We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!! Don't listen to occasional negative reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Ranked #28 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Jacksonville
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!!! Don't listen to occasional negative reviews”
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I won bidding on priceline.com at $65 per night. After I found out the hotel name, I immediately went to read reviews and had mixed feelings about the hotel. I call the hotel and requested non-smoking room (con: smoking is allowed in certain rooms). I knew that I had to pay resort fee $15 per day plus parking (valet $20 per day or self-park $12). With self-park you'll pay $12 each time you come back to the garage. When we arrive we were greeted by friendly valet staff who informed us about the parking options (we, of course, chose valet). There is currently construction of new tower going on, so self-parking is too far away from the hotel entrance.
We were greeted by friendly staff at the reception desk and were asked if we wanted to upgrade to concierge room. Upgrade includes a room on one of the top three floors (exclusive access to the floors with your room key); continental breakfast (7-9am M-F; 8-10am on weekends) and heavy o'rderves 5:30-7pm; valet parking; access to gym; sauna. We chose an upgrade at $55 per night. It was soooo totally worth the money, because we didn't have to think about our breakfast and dinner (for some of the evenings). We traveled with a child who also enjoyed every bit of this stay.
This hotel is known for duck march, which occur daily at 11am and 5pm. Our kid got selected as an honorary duck master to guide ducks on the red carpet. For a kid, this is an unforgettable moment.
Pools are also great, not too crowded. Kiddy pool is also excellent.
We didn't use the gym (didn't feel like working out on vacation).
Room is average size, TV needs upgrading. Rooms size reminded me of a cruise cabin (the one that has a balcony).
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaxSparkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarshallKelberman, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, June 23, 2010
Dear JaxSparkles:

Thank you for sharing your family's experience at The Peabody Orlando! It is particularly pleasant to learn that your child enjoyed the priceless experience of an Honorary Duck Master. As you observed, the hotel offers options to satisfy both business and vacationing travelers. We appreciate learning of our guest's experiences so we may continue to evaluate and improve our products and services. Our hotel associates, and Peabody ducks, look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Marshall Kelberman
Director of Rooms
The Peabody Orlando
407-345-4593
Marshall.Kelberman@peabodyorlando.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    1,375
    426
    174
    108
See reviews for
1,049
855
130
2,782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (957)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I stayed at the Peabody Orlando with my pregnant wife in May 2010. The hotel is very clean and has lots of amenities, but ruins itself by nickle and diming and having the worst parking setup of any hotel i've ever stayed at.

At check in we were told that only smoking rooms were available, and that we'd have to pay an extra $35 a night for a non-smoking room. We agreed to the extra since neither of us could stand a smoking room. They then told us we had to pay a mandatory $15 per night service fee for 2 bottles of water in our room and passes for the bus that goes down I-Drive (which we have no need for).

After this I went to park, the parking lot is about 1/2 miles away from the main entrance, and you have to walk thru a construction site with no side walks. It was raining, so I had to walk uncovered all the way through a flooded road. They then charge $12 per night to park.

Ordered a cheese pizza from room service for the advertised $13.95 since they advertise no delivery fees (figured just add tip and tax.) After taxes and (hidden) fees, but before tip, it came to just under $19.

Rooms are nice and clean, but outdated with a very basic television and no amenities such as fridge or coffee maker. Coffee is $5 from room service and very poor quality.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shauny2k3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

A few Trip Advisor contributors have complained about The Peabody's 'hotel service fee', but don't let the extra charge put you off if you plan on using the wifi, buying a bottle of water or riding the International Drive trolley.
You do pay an extra $15 every day of your stay, but this amount gives you unlimited internet access, two bottles of water, day tickets to ride the tourist trolley, and a few other things, so if you were going to buy these things anyway you will still come out ahead.
I stayed in another Orlando hotel before moving to the Peabody, and paid $15 a day just to use the hotel's wifi.
The Peabody Orlando is a lovely hotel, and the ducks in the lobby fountain are a delightful feature -- you can't help but smile when they waddle home to their Duck Palace at the end of another hard day splashing around in the fountain.
The location is great if you want to spend your Orlando stay on and around International Drive, as you can use the tourist trolley which has a stop right out the front and passes most of the tourist attractions and shopping spots.
Meads offer a shuttle to and from Orlando International Airport, which will cost you $29 for a return ticket.
I can't say the staff were particularly friendly, they were efficient but I never felt I was anything more than just a customer.
The bed was lovely, the store in the lobby was convenient for a cool drink after a long day shopping at the outlets, and there were a few options for eating and drinking without having to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarpeDiemMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2010

I have to say I was a little apprehensive about staying here. I "won" by bidding $45 per night, and The Peabody accepted my bid on Priceline. I was excited until I started reading the reviews and honestly started to get a little nervous. Before we arrived we knew that we would be charged $20 per night for valet (DEFINITELY WORTH IT!!!), and $15.98 per night for a resort fee. First of all, the valet was worth every penny. They opened doors for both of us, and gave us directions every time. Whenever my husband & I wanted to go somewhere we would just call down to the valet and by the time we got to the curb our car was waiting. Never waited more than 60 seconds on the curb for our car! The resort fee was about average for that area. The pool is very nice, and from what I could see of the tennis courts and fitness center it would be worth the $16 per day to use those things. The front desk was cheerful and the bellhop very helpful and attentive. The only gripes I had were the fact that we were in a room by the elevator, so you could hear it going up and down every few seconds. We weren't in our room much, so not a huge issue. The other complaint I had (not even a complaint, just a minor inconvenience) is that they charge you $70 per night upon check-in for incidentals. They didn't warn me about this, and I almost overdrew my bank account since I didn't plan on having $140 earmarked for the hotel after I had already paid for it. The way the front desk explained was that when I check out they will deduct the valet fees and the resort fees and credit the remainder back to my card. So overall, I spent $109 on the room (2 nights) and $75 on valet & resort fees. So $185 for 2 nights at The Peabody - well worth it since it was centrally located and I felt pampered the whole time I was there. I am bringing my daughter back in October for her birthday to go to Disney, and we will definitely be staying at The Peabody!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laneyandtylersmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarbBowden, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, June 2, 2010
Dear laneyandtylersmom,

Thank you for your kind words about your stay at the Peabody Orlando. We appreciate feedback from guests so we can better accommodate them on future visits.

I am pleased to hear your positive review of our valet service. We pride ourselves on having a very knowledgeable valet staff that is ready to provide directions for guests at any moment. I’m also glad you were able to see their excellent service firsthand and were satisfied with their quick delivery of your car every day.

I am sorry you were disappointed with the location of your room, but I am pleased to hear it do not interfere much with your stay. For your next visit, let our reservationist know where you were last time, and we will do our best to place you in a room away from the elevator. Since you will be visiting us again after September 23, you might even have the opportunity to stay in our brand new tower that will add on 700 more rooms!

In regards to the incidental charge, I am sorry we did not clearly communicate our procedures with you. Your comments have been shared with our front office as a reminder of how important it is to communicate our policies with guests.

Thank you again for your comments! I loved hearing you felt pampered during your stay. We look forward to having you and your daughter visit us in October! Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any further questions or feedback.

Warm Regards,

Barb Bowden
General Manager, The Peabody Orlando
Barb.Bowden@peabodyorlando.com
Tel: 407-345-4473
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Management was horribe! She needs to take a course on customer service. They also want to charge you to park, but you have to walk 1/2 a mile to the parking garage or pay even extra for valet. What a rip-off. Never will return!! There are too many other nice places to stay in this area.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natureswild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Enjoyed very much my stay at the Peabody, an excellent hotel that I recommand without hesitation. I was attending a meeting at the hotel, service and facilities were superb. Staff everywhere was very pleasant. There is some construction (expansion) that is underway and I was told that it should double the hotel size, and should be over by 09/10.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherif E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed there at the beginning of the April. The hotel was ok. Higher star rating than was deserved.

They charged fees that we were not told about until we arrived at the hotel. Between what seemed to be mandatory valet at $20.00 per night, as the parking garage was too far away to walk to and through a construction zone, and the resort fee for two bottles of water and internet access that we didn't even use at another $10.00 per night, our bill went up an unexpected $30.00 per night.

The valet WRECKED MY CAR! We didn't notice the damage until we had already left the hotel. We immediately returned to the hotel. The person who told me they were the valet manager proceeded to blame me for the damage and deny it was their fault. The hotel security came out and took statements from my boyfriend and I and sent a claim to their insurance company. The adjuster did come and take pictures and gave me a estimate of $618.00 to fix my car within two days.

Needless to say.... two weeks later I get a letter in the mail that says they "do not feel our insured can be held legally liable or negligent for your damages as a result of this incident." In other words.... you can't prove we did it so we're not going to fix it.

Like my title said... you couldn't pay us to stay here again!! After paying an extra $648.00 after fixing my car this hotel was totally worthless!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjharrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#48 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,981 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#144 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
6.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#25 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Orlando/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Rosen Plaza Hotel
Rosen Plaza Hotel
#88 of 336 in Orlando
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orlando

Property: Hyatt Regency Orlando
Address: 9801 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8104 (Formerly The Peabody Orlando)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#9 Business Hotel in Orlando
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#21 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Orlando 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Resort Close to All the Fun & Adventure! Hyatt Regency Orlando is an iconic hotel located in the heart of everything Orlando, Florida has to offer: theme parks, shopping, dining, nightlife and so much more. We've got something for everyone from two sparkling pools, a waterside & waterfall, a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour StayFit Gym, 7 dining & lounge options, and a customer service driven team awaiting your arrival. What Makes a Seamless Stay: • AAA Four Diamond Accommodations: 1,641 guestrooms and suites, with upgrades including view and club level rooms • Resort Pools: Complete with waterslide, waterfall, splash pad, separate kiddie pool area and cabanas available for rent • Location on International Drive: Guests receive two daily I-Ride Trolley tickets to nearby I-Drive locations including Pointe Orlando, I-Drive 360, SeaWorld and Aquatica. • Enjoy Orlando Attractions: We are minutes from Universal Orlando Resort, Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld. • Vibrant Dining: Choose from five Full- Service Dining outlets, two bars, a grab & go and 24 hr. room service. Our pools, spa and sunshine are calling your name. Book with us today to make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Peabody Hotel Orlando
Peabody Orlando
Peabody Hotel Orlando Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing