We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good for our Buzz obsessed son!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
Ranked #145 of 334 Hotels in Orlando
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good for our Buzz obsessed son!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

This was not my first choice of places to stay for our 2 year olds first trip to Disney, however he really wanted to "sleep with Buzz", so since it was his birthday present, we caved. We stayed in the Toy Story section in one of the back buildings on the top floor during the off season. The room was quiet, the room was clean and it worked for what we needed. We had a mini refrigerator which turned out to be a necessity for us (milk, juice, water). The hotel was very inexpensive (our meal plan cost more!). The only downside to this hotel is its location. It is the very last stop on the bus route. While we went in an off season and didn't experience much traffic, there was one day that the busses were full of rude, loud, obnoxious cheer leaders. They weren't American and were speaking their native language when another guest stood up and hollered at them to stop. (Must have been saying something rude). At that point things got uncomfortable bc two of the girls got mouthy with him. Whether they were speaking English or not, I don't want my son exposed to that type of behavior. That was the only downfall, and that was more with the busses, than the hotel. Just be aware that it is the last stop, so it could be cramped quarters if its during a busy season. Overall, the hotel was decent--nothing fancy, but it provided a safe, clean place to sleep each night.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,994
    2,376
    1,130
    386
    215
See reviews for
3,990
780
75
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our family of four (2 daughters 11 & 15) recently stayed at the All-Star Movie resort for 5 days and 4 nights in June- while it was far from 'resort' status it was exactly what we expected.

Pros:
The room was small yet adequate for the amount of time we spent there- which was only to sleep. We stayed in one of the Toy Story 'preferred rooms' facing the courtyard and had no issues with noise. We actually really liked the location of our room- close to the pool, laundry, playground, food court, lobby, and bus transportation.

Our room was clean, the frig was a good size, and our AC worked.The room additionally came with a hair dryer and iron/board.

Although we didn't receive maid service (our choice) they were always around in the am to get clean towels, etc from.

Cons:
Food court had mediocre food a bit on the expensive side-we ended up driving to a local Walmart for drinks, snacks, and breakfast food.

Laundry facility was usually crowded- most of the dryers were useless and the detergent machine was out of order for 3 days-eventually relented and purchased a small box of Tide from the gift shop for a whopping $5.30!

Bus transportation to the Disney parks was adequate and typically crowded but we had no problems with waiting- never waited more than 10 minutes for a ride.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again- after all- the true magic is at the parks- not necessarily at the hotels especially if you make the choice to stay at one of their value resorts.

One last note...Can't help but wonder why a majority of the people we observed at the 'happiest place on earth' always looked so miserable :(

Room Tip: Choose a preferred room at the Toy Story unit facing the courtyard- close to everything and relative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAV14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Neck, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited Disney from 6/14-6/17 for my granddaughters 4th birthday. Check in was a breeze, birthday girl was handed a pin and a balloon, and from that moment on everyone she saw said "Happy birthday princess!" Our preferred room in fantasia block was just fine for the two of us. My daughter, son in law and birthday princess were comfortable in their room as well. The AC unit worked great (it was 90 degrees outside), and our room was very clean. Refrigerator and safe in room. Our room was cleaned daily and we received clean towels. We were very happy with the food court. We had the deluxe dining plan, and some of the food was better at the all-star than at the character buffets we attended! We loved the pool. It was very clean and there were many lifeguards on duty. There was also many activities going on for the kids to join at the pool area. Shuttle service went smooth too. We were extremely satisfied with the Disney All-Star Movie resort and would definitely return again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

When it comes to Disney, I expect nothing but the best. When it comes to Disney parks and resorts, it is the same - but sadly I also expect them to be kind of expansive. The All-Star was the option that best fit what I wanted.
It is important to notice that this is the budget resort at Disney. The only option to pay less is the camping ground. Still, the values are not really low. One single bad point is that it is a bit far from the parks and will take some time to get to the Magic Kingdom. The great thing is that it offers all that someone needs for a good stay. It is clean, quiet, has all the basic services and some more. Of course it doesn't have, let's say, a spa or fitness room - but anyone can use the ones in other resorts. if you think that it is better to get a free transportation to another resort than pay more just to be close to one of these, All-Star resorts are the choice for you. I don't see a better value for what you pay in any other resort option at Disney World.
NOTE: All-Star Music, All-Star Movies and All-Star Sports are basically the same with a different theme. Prices and facilities do not vary. With the exception of possible employee-related problem, this review is my opinion for the three resorts.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diogo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eveleth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Very quiet resort with an excellent pool. The rooms were very quiet and the customer service was absolutely superb. Every employee at each of the areas of the hotel was very friendly. The room was a bit dirty upon check in, but we were allowed to get into our room upon our arrival around 10am. The check in time was much later than this, so that was an added bonus. Whether you pay for the preferred room or not, it still seems to be quite the trek to the main building. The pool was very large, clean and wasn't busy in the heart of the tourist season. Overall I wish the price was a bit lower due to this being a so called budget hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces an outside courtyard instead of near the pool. It was very quiet on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

I will start off by saying that our family had a very good time while saying at Disney's All Star Movies. It is a very nice hotel. Rooms where very clean then only thing that up set the kids was housekeeping only did one towel animal out of a seven night stay when they would walk by other rooms and see upwards of 5 animals displayed and they only got 1. We stayed in the ducks section witch was closer to All Star music for eating and getting on and off the buses as All Star Movies was the LAST stop out of all 3 All Star resorts ALL busses where full when they got there standing room only this made it very hard with a 15 month old baby and a stroller in hand I have many bruises from trying to hold on to the bars when the drivers love to hit the breaks ugh! With that said we will be renting a car next time we go to disney. Now on to the food court. It was ok and I mean just ok nothing to write home about but for a family of 6 on a budget with out a dinning plan it worked out great. I will get the dinning plan next time we go. The refillabul cups are great only complaint is breakfast time after breakfast we would have to walk all the way back to our rooms to drop them off as you can not use them at any of the parks and to tote around 5 mugs that are empty is crazy!

Room Tip: For a quite room away from the noise the duck section was great but a good walk to the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Pros:
Pools are nice, good food selection and on-site gift/snack store. In room refrigerator which is a must have. Great bus shuttles for all the parks and airport. Excellent Toy-Story characters the size of 2-stories which the kids loved and made for great pictures. I can't believe they had a 2-story Buzz Lightyear at our hotel, but didn't have one at Buzz ride in Magic Kingdom.

Cons:
Due to plane delays and inaccurate information from Rachel (at Disney) we didn't check-in until 1am since we were told specifically to go to Terminal B when we got there and we had luggage, two families and 4 kids asleep which created major delays since we ultimately found out that the Disney Magical Express buses only depart from Terminal A. Rooms are really bad quality for the money. When we arrived at 1am check-in clerk said the porters were all gone for the night, so we had to make 3 trips in the rain to retrieve all our baggage since our children were asleep at this time. We weren't even offered a baggage cart since they said they were all locked up. REALLY BAD SERVICE FOR A MAGICAL EXPERIENCE!!! :(

All in all Disney made up for our poor lodging and service. This resort could be excellent, but needs major updates to rooms, staff training and service attention.

Room Tip: Stay in Buzz or Woody buildings or around main pool. We didn't know, but the Mighty Duck area i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
0.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.9 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's All-Star Movies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Property: Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
Address: 1901 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8412
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#114 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#127 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's All-Star Movies Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself sharing the spotlight with some of your favorite Disney friends, as you headline your very own all-star adventure. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that salutes the legends of Disney films-from the dotted pups of 101 Dalmatians to the playful toys of Andy's Room- with whimsical, larger-than-life decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Disney's All-Star Movies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movies Resort
All Star Hotel Disney
Disney All Star Hotel
Disney Movie Resort
All Star Movie Resort Disney World
Disney All Star Movies Resort
Disney All Star Resort Orlando Florida
Disneys All Star Movie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing