We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad even after reading horrible reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #105 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not bad even after reading horrible reviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

After reading horrible reviews, we stayed at this Holiday Inn for 3 days during a Disney and Universal Studios trip.

The bad:
Room wasn't ready for us but they did allow us to pre-register.
The A/C in the room didn't work and had to call maintenance twice and the problem still wasn't solved. (Fortunately it was cool for Florida which made the room bearable.
No breakfast or coffee bar (continental) which I found unusual for Holiday Inn or any hotel in our extensive travels.

The good:
The staff was incredibly nice!
We were allowed to use the shuttle even though we hadn't checked in yet. (The shuttle experience was bad though) We ended up driving and paying to park instead of standing on a bus going 80 mph on a busy I-4.
The rooms were clean and comfortable.
The service was great.

Overall: I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is located within walking distance of stores and restaurants. If you value your safety and your life, drive yourself to the parks and pay for the parking though. A bus operating at 3 times capacity above the speed limit on a busy highway was not worth saving 20 or 30 bucks.

Living in Florida and having annual passes to parks make it easy to take weekends or a couples of days off and hit the parks. We will use this hotel again for sure! The service, staff and cleanliness makes up for any obstacles.

Room Tip: The room has a microwave and a mini fridge. Run to one of the local stores and get some breakfast sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3secondfall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    650
    252
    85
    59
See reviews for
927
304
51
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel remodelled recently and vastly improved. New rooms, new lobby, totally redesigned exterior, and addition of Applebee;s Restaurant makes it an excellent destination. Stayed there msny times and very impressed with property. Good value, good location, and good service.

Room Tip: Choose poolside upper levels preferably with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank javazone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was a 4-day/3-night Disney trip for my birthday. Picked this property because it was nice enough and close enough for a nice Disney vacation with my girlfriend without having to pay the crazy Disney property prices. As far as the property itself, for what I paid I would give a rating of a 5/5 because it was clean, had a nice pool/jacuzzi, arcade, gift shop, fitness center, Applebees in the lobby open late with GREAT prices for what you'll usually find for a hotel, and it was within walking distance to 7 Eleven and Walgreens. 3 complaints: the shuttle service to Disney was worthless. It barely runs and when it does it leaves early or late and is very slow including several other stops. The first day it was very late picking up and returning home it left early and we missed it. We gave up on that - just take a taxi or pay the $14 (all parks included) per day parking. The wireless internet actually worked, except it was extremely slow. Finally, the main reason I didn't give a higher rating is the same as most negative responses - THE RESORT FEE. I know it can be common, especially near Disney, and I knew about it before booking. However, I will never give a 5/5 rating to any hotel that implements this bait-and-switch scam. If the $12.95+tax fee was for optional services then fine, but if it is mandatory it should be included in the price of the stay. With all of that being said, I would still consider this property for the value and distance to Disney. TIP: If you want to splurge for a full-blown "magical" Disney experience - go for a Disney resort. You feel like you're at Disney even before and after the parks, and they have constant free shuttles to all parks and Downtown Disney plus "extra magic hours" let's you in an hour early to 1 park each day. If you want something nice for a value but don't mind a bit of distance, South I-Drive (near SeaWorld) has the best prices for all of Orlando. I've payed under $100 for 4* hotels in that area at times. A little far for Disney but good for Universal and perfect for SeaWorld.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taylor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Taylor B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience over the shuttle service. Please be assured that all your comments are being reviewed and actions will be taken accordingly. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here as part of a group in March 2013. I really wasn't sure what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel is in a great area with many choices for restaurants, shopping, etc. all within walking distance of the hotel. There is a Walgreens across the street, open 24/7 which was a life saver, Chick-Fil-A, Starbucks, 7-11, and on the other side of the interstate there are more restaurants too. The hotel was centrally located - we were 1 exit from ESPN/WWSports and MGM, which were our destinations for this trip. We had 2Q beds, the room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Coffee maker -single cup, didn't care for that but convenient in a pinch, microwave oven, mini-fridge, and free wi-fi!!! Liked the hotel so much I have already rebooked for another trip in May.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgins F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our vacation in Orlando and stay at the Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista. Our room was very good; comfortable queen size beds, good air conditioning, lovely bathroom, good refrigerator. We appreciated the business center, shuttles and having a connected Applebee's is fantastic. The pool area looked fabulous (didn't use it as our vacation was all about excursions). It was very useful having a convenience store right in the hotel where we purchased water, beer, snacks and the little things we forgot to pack.The staff at the hotel and Applebee's appear to be well trained or just very pleasant people. Everyone was helpful, interested in us and always pleasant to talk to.

We did not care for the hard sell by one of the ladies working the desk that sells excursions tickets (don't believe she is hotel staff). She offered us "reduced rate" tickets that weren't that reduced if we were willing to go listen to a 90 minute presentation at another resort (timeshare). She was being deliberately vague and not answering direct questions.

Other reviews have mentioned the surprise daily service fee of $12.95, I too was surprised by this. I don't knock this hotel for this practice though as they are trying to stay competitive with the many, many hotels that are available in this area. The shuttles alone are worth this fee. I booked my trip through allegiant air and would have liked to have know about this charge at the time of booking but ultimately it wouldn't have changed our choice of a hotel.

If you are planning a vacation and choose this hotel you won't be disappointed, it is very affordable and they work at meeting their guests needs.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rollingdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swainsboro, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I booked the room through booking.com and seemed reasonably priced.WOW was I surprised - went from $230 for 2 nights to $330 upon check-out

The good - room was ok, bed slept good and very close to disney and outlets

The bad - upon check in I was given a room and when we went through the building maze to find it, SURPRISE there was someone already in the room! Had to call downstairs and they acted like I was the one who went to the wrong room. Wanted me to come back down to get the new keys but I had the bellman bring us the keys and went to room. Had an interior and they gave us an exterior with kids screaming up and down the halls right near the pool area. Also, they had free hi-spped internet but we could never get on it and the cell service in our room kept dropping calls.

Thankfully when I was checking out I explained this and they removed the resort fee. I will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenniferFIelds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ms. JenniferFIelds:

Please accept the hotel's apology for your stay not meeting the same high standards that we both expect. The Guest Service Manager has looked into what occured with your check in and they have made the proper procedural changes to prevent it from happeninging again. I am sorry that the price seemed to go up quite a bit but have found that the $230 quoted was for the room only and did not include the 12.5% Florida state taxes or the Resort fee. I am very happy to hear that they offered the courtesy of removing the resort fee for you.

Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Resort and taking the time to leave your comments, they are greatly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Keith Di Natale
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Me and my wife recently stayed at this resort for four nights. The room was great, very clean and spacious. I like that there is an Applebees onsite so this is very convenient if you come back tired from the parks or a long day out. I was impressed with the differnt amenities including the shuttle service to most parks. The customer service is great in this resort. This Holiday Inn definitely raises the bar for a Holiday Inn. The only issue that I found is that if you stay in a room next to one of the many exits, you will get the noise of he door opening and closing. There are many rooms though so try not to stay next to one of those exits. Other than that observation, I would recommend and may come back in the near future to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags389899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821-6228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort(R) Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World(R) Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World(R) area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World(R), Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, giant checkers and chess, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees(R) located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area's plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing