We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, need to improve food and housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
Ranked #138 of 337 Hotels in Orlando
FL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for kids, need to improve food and housekeeping”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Besides the Swan and Dolphin Hotel we had never stayed at any other Disney world property so we picked this hotel to take our nephew for the weekend. The service from the bellboys to the front desk is extremely friendly, although this is a Disney "budget" hotel, the atmosphere feels very Disney-like from the moment you walk into the lobby. As I had mentioned on a previous review, the new "my Disney experience app" and the magic bands used throughout the Disney world parks, stores and properties are a true game changer to the Disney experience. As soon as you check in, each guest is given a magic waterproof magnetic band that is directly linked to each person's name, reservation, credit card (if you wish to do it). With this band, you can make purchases that will be charged to the credit card linked to it, you can access parks (if you purchased passes of course), you can use it in the fast pass lanes (if you requested the fast passes in advance) and many other things. You can link your hotel reservations, dinner reservations, request fast passes, purchase park entrance tickets and many other things through the "my Disney experience app" and everything you do will be linked to your magic band (as long as you link the band to the app). The hotel has a well-stocked Disney store/concession store near the lobby where you can find anything from toys and souvenirs all the way to liquor, beer, snacks, sunblock and medicines. In the same building there is a food court with a few choices such as pizza, sandwiches, pastries, salads etc... There is also a nice arcade in the same building. The property is huge so there are quite a few parking lots and the staff directs you to the one closer to your building (the property is divided in several movie themed buildings Fantasia 2000, Toy Story, Mighty Ducks, Dalmatians etc). The pool is quite big too and they have a life guard on site at all times while the pool is open. Not sure if the schedule varies per season but we were there this past weekend and the pool closed at midnight. They play Disney movies each night at 9pm on a huge screen by the pool so while some members of your party are at the pool others can be watching a movie a few steps away. There is a full bar by the pool which is well appreciated by adults. Check out is at 11am but they let you stay on property for as long as you want and even have showers in case you want to freshen up before you head home. They can also take care of your luggage for you while you go out or enjoy the resort for a few more hours before leaving. The only reason why I didn't give it a five stars is the food, they close some of the eateries at the food court at 12 but others close earlier and the choices get reduced to below average "theme park" quality. Kids don't pay attention to things like this but adults do and when you are staying there for a few days and spent the entire day at the parks eating the same bad quality food, it would be nice to know that you can come back to your hotel to enjoy a slightly better meal. Another thing I didn't love was the cleaning of the room. One night the food court was quite crowded so we decided to use their pizza delivery service instead. The next day when we came back to the room the pizza box and the bag of trash was still in the room, another day, all the disposable cups we had used the night before were still seating on the table. These are things that need to be improved, they are little details but when you spent 12 hours at a theme park the last thing you want is to have to come back to a hotel room to clean up or pick up trash, after all you are on vacation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank SOBETraveler1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,121
    2,506
    1,203
    403
    223
See reviews for
4,240
841
82
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I have no complaints about this hotel - it's a bit basic, no frills for our tastes, but when all you want is a place to sleep and easy, free transportation to the parks, it does the job. Staff is very Disney - welcoming, helpful. Parking is a breeze. Common areas clean. The shower head is difficult to figure out (it's on a hose, so it moves) and the carpet is a bit worn in our room, but overall we had a nice stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My wife and I brought our son to Disney for his 2nd birthday and we stayed here. This was one of the cheaper Disney hotels we found, and we were very happy with it. The room was nice, and the bed was very comfortable, although we did not spend much time there. Since we stayed here the one night, we got the magic bands for the park, and the next morning we were able to go to the character breakfast at the Polynesian which was awesome. They let us have a late checkout, so we went back to the room after breakfast and changed and checked out. We then spent the whole day at the pool here which was really awesome and a whole lot of fun. If you are driving distance from Disney this is a great place to stay, we essentially turned a one day trip to the park into two full days of fun!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed at Disney All Stars Movies Resort for 5 nights, and we were very happy with the accommodation. The room was nice and clean, and the daily cleaning standard was excellent.

The room was basic (yet adequate as you're always out in the parks). It is the furthest hotel away from the parks, and at nights, we were the last drop off point for the buses.

Otherwise, the food was good, but the beer was rather pricey - $9 for a can of Stella. The turkey dinner is highly recommended - a delicious change from the constant flow of burgers and fries. The staff were also very knowledgeable about the dining plans, which was good, and the meals are also rather flexible, e.g. 2 snacks plus a drink equals a meal. We were on the quick service dining plan, which we thought provided a good amount of food for us.

The only major drawback was that there were many international schools also staying at the resort, which detracts from the quiteness, and also meant that the dining area was very noisy. Nonetheless, we stayed in the Mighty Ducks Buildings facing the car park, which - despite the longer walk to the reception - was still quite quiet.

Room Tip: Face the Car Parks and stay away from the main pools (Fantasia Block) for peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surinder D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend and her best friend for 4 nights. We enjoyed our stay in the 101 Dalmatians section. It was a nice room and the food in the cafeteria was good. They give you a
Disney mug when you check in and you can get all the soda, tea, and coffee that you want during your stay. There is a small arcade in the main building and 2 pools on the grounds. There are several different themed areas such as Mighty Ducks, Fantasia, and Toy Story. The free bus rides to and from the Disney parks made this stay even better. This hotel is geared towards families, but there is also a nice outdoor bar area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I went there with family. Hotel is clean and in good maintain. A true Disney environment with a lot of Disney characters. Pool is really good. 20 -25 minutes away by bus from Magic Kingdom, that could be the only downside. Staff friendly. Value for the money.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Granzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2014

I've been to Disney over 43 times (my first visit 1974). We've stayed in various Disney resorts (Polynesian, Contemporary, Shades of Green, Coronado Springs, Animal Kingdom, and All-Star Movies. The rooms are soooo tiny, the bathroom had black yuck in the caulking, the towels and wash clothes were cheaply made; one washcloth had a hole in the end of one :(. The maid didn't vacuum or leave cups when she cleaned the room, and there's no coffee pot. I wanted some HOT water to make instant coffee that I brought with me so I went to the cafe and was told that to get an "empty hot liquid cup," it would cost me $2.39, but they were happy to give me two regular cups so I could burn my hands with the hot water!!! NOT A HAPPY EXPERIENCE!!!

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel if you're expecting something better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PnRWilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
0.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.9 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's All-Star Movies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Property: Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
Address: 1901 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8412
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#114 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#127 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Disney's All-Star Movies Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself sharing the spotlight with some of your favorite Disney friends, as you headline your very own all-star adventure. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that salutes the legends of Disney films-from the dotted pups of 101 Dalmatians to the playful toys of Andy's Room- with whimsical, larger-than-life decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's All-Star Movies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movies Resort
All Star Hotel Disney
Disney All Star Hotel
Disney Movie Resort
All Star Movie Resort Disney World
Disney All Star Movies Resort
Disney All Star Resort Orlando Florida
Disneys All Star Movie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing