We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best two weeks Ever....Going Back to Vistana!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #66 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We stayed from the 28 August to 11 September and have to say were thoroughly impressed with the resort.

I reserved the newly refurbished cascades section located beside the pool via diamond lane check in and on arrival were welcomed by a friendly assitant who gave us all the details we needed for our two week stay.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom apart, though there were 3 of us the sofa bed was very comfortable. The apartment was very clean, kitchenette, dishhwasher, fridge freezer, microwave and also had all the utensils which we proved handy! My mum loved the fact it had a washer tumbledryer...very exciting but the room was immaculate,..showers clean, lovely bathroom and both the lving area and bedroom had a massive flat screen LG tv with Bose cinema surround sound system..awesome!

As for the amenities - the gyms were well equipped with up to date machines, weights and it was relatively good size, the fountains was the best one there was more available but nonetheless, great standadr. The pool were well kept, we preferred the lakes as the cascades was more of a family based pool with lots of activites on for the children! What i loved was the pool bar - especially the one at Zimmie's Restaurant, The staff there were fab..Marina and especially Ralph he was ever so helpful..thank you for making our time at the bar enjoyable! they hav some graet offers on with happy hour, excellent food and there is also an inhouse kfc, a&w and pizza hut at the fountains.

The only thing i would comment on is the housekeeping, im not sure if it was because we were the lst unit to get done but often the housekeeping always came to our aparment at the end of the day which we found pretty frustrating when we were wanting to get changed and head out..morning would be better,. Also the calls from the office to try and entice you into timeshare, most of the time we just ignored the calls.

The resort is smack bang in the centre of LBV with easy access to downtown disney, and the crossroads where they have alot of restaurants including sweet tomatoes and you have the golden corral and bahama breeze. There is a new applebees opening there too which looks great and only 5 minutes in the car to premium outlets.

There is definately enough to do without heading out of the resort, I loved it here and can't wait to go back! Thanks for making our two weeks so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayles_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVRGM, General Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Many thanks for your kind review. Rest assured that we will share you comments with the team members. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

g

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,069 - 4,075 of 6,525 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Lots of people complain that this place is too big. Not so for us, it's actually a huge resort near Disney with loads of different pools and jacuzzis. Even if you didn't visit all the attractions you could have a great time at the resort itself.

We travelled as an extended family group and were originally all placed in the ageing cascades. These rooms were the pits and clearly ready to be demolished. I can see why there are so many bad reviews about cascades. After a fair bit of negotiations we all got moved to the fountains and the lakes area. These rooms are stunning and are right up there with the Hilton gvc rooms. Well appointed home from home with all mod cons.

The only criticism I'd make about the Sheraton is that you can't pick which block you are staying in. Personally I like to know the type of room we are staying in and would pay extra to guarantee a certain block and avoid 'bad room' issues.

Other than that we're going back next year for 2 weeks and can't say anything better than that.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eaglesrest2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVRGM, General Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Many thanks for taking the time out to post your review on Trip Advisor. Rest assured that by January 2011 we will only have 98 villas out of the 1682 that will not be renovated and by July 2011 the resort will be completed. Glad to see we were able to move you to a renovated villa!

g

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Like many things in Orlando, this place is massive: I'm told it has 1800 condos. This means moving around is a challenge unless you have a car rental (free parking). There is a shuttle bus service but is is haphazard. You can wait 2 minutes or 30. There is a good shuttle to the Disney parks though and a taxi to universal is about $20 each way. The property has a good store onsite for groceries, wine, starbucks and some good looking fresh prepared meal choices. The many pools were clean and pleasant - some have food and drink - even massage. The condo was well appointed, very clean, with nice beds and sheets. The guys on the shuttle buses were very friendly - the room attendants were about as unfriendly as I have seen. We walked in as one lady was still cleaning and although we apologized and stayed out of her way she was not even slightly polite - no tip for her! People like that should not work anywhere where they may have contact with paying customers. We also hated the time share experience so opt out if you can. The breakfast offer is not worth the trouble - even the 7000 starpoints are not worth it. It actually negatively coloured my whole stay. The first information bit went fine. Then came two more layers of increasingly pushy then down right aggressive sales people. As we tried to escape to join our waiting children after 2.5 hrs (an hour more than billed) they seemed desperate and the last guy's comments became quite simply inappropriate because we were unprepared to sign up on the spot. I am also offended when some "Greeter" asks for my family income as I walk in the door - as if I would offer that. Sheraton - clean up your act if you don't want to turnoff your potential customers.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurelady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVRGM, General Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Many thanks for your comments on your recent stay. Your feedback is valued as it allows us to keep our fingers on the pulse of the operation. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future. Kind Regards -

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at this property after a family member gave us their time share, there were 7 of us and we fitted comfortably into the two bed apartment. It had two bathrooms and a good kitchen, the location was great only 10 minutes from Disney and Seaworld and 20 minutes from Universal, it was very close to the premium outlet mail.

The site is 135 acres and has pools at the heart of each village some pools close at 22:00 hours but some do stay open until 01:00 hours, the site is very secure.

It made a very good base for visiting the theme parks it was nice to come back to a 2 bed apart with three TV’s no arguments there!

There are literally hundreds of places to eat nearby including cross roads and downtown Disney, you can order pizza hut and Kentucky fried chicken which are both on site and deliver in 50/60 minutes.

The one downside is you only get a clean/change of sheets etc once during the week but this was not a problem the apartments had washer/dryer iron/board and a hover if required.

Overall I was very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KevinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVRGM, General Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Many thanks for your kind review! We look forward to hosting you and your family in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Firstly lets talk about the good stuff. Really efficient staff and very helpful on every count. The resort has lots of pools and activities and is a great place to stay with children and also suits a couple like ourselves. Location for parks and getting round Orlando is excellent.

The resort is in the process of being refurbished and it needs it. The pictures on the web of rooms and apartments look great but beware, many of them have not been done yet. The villas etc are arranged in groups usually around one of the facilities. Some of the groupings may feel crowded for some people during peak season. We were based in the spa grouping. The first apartment (2 bed) was on the ground floor. The sofa bed was uncomfortable to sit on (kn******) and very dirty and the whole apartment felt as if it had not been serviced properly. The equipment was sparce and very poor quality. We arrived late due to flight delays and decided to complain in the morning. The following morning we opened the dish washer and it was obvious that it was not working and had stale water in it. We immediately spoke to reception staff who were very helpful and arranged for us to move to another 2 bed unit. The second unit was in the same general location on the first floor but nearer the pool. This unit was better and certainly cleaner. Again the unit looked tired and in need of update. The aircon unit was noisy with electrical connections of very dubious quality and safety. The quality and quantity of crockery and glass ware was again extremely poor to the extent that we had to buy two mugs so that we could have a tea or coffee. Cooking utensils were limited and poor quality. Bedrooms were spacious with adequate bathrooms. A bonus was HBO that showed films when you wanted to relax in the evenings. For those who know American TV the constant adverts spoil sitting down to watch anything. The resort also has free wifi which is a plus.

Perhaps we are being picky but we expect a standard comparable to the place we live in at home and where we own at Club Marbella Spain. The spa units were well below that standard.

Overall the resort is good but badly let down by tired units that are past their sell by date and a refurbishment programme that is a few years too late.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castlejools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVRGM, General Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Many thanks for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Sheraton Vistana Resort. Your review is quite apropos as we are indeed in the process of renovating the entire resort. At this time we are approximately 88% completed and look to have the final 98 villas of the resort completely renovated by July 2011.

We do look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

g

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This hotel is amazing. Everything that you want in a resort, you will get. The rooms are nice and big, and it is very up to date. Everything that you expect to be modern, it is there. A highly-recommended resort for travellers especially for family with kids. You are literally 10 - 15 minutes away from Walt Disney theme parks and minutes away from shopping malls.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NightOwl95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVRGM, General Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Many thanks for your kind review. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

After a year of reading reviews, we have finally experienced it for ourselves. We bought a timeshare resale in the winter and this was our first time using it at Vistana in August. We were in Fountains I and it was absolutely beautiful and spotless. Check in was a breeze, no concern about a parking spot or a lounge chair, and we could never hear any neighbours. The unit was fabulous and many of our pots or pans were brand new with packaging on them. Really used the screened in porch!!! One minor issue with AC was dealt with immediately. Would have liked a pair of scissors in the otherwise well-equipped kitchen and coffee filters would be nice too. Pools were lovely - the only slight disappointment was the cost attached for every activity, craft, or special event offered (only something to consider if your kids are interested in participating). But overall it was a wonderful week and we will return next year and the year after that.......

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan155016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SVRGM, General Manager at Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2010

Many thanks for your kind response. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments will definately be taken in to consideration. Looking forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
2.2 mi away
Sheraton Vistana Villages - International Drive
3.7 mi away
Marriott's Grande Vista
Marriott's Grande Vista
#61 of 339 in Orlando
4,097 reviews
2.0 mi away
Floridays Resort
Floridays Resort
#21 of 339 in Orlando
8,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hilton Grand Vacations at Tuscany Village
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Lake Buena Vista
1.0 mi away
Caribe Royale Orlando
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 339 in Orlando
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista

Address: 8800 Vistana Centre Drive, Orlando, FL 32821-6353
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Orlando
#45 Family Hotel in Orlando
#50 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#95 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $139 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1682
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Walt Disney World Good Neighbor® hotel featuring one- and two-bedroom villas providing fully equipped kitchens, washer/dryer, separate living and dining areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. Enjoy resort amenities including 7 pools without the resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sheraton Vistana Resort - Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Orlando
Vistana Resort Orlando
Sheraton Vistana Resort Lake Buena Vista
Sheraton Vistana Resort Florida
Sheraton Vistana Resort Orlando Florida
Orlando Sheraton
Sheraton Vistana Florida
Sheratons Vistana Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing