We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gone Downhill Recently” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Ranked #105 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Palmyra, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill Recently”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

We have stayed at this particular hotel for over a dozen years, first as a couple and recently with our Grandson. Except for the last two years, we had always loved this hotel and recommended it to many friends. However, after our experiences the last two years, we can no longer recommend it. The theme and core purpose has changed drastically recently. It is no longer a family and kid friendly place, but has morphed into a business center. We no longer feel safe or comfortable there. We have encountered poor service and many changes to the property recently, none for the better. The focus now seems to be on making money by leasing out segments of the property to private companies, rather than the comfort, safety and enjoyment of the guests. There are no longer guards checking cars entering the parking lot, no more kids’ check-in area, nor an on-site restaurant for breakfast – the space has been converted to meeting rooms. Also, an Appleby’s Restaurant has been added which brings people on the property who are not hotel guests, some of whom are intoxicated. On our most recent visit, it took an exorbitantly long time to check in as the one clerk on duty was having an extended conversation with another guest; we were sent to wrong entrance which did not have access to our room; and the elevator at that entrance was stuck on another floor and not working. We had to carry our luggage up five floors. One day when we arrived back at the hotel late in the eyeing, there was no place to park on the entire side of the building as the lot was filled by large commercial busses and a boat/trailer. When we complained to the manager on duty, he showed no concern or compassion, and could offer no assistance. The main reason for the lack of parking spaces was the hotel recently sold a significant portion of the lot to a private company for valet parking (which was sparsely used) and another portion to a private rental car company. To make it worse, they have added daily “service fees.” During our visit two years ago, the electricity off for an entire day and it was very noisy while they were renovating. They were also doing fire alarm testing. We were not warned of this ongoing construction when we made our reservation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBird90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    637
    246
    85
    58
See reviews for
910
299
50
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed for a total of 12 nights, when we first checked in we were given a room that had no hot water and broken bathroom door, the hotel maintenance staff tried to rectify the faults with little success. Upon bringing it to the attention of the hotel manager Richard he immediately changed our room and upgraded us to a better suite.
The room was clean and tidy, the beds extremely comfortable and the air conditioning was flawless and quiet and after spending nearly 12 hours at theme parks on most days it was fantastic to be able to come back to this hotel for some rest.
The pool was also a great feature, nice and big.
If Disneyworld, seaworld etc is on your agenda don't hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiredaustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

This a really nice hotel. Rooms are clean and large, especially the rooms with a balcony, however, I would like to know when the manager of this establishment is going to stop his employees from lying to the guest. I arrived on October 22, 2011 and our room was not available, but we were given a key to use the pool. The water temperature of the pool was about 45 degrees F. We complained to the manager, and his staff assured us that the temperature would be turned higher, however that never happened. Another couple from Norway were here for a week before this and they still have week to go and they said they complained every day but to no avail. I called the front desk again on October 23, and was assured that the temperature would be raised and this was at about 11:00 am and it is now 11:35 pm and there is still no change in the pool temperature. It is so cold that not even children will go in. I think that Holiday Inn International should look at finding a new manager, one that will do what he says he is going to do, not just lie to the guests to keep them quiet. If you don't care about the pool, this is a great place to stay, but if you want to use the pool, stay away from this hotel and look for a hotel that will tell you the temperature of their pool.

It is an awfullly hard place to get in and out of if you are driving a car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed here over the weekend for a visit to Universal. We have a small pet, so our hotel choices are often limited. This hotel is a great value. The staff was very friendly, the room was clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable. The Applebee's on site offered free kids' meals, though the food was not great. My only other gripe would be that our "pool view" room offered a view of a concrete pillar and white fence. Still, given the little time we spent in our room, this did not really bother us. This hotel is also extremely kid friendly, with a small theater, arcade, and playground on site, not to mention a large pool, kiddie pool, and jacuzzi. As for location, the property is about five minutes away from Disney (depending on traffic, which can get quite heavy on SR 535) and just off of I-4. Getting to Universal took us about ten minutes in light traffic. Overall, a great deal for the price.

Room Tip: Corner units may not offer the view they advertise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

First of all the location - The hotel is situated just next to all the Walt Disney World parks and Downtown Disney is less than 5 minutes away (which means that it's about 15 to 20 minutes drive from the airport). There is even a shopping mall nearby and lotsofrestaurants. There is a free shuttle to the parks, but I'd still rent a car (I think a car is a must for anyone travellinginthis area with kids - you can come and go whenever you like). So the location is perfect, the hotel itself is renovated (and still has a clean and new feeling), clean, and the rooms have lots of space. There is a small butnicegym, and the pool is lovely. However, there are some little things missing - I was at the hotel before the renovations, and there was a small kitchenette like area while now there is only a fridge and a microwave. There is also enough room in the bathroom, but not enough places to hang your towels. But I know that I sound as if I'm just trying to find faults - so I'm not - the hotel, in all, is great.

Room Tip: Many rooms on the upper floors, facing the pool, have a nice little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGinat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

This is a very clean and friendly hotel however i felt my stay was dampened by totally unjustified valet parking costs. Be prepared to pay a cost of $16 a day valet or the wonderful option of paying $10 a day for self parking. This is unjustified to me due to the plentiful large parking lot on site, The valet literally walked 25 ft to get the car and drive it over. I have never had this kind of a silly charge at a Holiday Inn before. Oh yea Be prepared to pay $14.99 for the breakfast buffet in the lobby. Go around the corner to Sizzler for the same buffet or better at only $4.99. I am usually very generous and gentle in my reviews but i found these charges outragous. In todays market where family's already must pay extreme costs for disney tickets, transportation, fuel, etc, i find it disconcerting that Holiday Inn is charging these costs.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sk81460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

We found this hotel through Price Line and booked adjoining rooms from, October 15-17, 2011. Arrived early from out of town and were able to get right in. We were AMAZED at the size of the rooms, two queen sized beds with nice, clean linens, very comfortable beds and were immediately above the two jacuzzi tubs. At first we thought it might be noisy from all the kids in the tubs plus the pool usage, however, we were pleasantly surprised at the fact that my mother and I not only did NOT hear the kids below our second floor rooms but we were not even able to hear my daughter and her sister-in-law giggling next door nor their television playing, The rooms were large enough that a large couch or another queen sized bed would have fit comfortably in the same room. Nice feature. Amenities were very pleasant, large frig, microwave and coffee maker. They were not old units and the decor was tastefui and very clean.

All in all, we would definately return to this location in the future.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
Lake Buena Vista
BEST WESTERN Lake Buena Vista Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Radisson Hotel Orlando - Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista
Address: 13351 State Road 535, Orlando, FL 32821-6228
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Orlando
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#90 Business Hotel in Orlando
#104 Family Hotel in Orlando
#115 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 503
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you stay at the Holiday Inn Resort(R) Lake Buena Vista, you are so close to the entrance to Walt Disney World(R) Resort, you can almost feel the Magic! This official Disney Good Neighbor hotel is fresh from a multi-million dollar makeover, making it perfect for your visit to the Walt Disney World(R) area. Take advantage of scheduled shuttles to the Disney parks, Sea World(R), Universal Studios, Islands of Adventure, Orlando Premium Outlets shopping and the Orange County Convention Center! After a busy day, come back to spacious, generously-appointed accommodations. Choose King or Queen-size bedding with 37" HDTV televisions, high-speed Internet, refrigerator, microwave, granite top vanities and upgraded bath amenities. Families love our KidSuites, a room-within-a-room that lets kids enjoy their own space within their parents room. Relax at the expansive, tropically-landscaped outdoor sundeck with plenty of lounge chairs, oversize heated pool, Splash Pad and two whirlpool spas! There is plenty to do onsite including outdoor pool tables, giant checkers and chess, ping pong, fitness center and an arcade/game room. PLUS - a Daily Scheduled Activities and Movies program for kids and adults! Enjoy great dining at Applebees(R) located onsite, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Pinkys Market Place and Gift Shop is in the hotel lobby. Free high speed internet access helps you stay connected, and on-site meeting rooms are available for special events. Explore the Lake Buena Vista and Downtown Disney area's plentiful dining, shopping, nightly entertainment and picturesque setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Orlando-Lake Buena Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Resort Lake Buena Vista Hotel Orlando
Holiday Inn Orlando
Holiday Inn Sunspree Orlando
Orlando Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing