We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #87 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Nice hotel, great location close to all the attractions and dozens of restaurants. Good value. A resort only in the sense that there are fun things for the kids to do, which makes the $12 daily resort fee a little tough to justify. Dollar car rental and Applebee's on site are a nice convenience.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 1,883 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here jan 13-17. Hotel has been recently renovated but you can tell a lack of attention to detail. My room had black mold behind the bathroom door and around the baseboards in the bathroom. Bedding was clean, comfortable and of a good quality. Overall average but a decent value. Also be warned they charge a resort fee but lack the amenities of a resort that charges a fee. In miami you don't mind a resort fee for beach chairs and access, vegas you get a 5* pool and spa and newspaper and water. also everything in the gift shop is sold next door in the dollar tree. like the exact same item. go to the dollar tree and save yourself a ton of money. Basically its clean, no bugs, great location and rips you off where they can like anything else in Disney. Have fun but be smart

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BostonTravel923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Dear Harvardmike,

Please accept our apologies for lack of attention to detail that we should have had in your room and missed. I have sent and e-mail through Tripadvisor to you to get the room to number to be able to ensure that issue is properly followed up on and corrected. Once again thank you for your feedback, I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Keith J Di Natale
kdinatale@hiresortlbv.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in early January for 2 nights. The room was spacious and clean. Convenient location to the Disney area, with many shop and restaurants nearby. There is also a large outlet mall close by as well. Big hit for us was the pool area, including the outside bar area managed and run by the attached Applebees. I am not a big Applebee's fan, but this one is nice, good bar area. I was able to watch a game outside in the evening until they closed at which time i moved around to the inside. Nice stay overall.

Room Tip: We were on floor 3 facing parking lot. I would envision, floor one facing pool, could get loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beardown_pdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We decided to stay here because it was rated #1 of hotels in Disney area but I'm not sure why or how it was rated so high. The hotel is clean and decent for the price but it's definitely not a resort by any means. We stayed in building B and our first experience was of getting stuck in the elevator on our way to our room on the 4th floor. We pressed the emergency call button which out us through to the front desk and the guy seemed clueless. Good think the elevator door finally opened for us on another floor a few minutes later and we just walked up to our floor. The walls are very thin and yes you can hear everything going on in the hallway especially the housekeeping talking really loud and vacumming one floor above us. We didn't use the pool but it looked okay. Next time we go to Disney we will try another place.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank XOXO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith D, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Thank you for the feedback XOXO_12.
We apologize for the issue with the elevator and can assure you that there was an engineer on the way to assist you but we are very happy that you were able to get out before he arrived. The Elevator company did come out and correct the slight adjustment needed so that this problem will not reoccur. Thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Resort, LBV.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had a nice stay at this hotel, the service was good, the front desk and housekeeping all helpful. Our room was ready early and I asked and got a feather free room set up. The pool area is great and the hotel is close to downtown disney. The rooms were clean and fresh. I would have giving this five stars but the restaurant service ( which is an Applebees ) was very slow. I purchased my room with breakfast but had to pay an additional amount over the alloted $20.00 instead of it being a free breakfast as I expected.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveler1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went to the Orlando to help our daughter settle in as a Vacation Planner intern at Disney World. It was the hotel recommended by Disney for this occasion. We were very impressed with the hotel, the employees, service, and cleanliness. Employees were very helpful.

Unfortunately the Applebees attached to the hotel left quite a bit to be desired. Service was INCREDIBLY SLOW. It took over 20 minutes for the server just to bring us our drinks (water and soft drinks) after we ordered them. Then another 15 minutes to take our orders. Then another 35 minutes to bring out our food!!! If we hadn't been there with other families, we would have gone to McDonalds. Now, I realize the restaurant is not affiliated with Holiday Inn, but I thought it only fair to let you know our experience.

I wish Holiday Inn would get with the program like other chains and offer at least a continental breakfast. We went out every morning (no way we were going to that Applebees again!.

Other than that, everything was excellent, and I would still recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed at the HI Resort during the first week of January. We arrived around dinner time and were upgraded to a family suite for no charge, and also got free parking, simply by just asking and being polite, something many of the guests were lacking... We were given coupons for our kids to eat at Applebees for free anytime we wanted, and found the staff we dealt with to be very friendly. Our kidsuite was clean and located in the back building right near the fitness centre, which is great, and well equipped.

Applebees has a pretty good variety and we got pretty good service the few times we ate there. There are also a ton of restaurants around the hotel that you can walk or drive to. We drove to walmart and picked up juice and some breakfast things, and did breakfast in our room most days. If you do this, pick up plastic cutlery. They sell it in the shop by the lobby but it's ridiculously over priced. Also, the wine in the store is 4x as much as if you venture out and get it at a walmart or liquor store. There is a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room which was great for quick snacks.

The pool was big and heated great so we could swim, even on cooler days. There are 2 hot tubs, and we never had a problem getting pool towels. My only complaint is that the tiki bar was never open, and there is supposed to be a phone to call for drinks if you need them. The phone was no where to be found, and you can't enter the building to get your own drink from applebees without getting dressed. They also didn't honour any of the drink specials if you were taking drinks outside to the pool. I found that really dissapointing since I was on vacation, and a drink by the pool is kind of standard.

The resort fee is standard, anyone who travels can expect this. It covers free wifi, which is average, same as any hotel wifi, and even with the resort fee, the hotel is a pretty good price. There is a ticket booth also, where you can get all your park tickets, and you save a little bit of money if you bundle your tickets. Sea World is free for your entire family if you're in the military.

The room was spacious and clean and the kids had bunkbeds and their own TV. Room was clean, with the exception of one day. Our room was missed, so I called down and they came and cleaned it while we were at dinner. Walls are a little thin, but I've stayed in very few hotels where they aren't. You also have to remember that by staying near Disney, you're signing yourself up to be near tons of families, children and babies, so if you're here for business or romance, you might want to stay further from the property.

Disney food is horrid, and I would suggest to anyone who isn't used to giant portions of low quality food to pack lunches or plan to spend big money on the sit down restaurants in the park. The best bet is breakfast in the room and dinner off the Disney property, so you only have to suffer through one meal in the parks.

We didn't use the shuttles, we chose to rent a car and although parking at Disney is 14.00/day, it was completely worth it so we could leave the property and come back rather than being stuck on the schedule of the shuttle, which didn't run as often as some of the other reviews had said.

Overall the hotel was clean, spacious, and not overly loud. Again, remember where you are and plan to spend money, it's Disney and Walt isn't giving anyone a deal. Do your research and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanuckDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,314 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Best Western Lake Buena Vista - Disney Springs Resort Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821-6228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Orlando
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#103 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $104 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort(R) Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World(R) Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World(R) area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World(R), Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, giant checkers and chess, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees(R) located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area's plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing