We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Peabody”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Ranked #28 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 7, 2009

This was my second trip to Orlando in which we stayed at the Peabody Hotel and it won't be our last.

Perfect location on International drive with an 'I-ride' trolley stop straight outside the hotel, + included with our stay @ the Peabody we received free I-ride pass for each day of our stay so we were able to travel for free our entire trip.

Also it's location is a short walk from Pointe Orlando which has a selection a nice shops & restaurants.

Great location and a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,703)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Orlando
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,087 - 5,093 of 5,703 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2009

This hotel is right across the road from the convention center & ideally located if you are attending a congress (which we were). The rooms were of average 5 star size with 2 double beds. Internet access was free. The breakfast was not included but it was reasonably priced at their diner. The restaurants were all pretty good especially the Italian. A very friendly hotel to stay at especially if attending a convention.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ppmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

The Peabody is an expensive hotel but while pricey, the service is outstanding!! Beds were great I felt like I could sleep for a week, pool is super, and the food is good as well,but again it is $$$$$.All staff extremely courteous, and helpful, remebering names,etc. I would stay again. The only small complaint I had was the pillows, they are so soft, they don't give any support,but other than that, they are A++++++

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simplycuban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2009

The hotel was clean and overall very nice. However, everything was VERY pricey. I was there for a conference and because the hotel was so unorganized, it took us 6 (SIX) hours to check into our hotel room. The line literally wrapped around the lobby. There were several other hotels in the area that had no problem checking in, so this was completely inexcusable. They did refund us one night's stay but the damage had been done.

Also, the hotel boasts that it is across the street from the convention center, make sure you know what area of the convention center you wil be in. The main one can be kind of a long walk for those that may be a little older.

Overall, the hotel was clean and we had no problems the rest of the time; however, the hotel left a very bad taste in my mouth - I will NEVER go there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NaptownChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2009

My wife and I spent five nights at The Peabody wile attending a conference at the Convention Center. We made reservations on the last day of the 2008 conference, hoping we would receive our choice of room in 2009. I realize that hotel bookings made through conference planners are usually hit-and-miss, but we were disappointed to learn that our room request was changed from a king bed to two double beds. The check-in person offered us a king upgrade (at additional cost), which we declined. I told her that I'd accept a free upgrade, but she was not amused. In hindsight, I should have asked for a manager to upgrade us. We asked for and received a room with a pool view. After reading about the construction at the hotel, I didn't want to have to listen to construction noise at the beginning and end of a busy day. The only time we heard any noise at all was while sitting around the pool. Even then, it was no big deal.

We were in room #2142 -- high enough to see the fireworks from Disney in the evening, although we were occupied with business dinners and didn't get a chance to see the fireworks.

The room was a nice size, with adequate closet space and plenty of hangers. The in-room safe was large enough to hold my wife's jewelry, my laptop, and my camera.

The furniture was a little dated and showed some wear. The carpet had several stains. The hotel is undergoing a major renovation of guest rooms (although we saw no signs of such activity), and our room had yet to be redone.

The bedding was new, nice quality and very comfortable, as were the firm mattresses, which we prefer. There were plenty of pillows for watching TV and comfortable sleeping.

A large armoire housed the old 27" CRT-type television (refurbished rooms have flat screens). There is also a 10" LCD TV monitor in the bathroom. There were four drawers for storage (barely enough for two people staying five nights), as well as a minibar (which should be avoided because of its high prices).

The bathroom countertop showed signs of wear, as did the separate vanity area in the room, which my wife used for make-up, etc. The counter in the bathroom is very narrow and is really too small for two guests to share. There was one sink. The faucets were a bit tricky and you could find yourself doused with water if you're careful in turning them on.

The shower's water pressure was adequate, with plenty of hot water for two showers. The bathroom was clean, but there was some mildew visible on the tiles surrounding the tub.

The room also contained a small desk, with a lamp and telephone. The lamp had two AC outlets, convenient for plugging in your laptop and cell phone charger.

There was a small, comfortable chair, but it showed some signs of wear.

Housekeeping did a nice job of cleaning the room during our stay. Wake-up calls came right on time.

We used the outdoor pool and hot tub a couple of times. They were both very nice. There were plenty of lounge chairs and towels. Drink service was available and the servers were not at all aggressive in pushing the (overpriced) drinks.

When we had time, we had breakfast at a nearby Denny's and IHOP. The hotel's B-Line Dinner was very expensive and several people complained about the slow service.

We met friends and colleagues in the large lobby area for late cocktails on two of our five nights at the hotel. Service was slow, but the place was quite busy. A pianist/singer provided a pleasant background for conversation.

The service at The Peabody was top-notch, with a friendly and helpful staff. Although many reviewers here complained about
the valet parking, I never had to wait more than 10 minutes to have my car delivered to the front door. You could even call from your room and the car would be ready and waiting when you got downstairs.

The Convention Center is located directly across the street from The Peabody, so it's very convenient for conference attendees.

Overall, I'd give The Peabody 3-1/2 stars, at least until they finish construction and renovation of the rooms. I'll probably opt to stay at the nearby Rosen on my next visit, if I need to be close to the Convention Center. If you have access to a car, both the new Rosen at Shingle Creek and the Ritz-Carlton offer superior (although more expensive) facilities.

There are plenty of places to eat along International Drive and on nearby Sand Lake Road. Upscale shopping and outlet malls are also nearby, but in current economy, vacation shopping is no longer a recreational pursuit for most of us.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2009

Spent 3 nights at the lovely Peabody this week. In my opinion its one of the best in Orlando and certainly the best on I drive.
As the hotel is mainly used be people at conferences it had a lovely, quiet and calm atmosphere with lots of space around the pool in the day.
Nothing to complain about except perhaps that the public rooms in the hotel and the restaurants were freezing = warm clothes required.
Lots of people complaining about the $20 parking fee. We left our car in the car park at Pointe Orlando. Only a 10 min walk away and faster and cheaper than the valet. They charge $6 per night but if you leave in the morning before the shops open there's no charge - ideal if you're going to the parks. We also got a validation sticker from one of the restaurants in Pointe Orlando so ended up not paying anything at all.
Overall a great place to stay - my daughter loved the ducks and watched all the duck parades - none of us wanted to leave. The only place to stay on I Drive and when the extension is completed it will be even better.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karensolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

My visit to the Peabody Orlando was for a weeklong conference. I wasn't disappointed. This is a 4-5 star property, with the facilities, services, (and prices) to match.

Other posters have lamented the $20/night valet parking fee and extra "resort charge". With 150+ people in our group, we were able to negotiate these rates into our package. Other larger groups might want to look into this before booking. Outside of this, the rooms were spacious, clean and modern with some great views. (Ask for an upper-floor, west-facing room to view the Disney and Sea World fireworks displays.) Most striking is the attentiveness and sincere friendliness of all staff; front desk, bellmen, concierge and restaurants. All in all a great stay at a higher end hotel. I'd be willing to return as a tourist to take advantage of some of the facilities that our schedule kept us from enjoying.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark-nole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#54 of 340 in Orlando
5,211 reviews
6.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#26 of 340 in Orlando
4,409 reviews
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Orlando, Grande Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,456 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
6.4 mi away
Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orlando

Address: 9801 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8104 (Formerly The Peabody Orlando)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Business Hotel in Orlando
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#21 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $154 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Orlando 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Resort Close to All the Fun & Adventure! Hyatt Regency Orlando is an iconic hotel located in the heart of everything Orlando, Florida has to offer: theme parks, shopping, dining, nightlife and so much more. We've got something for everyone from two sparkling pools, a waterside & waterfall, a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour StayFit Gym, 7 dining & lounge options, and a customer service driven team awaiting your arrival. What Makes a Seamless Stay: • AAA Four Diamond Accommodations: 1,641 guestrooms and suites, with upgrades including view and club level rooms • Resort Pools: Complete with waterslide, waterfall, splash pad, separate kiddie pool area and cabanas available for rent • Location on International Drive: Guests receive two daily I-Ride Trolley tickets to nearby I-Drive locations including Pointe Orlando, I-Drive 360, SeaWorld and Aquatica. • Enjoy Orlando Attractions: We are minutes from Universal Orlando Resort, Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld. • Vibrant Dining: Choose from five Full- Service Dining outlets, two bars, a grab & go and 24 hr. room service. Our pools, spa and sunshine are calling your name. Book with us today to make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Peabody Hotel Orlando
Peabody Orlando
Peabody Hotel Orlando Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing