We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get ready to pay a "resort fee"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #105 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Binbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Get ready to pay a "resort fee"”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked this place on Hotels.com but were surprised when we were told we needed to pay an additional $20 "resort fee" on check-in. Not such a good deal after all.

The room was nice though nothing special.

Green Features: Didn't see anything out of the ordinary "environmentally."
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PilotFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear PilotFox:

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We do apologize that the Resort Fee was a surprise to you upon arrival at the hotel. We have done our best to make sure that it is disclosed to all of our guests when they book our hotel whether it is direct or through another online company along with all the amenities that it includes. It does display during the booking process but does so at different stages for each site, we will work with the company you booked through to ensure that it is visible.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know so that we can make sure to be able to ensure everyone is notified.

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    660
    257
    85
    59
See reviews for
947
309
52
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Providenciales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor i decided to take a chance and book this hotel and I was not disappointed. With a family of three young kids this property was one of the best in terms of pricing and amenities. Check-in was smooth and without a hitch, we opted for a kid suites that gave us an additional bunk bed and Tv which was good to keep the kids busy. The hotel itself is located in walking distance to Walgreens, Wendy's, Lonestar Steak house and there is a Applebees restaurant onsite that also offers free kids meal for kids 11 Years or younger and room delivery. There is also a car rental desk on site as well as an attractions booking counter. The best aspect of the hotel is all the amenities that it provides such as a pool, small movie theater for kids, playground and a small convenience store on site. My only complaint about the room is that the walls are very thin so expect to hear the occasional sounds from the next room or the sounds of running water, but not soo much as to be annoying. Loved our stay and definitely will be visiting again .

Room Tip: Get the Kids Suites offers more room and space.P
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lowell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Lowell3:

We are very glad to hear that you al enjoyed the kid suite during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know how everything went during your stay. It's really great that we didn't disappoint and made your choice worthwhile!
We do apologize that you had occasional unexpected noise from the nearby rooms and will be looking into why that may have happened.
Thank you again for you kind words, we look forward to seeing you again on your future trips to Orlando!

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent three nights at Holiday Inn resort to visit Disney parks. The staff at front desk was very kind but our room was very dirty. Also the shuttle service to the parks was poor. They had only two times that left the hotel to magic kingdom and one to epcot and there were not a direct shuttle to animal kingdom park.
We are a family with 2 kids and we slept in a deluxe king size room with a sofa bed very very unconfortable !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank antifrancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Atifrancy:

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience. Please let us apologize if you had any issues with your room not being cleaned to your expectations. We are always working on ensuring that every room gets cleaned to the highest levels of expectations but unfortunately sometimes we may miss this mark. Please let the Front Desk know if this should ever occur as soon as you can so that we can make efforts to get it corrected for you immediately. We are sorry that you experienced this and would love to be able to hear more as to when you stayed and what room you were in so that we ensure this is followed up on thoroughly. This will also let us look at the sofa bed and find out what it was that made it uncomfortable for you during your stay as well.
Thank you so much for letting us know the Front Desk was very kind and we hope to be able to follow up on your other issues soon.

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent 11 nights at Holiday Inn Resort, LBV from 2nd December 2013, to visit Disney and Universal/Seaworld etc. to see the Christmas lights and shows, and really wish we were still there. From the moment we arrived we had nothing but positive things to report about this hotel, and it`s staff, and the housekeeping. We consider ourselves to be well travelled and find it hard to believe the negative comments in some of the reviews!!

After a long flight from the UK, picking up the hire car and driving down to LBV we were met by a friendly face at door offering to help with our luggage and a lovely lady at Reception welcomed us at check in whizzed through the process in a couple of minutes, arming us with all the information we needed, including a car park pass and a map of how to get around. The hotel and grounds are compact and easy to navigate, and we liked the fact that only guests could access each block of rooms with a keycard.

Our room was on the 6th floor ( i had e mailed ahead to the hotel to ask for a high floor) it was quiet up there for the entire stay, very clean, and the room huge for us (2 adults and 1 teenager). The bath towels were fluffy and fresh, we had fresh soap and toiletries left daily and left a note for the maid to ask for more hangers, and they appeared the next day.

The room had a large flat screen tv. fridge, microwave and coffee maker with 2 filters (topped up every day), hairdryer in the bathroom, iron and board and a large safe.

Our floor had a laundry and drink and snack dispensor. The swimming pool was lovely and warm and clean and we used it most evenings as it stayed open untill 11 pm.There were plenty loungers around, and towels provided at pool side too. Inside the hotel was a shop, internet suite and ATM. Parking was free with our travel package and so was the resort fee, so no extras for us at checkout.

The hotel made a big effort with Christmas music and decorations, all adding to the excitement.
This is our 4th trip to Orlando to visit the parks, and although we hired a car and used it at night to shop and visit the restuarants, decided to give the Courtesy Park Shuttle Bus a whirl for about 7 days out of our stay. We had no problems at all, it was a great service and saved us a fortune in Theme Park Parking Fee`s, for the cost of a couple of dollars tip was a great bonus.

The hotel is really well situated for restaurants and shops. we used Publix to shop for drinks, beer and snacks, and stored in the fridge. There was an Applebees on site, which we didnt use on this occasion but came recommended by a few people we spoke to around the hotel, they also provided a pool side bar service too.

We walked accross to Santa Fe Cattle Co. and had a good meal there, there was so much on the doorstep including Premier Shopping it couldnt have been better situated.

We joined IHG Rewards scheme (free on line) before we left UK and got a complimentary late check out (1pm) was was great as we had a late flight home. We felt really sad to leave this lovely hotel, and only wish we had used it before. we will be back again and would have no problem recommending this for a well priced, clean, safe and happy enviroment to use as a base for a theme park trip.
A note to any drivers... the concierge (very nice guys too) gave us a tip about refuelling before heading back to the airport and said the (petrol) gas station accross the road at Wendys was much cheaper than the one next door. Thanks for the advice, it was.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BEERMONSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Beermonster:

Thank you for the fantastic review! We are always so happy to hear our guests tell us how great of a time they had and that everything worked out for them.
Thank you for letting people know how the room amenities worked out for you including the placemen on the high floor as requested. We are always happy to provide more hangers for those who need them. I am glad housekeeping kept your room up to par every day and we had room for your extra groceries as well!
Thank you for mentioning your experience with the shuttle and our valets we will be sure to pass on the compliments.
Once again I'd like to say thank you for taking the time to write your review and welcome you to IHG Rewards. The late checkout is just one of the many benefits you will be able to experience with IHG Hotels by being a member.

Best Regards,

Keith D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Unlike reviewer Aaron J's experience, our experience at the check-in was simply great. The rep at the check-in counter was really nice and the process took us less than 10 mins. Children under 12 eat FREE at Applebees which is connected with this resort hotel. We were offered a HUGE room with two queen size beds. The bathroom was a large size as well. We stayed in building "C" and everything was nice, our rooms were cleaned each day and I had nothing bad to add to the experience. Internet was FREE but slow but I can live with that. All in all we had a lot of fun, this place is just down the street from Downtown Disney and all the major restaurants.

Will stay again, as mentioned we had nothing to complain for.

Room Tip: There is a 7 eleven down the street, as well as Starbuck/Dunkin Donuts is closeby for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sfadiali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Sfadiali:

Thank you so much for the awesome review and even more for the endorsement! We love hearing about a great experience and it really does mean the world to us when you take you valuable time to write about your recent stay with us. We are so glad you found the rooms as spacious as we say and the Applebee's convenient with our Kid's Eat Free program.

Once again thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent experience and we look forward to being able to provide even better service to you and your family on your next visit to Orlando!

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

First off, the hotel is awesome. I got a deal for about $70 a night, and to me that was exceptional value given the hotel's quality and location. The room was great, clean, and luxurious relative to the price. No problems with service. The Concierge were friendly and hooked me up with some solid coupons / deals.

We were able to check-in very early, 11 am. Also, we were given a late checkout of 1pm because our flight was later, so we got to spend some extra time at the pool and in our room (instead of waiting more hours at the airport). Very awesome.

Applebee's is part of the hotel too, so nice and convenient for some quick breakfast before heading out to Disneyworld.

My ONLY gripe was the shuttle service. Unfortunately, the resort is not close enough to walk towards Disneyworld. So if you don't have a car and have to rely on the shuttle service, it can be a pain. They only had 7 times that left the hotel, and 8 arrival times. Not bad, except these are all to specific parks. For example, there were no direct shuttle times from our hotel to Hollywood Studios. We had to go to Epcot first, then take a Disney shuttle to Hollywood Studios. And returning back to the hotel was even more of a pain. We had to basically schedule our time in Disneyworld around the shuttles, which would at times be an inconvenience. Oh and the shuttles get very crowded sometimes. However, Holiday Inn was always the first stop for the shuttles. We were always picked up first and dropped off last. So we almost always able to sit down. People from other hotels that the shuttled stopped by, they had to stand and be cramped.

But if you have a car, no problem! And we started getting good at working around the shuttles, so it wasn't all that bad in the end. But you are forewarned!

All in all, a 5 star hotel for the price. Loved it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear J. B.:

We are very glad to hear that you had a great experience with the hotel and its staff! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know and we hope you were able to rest up for that later flight.

I apologize that you found the shuttle schedule a bit of a challenge to work with at first. We have tried to accommodate as many types of park schedules as we could but know that we cannot meet everyone's needs each time. Most of the shuttles for off property hotels do drop off at the Disney Ticket and Transportation Center where the guests are then able to take the Monorail, ferry or a bus to the park of their choice for the day. We thank you very much for your comments and will consider them as we move into the new year.

We look forward to seeing you again for your future stays in Orlando.

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and had a horrible experience. The staff is extremely rude including the managers. I had a reservation for Saturday night with a check out on Sunday. When I called to make the reservation, I ask if it was possible to have late check in since we were going to Disney first. I was told that I had late check in guarantee. When we arrived at the hotel around midnight, the manager on site told me she already gave my room up. I tried to show her the confirmation and was told it didn't mean anything and I should have checked in when I was suppose to check in. She was the nastiest person I have ever encountered. She shouldn't be working in any customer service job. I had recently saw on the All Ears newsletter that this hotel was giving discounts to it's members. I used the All Ears discount at the hotel. The discount was great, but the overall experience so horrible that I would have rather paid more money for a better experience. I originally had a King room with a sofa bed for my daughter. The manager then told me that I would have to pay for another room and a roll out bed. The manager thought my check in time was on Friday even though my confirmation stated it was for Friday. Even though there was a misunderstanding, she didn't need to be as rude as she was. She ruined the whole trip for everyone. Don't stay at this hotel. There are plenty other hotels that are close by and have nicer staff.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Aaron J:

Thank you so much for letting us know about your experience during your recent stay. I am very glad that Jose the Director of Guest Services was able to get in touch with you to talk to you personally about this situation. Please allow me to again apologize for the confusion at check in and I can assure you that it has been fully addressed and reviewed. We strive to always be able to maintain the highest levels of guest service and we didn't meet that during your check in . I am glad that the Manager on Duty at the time was able to offer something for you during your stay and wish they had let you know that the room you had did actually have a sofa bed in it. I can assure you that this has been addressed with all of our staff to ensure it is not repeated.

Thank you again for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay and I would like to thank you even more for taking the time to discuss it with Jose. We do hope to see you for any future visits to Orlando and would love to be able to show you that we can offer the outstanding service you would expect!

Best Regards,

Keith D.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821-6228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
#25 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort(R) Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World(R) Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World(R) area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World(R), Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, giant checkers and chess, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees(R) located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area's plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing