We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista FL May 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #103 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Northville, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista FL May 2014”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed here one night over the Memorial Day weekend. Because I have IHG Platinum status, we were upgraded to a suite, which was VERY nice. The facilities were great. Our room had a really nice balcony overlooking the pool. The pool was also really nice. It was overrun with children all afternoon. ( I get that, it's a family resort!). Later in the evening, and early in the morning, the pool was great. The only drawback was the Applebee's restaurant attached to the hotel. It was really not up to par.

Room Tip: Plan on eating somewhere other than the on site Applebee's restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    660
    257
    85
    59
See reviews for
945
309
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Nice hotel. Close to I-4 but without the traffic headaches. The Bad: Resort fee is charged per day, no free breakfast. The Good: Applebees Restaurant within the hotel, Next to a 7 Eleven, Nice Swimming Pools, No parking fee. Close to other restaurants. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripstar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I use to stay down the street at a more modern hotel, but the customer service with Holiday Inn in Orlando doesn't even compare to those other hotels. Jose at the front desk is outstanding. His customer service is sincere, makes the guest feel welcome, comes up to the 7th floor where I normally stay and provide an evening snack. Jose is exceptional, thanks for hiring him. I will be back again and again.

Green Features: The bartenders are very personable, really care about the guest. Lena is awesome.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I want to start off by acknowledging that we booked this room via Hotwire.com and only stayed one night over Memorial day weekend. Here's the good stuff: The hotel was located near Disney, they provided a shuttle to and from the parks and their staff was nice and helpful.

Here's the bad stuff: I thought it was odd that they did not provide conditioner, only shampoo. The hotel was like a madhouse. There were children running around everywhere, screaming and crying. (I understand that kids made noise and what not, but it was truly overwhelming.) We were unable to enjoy the amenities(even though we paid a 13$ "resort fee"), such as the pool and hot tubs, due to fear of being in the way of someone's cannonball or splash fight. When a hot tub finally opened up we were excited to relax... only to find that the hot tub smelled like swamp water. The water smelt so bad that we immediately left to shower and were unable to wash the smell from our bathing suits. (They still currently smell two cycles of laundry later. Maybe third time is the charm?) I wish this was an exaggeration, but it isn't. Housekeeping also appeared to cut corners. There was old blood on our sheets. We did not complain because we had a double bed and was only staying one night so we just slept in the other bed, which was thankfully clean. Finally, the buses that are supposed to run continuously throughout the day were disappointing. We waited 2 hours in the rain for the bus to come pick us up from Epcot.

Overall, we enjoyed our trip to Disney. The hotel, on the other hand, is rough around the edges. I don't think that I would stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it to someone who was going to pay the normal rate. It just isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Higher floors might be preferable due to noise.
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice any environmentally-friendly practices.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0_K8lyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear 0_K8lyn:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay with us. We do apologize that your stay was not what you had expected. The pool area can be very busy especially during a holiday weekend but we do our best to ensure that everyone is able to enjoy the pool area. We have checked out the hot tubs and found no issues of a smell or chemical imbalance. We are sorry that you noticed one during your stay and ask to please let us know right away so that we can address it immediately in the future.

Thank you again for your comments as we will use them to continue to improve our property for all of our guests and we look forward to seeing you in the future!

Best Regards,

Keith D .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linden, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I tried to write this review many times to be fair. I tend to agree with almost everyone on this site-that it wasn't a resort and doesn't deserve a resort fee as soon as you walk in. However - good location, big rooms, and a pool-make it just a good old regular hotel.
That's why we came here. Good for people who need a place close to all the attractions. The only really bad thing that happened was that the weekday housekeepers do not clean as good as the weekend people.
We were out most of the day and when we came back we had to call housekeeping for clean towels.....hopefully it was just a bad day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katmat3337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Katmat3337,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to post a review. It is great to know that our location was in perfect proximity to your destination.

However, I am sorry that your stay was not fully satisfactory because of some services that are not at par with your standards particularly our housekeeping. I appreciate that you brought this to our attention for this will help us target specific concerns of our valued guest, like yourself, and make needed improvements on our service.

Once again, thank you for staying and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holiday, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

My family and I stayed here over the memorial day weekend! We had a service dog with us and the waved the pet fee for us which was very nice. The rooms are updated, clean, cool and the beds are very comfy! The property is always clean. The staff and housekeepers are very friendly and helpful. My 8 year old and I loved the pool and spray park area. Plenty of seating, pool tables, outside checkers and games. This is where we spent most of our time. The tikibar opens at 12:30ish FYI. On the web site it says they have poolside activities for the kids. When you arrive they give you a paper with the daily schedule. They seem fun but we waited for the "Activities Guy" To show up an hour late. Seems like is heart isn't really in it:( We figured the activities would change daily but nope, Same thing every day. That was kinda a bummer. Also we were told that Fri and Sat night there would be a movie in the pool. No such luck. The staff seemed to have no idea what I was talking about so don't cancel your dinner plans. My only other concern was the Applebee's attached to the hotel. What a great idea It would be if it was a nice experience but was not. They give you a free food ticked for your children to eat free the whole stay which was awesome because it is pricy. They offer a breakfast buffet but it's 11.99 per adult and they were out of bacon and eggs. But help yourself to the cold cereal for $12 I guess lol. My son also burnt his arm while reaching in for toast on the bar. He cried so we left. Not a fun time for us there. Plenty of other affordable yummy restaurants just down the road. We Love Orlando and try to make a trip up once a month to get away. We would Stay again because it was affordable Via Travelocity. Over All We Enjoyed Our stay. Hope This Preps you for your stay:)

Room Tip: They Offer Pet Rooms With No Pet Odor Which Is Hard To Find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Stayed at the Holiday Inn Lake Buena Vista hotel during Memorial Day weekend. Arrived on Friday afternoon and check in was quick. I was staying on my reward points and they were able to accommodate me in the kids suite. This room has a separating wall between the queen bed and the kids bunk beds which gives you privacy. The hotel is adjacent to an Applebee's. Across the street there is a Chick Fil A, a Wendy's and a gas station. Next to it there is a 7 11. The first night we had a great night's sleep. On the 2nd night the hotel was packed and our upstairs neighbors were up early making tons of noise but it is to be expected at a hotel near the parks. Stayed with a pet and the fee is nominal compared to other hotels. The walking area for the pets barely has any grass. I had to cross to the other side close to the rooms. There is a breakfast buffet at Applebee's but I would recommend eating out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821-6228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort(R) Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World(R) Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World(R) area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World(R), Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, giant checkers and chess, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees(R) located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area's plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing