good points : great location as near restaurants & Disney, very courteous staff, very friendly, rooms clean & spacious, had a small balcony & a huge flat screen TV, beds very comfy. Cons : halways are freesing, strange layout of the hotel to get to your room, fees (self parking & resort are ridiculous), market while it has Starbucks has a lot of be desired), restaurant choice VERY limited).

We did have a small customer service issue which was handled wondefully & we received 2 free days of breakfast buffet which was unsolicited but very nice touch. The pools looked great but too cold so we couldn't use. Nice lobby, modern but I'm used to more stores, arcade for the kids and this was lacking. But the room was large and housekeeping did a good job. Overall we enjoyed our stay. Now we did have a little incident around Midnight that there was a smell of smoke in the hallway & "we" called downstairs 3 times & was told the fire dept would be checking it out & "maybe" we would have to evacuate. Well no follow up from the front desk & needless to say my 9 year old was convinced we were going to die. I finally got him to sleep at 3 am. A follow up call and some reassurance would of been nice.

Also to check out (no folio) on your door & the TV had a zero balance so I guess I have to wait for an e-mail ??? I'm giving it an average due to the fire / smoke issue not handled in the best way.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pandora174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil R, Manager at Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear pandora174,

Thank you for your recent review on the Sheraton LBVR. I'm glad that you enjoyed our resort and that our staff made a positive connection with you. I’ve addressed the fire alarm issue with our Directors of Security and Engineering for corrective action and I'm sorry that this happened during your stay with us. I truly appreciate the feedback that you have provided us and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Orlando.

Warmest Regards,
Gil Reyes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is good overall. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. The traffic around the area is terrible. The "black gold" reference in my title refers to what I was charged for a double espresso in the cafe, in the lobby area. There is no way that a business can justify $8.00 for an espresso. This is simply taking advantage of your guests. I accept paying more in hotels, but 4 times Starbucks is pushing it.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ErnieL94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil R, Manager at Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Hello ErnieL94,

Thank you for your recent review on the Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort. I've shared your comments with our Food and Beverage team and we will certainly address your concerns that you mentioned in your review. I will say that our prices are pretty competitive compared to surrounding hotels and sometimes even lower then some of these properties. Needless to say, I'm sorry that our outlet pricing did not meet your expectations. We will continue to do a competitive analysis on our outlet pricing and make changes if needed.

We truly appreciate your helpful feedback and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

1) Not a bad location but its several stoplights to the parks. Lots of reasonable restaurants, drug stores, etc. nearby.
2) Very siloed -- the front desk can't give you a parking pass, you have to go to the bell desk for that. Not a good check in experience -- they're clearly aligned around families who go to temporary parking, check in, and then move the car. As a business traveller, not my speed. They should give the sheet with the park buses at checkin.
3) Had one of those notices on my key that 75c/day went to USA Today. Never saw a newspaper to my room, the lobby, etc.
4) Rooms are elderly but clean and recently updated. Hallways are pretty bad.
5) Who knows what the $10 resort fee is about? Not much of a resort.
6) Convenience store makes a decent cappucino and has a pretty good glazed doughnut -- muffins would be preferred, however.
7) With the pool area taking up 90% of the outdoor space (and no smoking inside the area), good luck if you want to enjoy a cigar.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bangback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil R, Manager at Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Bangback,

Thank you for your recent comments on the Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort. I'm sorry to hear that you had an average stay with us and that we did not provide the great experience that are well known for. I will certainly address your concerns with my team and will take corrective actions. We appreciate the constructive feedback and we hope to provide better service to you in the near future!

Warmest Regards,
Gil Reyes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

What a nice place to stay. Rooms were very clean, friendly staff. Pool area was clean, with plenty of attentive staff. The beds made for a wonderful nights sleep. Food was very good, as well! A definite do over!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustye A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil R, Manager at Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hi ZipsMysticMom,

Thank you for the positive review on Tripadvisor. We truly appreciate the great feedback and we're glad that you had a wonderful stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was here for just one night and the next day. I arrived at Midnight and was given a very nice room. Everything was very clean and comfortable.

This is a great location if you are going to any of the main attractions and still a wonderful destination if you are just going to hang out at the property. The pools are very nice here.

The spa was small but extremely well maintained. The staff is wonderful and the massage from Valarie was perfect.

The bell staff were friendly and attentive as I arrived and as I departed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Herdlinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gil R, Manager at Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Hello Herdlinger,

Thank you for the great review on your most recent stay with us. Although you had a quick, overnight stay; we're glad to hear that our staff and our location exceeded your expectations. We truly appreciate the positive review and we hope to see you again in the near future!

Warmest Regards,

Gil Reyes
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort

Address: 12205 S Apopka Vineland Rd, Orlando, FL 32836-6804
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#55 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $129 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 490
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just a few blocks from the Downtown Disney entrance to Walt Disney World Resort, our Orlando Resort features a full service spa, family suites, two pools, kids activities, complimentary Wi-Fi, and free transportation to all Disney Theme Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Sheraton Lake Buena Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Safari Orlando
Sheraton Orlando
Orlando Sheraton
Sheraton Safari Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing