We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A conference hotel with zero atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Orlando
Ranked #29 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A conference hotel with zero atmosphere”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

I attended a conference in this hotel and stayed 4 nights.

It is a huge hotel - and therefore lacks any semblance of atmosphere. I was quite surprised to see some families there - must have been on a deal - as the hotel essentially acts a bed and breakfast to the conference centre.

The room was comfortable and reasonably well appointed. A solid 4 star

The food was better than average for this type of hotel

Location is OK. Be aware of taxi fares - a fare to the Premium Outlets is around $15. I was charged $37.50 by one taxi driver who sense of direction was lacking! A colleague had a similar experience going to the hotel form the airport. Always ask for an estimate

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
David,

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay. We strive daily to provide unique experiences through quality and service and I'm dissapointed that you did not experience this throughout your stay. We are proud of our facilities, but without those unique experiences it's just a building.

I will make sure we continue to work with our team to improve and will certainly provide this feedback. I hope we get another chance to host you soon.

Best,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,343
    1,396
    437
    177
    110
See reviews for
1,081
864
133
2,832
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (964)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

My husband I are loyal Hyatt patrons. Out of all our travels this review is by far the most difficult. For starters we live in the local area. It was our anniversary weekend and my husband wanted to surprise me with a romantic evening and breakfast by purchasing what he thought was a package that included an "executive suite" and in room breakfast, of which was confirmed with the front desk staff during our check in. However the following morning when we called the front desk to inquire about the breakfast, a brash and less than knowledgeable member of the staff told us that we would have to go downstairs to one of the restaurants for breakfast even though the website and email confirmation clearly stated "in room dining". After being put on hold numerous times and speaking with multiple people, we were eventually told that we could appply a credit of $44 dollars towards breakfast in our room. The problem was $44 did not even cover the cost of a full breakfast for two people. Frustrated, we were in the process of requesting a refund for the additional monies that had been paid for the in room breakfast option when the Mr. Tefera (In Room Dining Manager) personally took our order and had breakfast sent up to our room. The breakfast we received was nothing short of amazing. Not only was Mr. Tefera extremely kind and helpful, he also took the time to listen to our concerns. Just when we thought our morning could not go any better, champagne was delivered to our room compliments of Sybil, the hotel operator who had been on the phone with us all morning trying to get the issue resolved. Wow. We had spent the morning of our anniversary haggling with the front desk when these two individuals (Sybil and Mr. Tefera) went above and beyond to make sure that the remainder of our stay was nothing short of spectacular. The last few hours of our stay was amazing. However based on the overall treatment we received we would not stay at this hotel again. Keeping in mind we live locally. We were looking for romance, excitement, and escape in our own backyard. But instead felt like we we spent too much time on the phone with rude front desk staff. It would be one thing if the actual room was nice. The decor was ok, but the layout was odd. Not to mention the view from our room on the 27th floor was of a swamp lake, empty field and roof tops. Although the TV in the bathroom mirror was impressive, we could not give this hotel a rating of more than average because of the poor views and poor customer service. Had it not been for the exceptional service we recieved from the hotel operator and dining manager during our last few hours, this rating would be less than average.

Room Tip: Avoid the swamp view. We kept our curtains closed the entire time. Because of the large pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Al4luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
We do appreciate your candid feedback on your recent stay and to say that I'm dissapointed is certainly an understatement. We do feel that we have so many staff members that are as dedicated as Sybil and Tefera and we never like to hear when we've created a negative experience due to our service.

Please know that this will be shared with our staff and used as a learning experience, both negatively and positvely and that we will most certainly share and praise Sybil and Tefera for what they did to go above and beyond.

We do strive to be the best.and to creating memorable experiences and I hope that you do give us another chance to do so. I would love to speak with you personally and if you are willing, please do send us a message with the best way to contact you.

Thank you again,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is really a beautiful hotel. We never experienced it as The Peabody but there are still subtle reminders in the tile work and other areas of the hotel. I really wish Hyatt had retained the services of the Peabody Ducks but none the less we really enjoyed our stay. We wanted so badly to be able to give this hotel 5 stars but we did experience a few snags. The first was with the check in process. Our room was not available upon arrival and we were told that we would receive a call when the room was available. We were told that housekeeping was aware and cleaning would be expedited. We were also told that our assigned room was on the same level as the club lounge but we could take a room on a lower floor if we didn't want to wait. We decided to explore the hotel while we waited. Two hours later we still had not received a call so we decided to check with the front desk and were told that the room was indeed ready. The room was ready but it was not on the same floor as the club lounge so we were a little confused about the explanation we were given at check in. Still the room was just one floor below so no harm no foul. Second snag involved the extra amenity we chose for being Hyatt Diamond members. Normally we would choose the extra points but the choice of vanilla fudge was too enticing. Needless to say we never received the fudge. Other than these two minor issues the hotel staff is incredible. The rooms are grounds are impeccable. We are frequent travelers to the Orlando area for business and pleasure and are annual pass holders to all of the major parks in the area. We will definitely be staying here in the future.

Room Tip: Our room was in the newer tower on the 26th floor. On future visits I will request a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cowboibabyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide such a great review and also for your loyalty to Hyatt. We always appreciate when a frequent customer provides their thoughts on any of their experiences with Hyatt.

I am sorry to hear about the snag at check in with your wait and our misses on alerting you to the available room and amenity. We will make sure we address immediately so the next time you stay with us, that 5th star will be easy to award!

Sincerely,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Just returned from a 10 night stay at the Hyatt. Have stayed several times at this property under the Peabody banner. Hyatt have managed to maintain the excellent standards previously set by the Peabody - excellent service, courteous staff, rooms super clean, superb facilities. The Hyatt is in a great position on I Drive, close to Pointe Orlando, and really is the best hotel by far on I Drive. Ate in the B Line restaurant, excellent service and reasonable prices.
Only one small gripe - the resort fee. Hyatt have approximately doubled the resort fee from the Peabody days and the only noticeable difference is that they have removed the free bottled water and added bike hire. Bike hire on I Drive !. Who in the right mind is going to drive a push bike on I Drive. I would like to know what percentage of guests avail of the bike hire. Come on senior management admit this is a bad executive decision. I propose a re-introduction of the free bottled water and a reduction in the resort fee.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank richard w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Richard,

Thank you for the kind words and your loyalty over the years. We do appreciate your continued support and hope to see you back!

In regards to the Resort Fee, you are correct, we did make the decision to remove the bottled water from the guestrooms in part due to the amount of plastic being thrown away due to this initative. We did make a concious effort to add a significant amount of value to our Resort fee including the opening of our fitness center to 24 hours vs. 10, including guestroom internet into the fee vs. the $9 daily charge, and enhancing the services for families and guests through our recreation department on a daily basis. We hope these things coupled with the Trolley passes for guests, bike rentals, etc do provide value.

We will certainly take your feedback to heart and discuss internally how we can continue to provide value to our guests.

We hope to see you back soon.

Brian C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Small
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I spent five days at this hotel, for a conference. The banquet staff and food were outstanding -- especially Edera, Mike, and Luke. Personal, attentive service; inventive menus with unexpected choices; and healthy, modern options at every meal. Bravo!

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lidorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for the great feedback on your recent stay. We are happy to hear that the conference was a success and hope you come back to visit soon!

Sincerely,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

IThe pool was fantastic. Lots of kids/families, and not really hard to find a spot. The restaurants were a bit of a miss though. Food was decent but a bit expensive. Service was pretty bad. We went to the B line diner around 9-ish on Saturday, it wasn't very busy, but we ended up leaving after sitting for 15 minutes without a server taking our order. Same with the other onsite restaurants - the servers seemed consistently bad, often forgetting items or taking way too long to deliver service. The room was nice and comfortable, overall good for a weekend or conference but I wouldn't recommend the restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Brad,

Thank you for your feedback. I do appreciate your honesty regarding our restaurants and I will make sure we discuss internally. We pride ourselves on thoughtful and caring service and never like to hear when we don't provide the intended levels of service.

Please do allow us to host you again.

Sincerely,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We loved the hotel when it was the Peabody but was willing to give it a try under the Hyatt ownership. We were happy to see some of our favorite lobby servers still around. Jackie, Lana, and Missy are the girls we see most of the time and they are excellent at what they do! They are friendly and attentive! Yes, we agree it is most expensive to eat in the hotel. Even the all night walk in deli is pricey. The food is delicious but far too pricey for a late night sandwich and chips! The check in and out is extrememly quick. We were very impressed at how quickly they came for our luggage upon departure. Our car was curbside and ready to go. We had some issues with cleanliness of the room and how many calls it took us to get extra towels. They only put 2 bath towels in the bathroom and I need a few more than that! After having an issue with expired food, I felt the need to write them a letter. Within days, Jose Pastrana and MaryEllen called me and satisfied this customer! I would always suggest letting a hotel know so they can make it right. I will certainly go back again.

Room Tip: We love the club level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HRORLANDO, Manager at Hyatt Regency Orlando, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Cindee,

Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your stay, both the good and the things we can improve on. I'm happy to hear that Jose and Maryellen were on top of getting back to you and we were able to rectify any issues.

We do look forward to hosting you back here again!

Thank you,
Brian C.
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Orlando
Hilton Orlando
#50 of 337 in Orlando
5,044 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rosen Centre Hotel
Rosen Centre Hotel
#143 of 337 in Orlando
2,851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Orlando/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
Waldorf Astoria Orlando
#24 of 337 in Orlando
4,213 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton Orlando, Grande Lakes
3.9 mi away
Villas of Grand Cypress
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Orlando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Orlando

Property: Hyatt Regency Orlando
Address: 9801 International Drive, Orlando, FL 32819-8104 (Formerly The Peabody Orlando)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Orlando
#9 Business Hotel in Orlando
#9 Spa Hotel in Orlando
#12 Green Hotel in Orlando
#21 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#24 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Orlando 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1639
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Resort Close to All the Fun & Adventure! Hyatt Regency Orlando is an iconic hotel located in the heart of everything Orlando, Florida has to offer: theme parks, shopping, dining, nightlife and so much more. We've got something for everyone from two sparkling pools, a waterside & waterfall, a full-service spa & salon, 24-hour StayFit Gym, 7 dining & lounge options, and a customer service driven team awaiting your arrival. What Makes a Seamless Stay: • AAA Four Diamond Accommodations: 1,641 guestrooms and suites, with upgrades including view and club level rooms • Resort Pools: Complete with waterslide, waterfall, splash pad, separate kiddie pool area and cabanas available for rent • Location on International Drive: Guests receive two daily I-Ride Trolley tickets to nearby I-Drive locations including Pointe Orlando, I-Drive 360, SeaWorld and Aquatica. • Enjoy Orlando Attractions: We are minutes from Universal Orlando Resort, Walt Disney World Resort and SeaWorld. • Vibrant Dining: Choose from five Full- Service Dining outlets, two bars, a grab & go and 24 hr. room service. Our pools, spa and sunshine are calling your name. Book with us today to make memories that will last a lifetime. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Orlando reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peabody Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Peabody Hotel Orlando
Peabody Orlando
Peabody Hotel Orlando Fl

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing