We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right price, clean, nice place to sleep and relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
Ranked #139 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Toledo, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Right price, clean, nice place to sleep and relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed in the Mighty Ducks section the first week of March. Ground floor room. Hint: if you need two rooms for your family and want a door that opens between them, as for "connecting room" - we asked for "adjoining rooms" and received rooms next door to each other but without a shared door (we were able to correct this and get the connecting rooms). The Mighty Ducks section has a longer walk to the All-Star Movies Disney bus stop and main building with the food court, front desk, gift shop, main pool, etc. It was closer to walk to the Disney bus stop at the hotel next door, All-Star Music---so that's what we did. The Mighty Ducks section does have it's own pool, is right near the laundry room and was very quiet.

The rooms are basic, but clean, and provided everything we needed other than a microwave. Let's face it, who really goes to Disney to spend time in a hotel room? Small table and two chairs, refrigerator, TV, full-bathroom and 2 beds. "Mousekeeping" was very good, cleaned well and left lots of extra towels.

The grounds of the hotel are very cute with lots of Disney touches.

The food court - meh, just so-so. The most enjoyed items were the kids turkey sandwich and the adult chicken quesadilla. We ordered groceries and bottled water to be delivered to our room from an area grocery and had breakfast in our rooms each day (a time and money saver).

The price of the value resorts at Disney are great, but they come with a drawback - they are farther away from the resorts and require you to either use the Disney busses or drive a car to the parks and pay $14 for parking. We used the busses. The busses are clean, run often and have nice drivers. However, it takes a lot of time out of your schedule that could be spent in the parks.

Overall, we'll probably stay at this or another value resort for our next trip because staying on a Disney property has it's perks (like Extra Magic Hours).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsnojoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    2,194
    1,007
    356
    196
See reviews for
3,577
703
71
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (809)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i took our grandson here for a long weekend and boy,did he enjoy it! He was thrilled from the minutewe walked in and he saw the towels formed into a Mickey Mouse face,the stars on the rug,all the dalmation decorations ( there are 101 of them,you can count them) He is 6 years old and we left his mom at home so he could spend some quality time with his grandparents. We went to Magic Kingdom two days and Animal Kingdom one day and it eas well worth it.He loved the parades and all the rides! Our hotel rpom was very nice and very clean,my grandson said it eas the best hotel room he had ever stayed in,and we will dtay there again when we go back! Everything was so convenient and thr busses to various parks were always either waiting for you,or showed up soon after! What a great,great time,except for our grandson crying when we left because he hsd so much fun,until we promised him we would go again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank unionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
160 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We hadn't stayed at this hotel for several years. It still looks great and is kept very clean. We've stayed at several of the Disney property hotels over the years but chose to come back to this one. We all know Disney is expensive, this hotel however is on par with hotels off-property that we have stayed at. One of the advantages of staying on-property is the buses to the parks. We didn't have to wait too long, but even if you wait a little longer, it's still a time saver compared to having your own car, which is costly, then having to park and pay for parking at one of the parks, then take a tram or ferry to the front of the park. I'd rather wait in line for the bus as we've done it both ways and you get dropped off right near the front gate to the park. It really all depends on when you're at the hotel as far as how long the lines are in the food court. We never had to wait, however, if you go around Easter (the week on either side of it) it's going to be worse. We thought it would be more crowded this past week, but it wasn't too bad. I only have two small complaints: One, the constant talking of the employee at the main pool over the microphone is way too loud. They try to get the younger kids involved in games at the pool, but it's quite annoying how loud they are--we went to the quieter pool at the other end, the Mighty Ducks pool. We could still hear it, but not as bad. Two, when we stayed here years ago, we felt more of that Disney magic than you do today. We never got an animal made out of a towel, even with leaving a tip for housekeeping, they don't have the cute Mickey Mouse soaps any more either. They used to go above and beyond with the Disney stuff, but not so much anymore. With that said, I'd still say this is a great place to stay. Not as expensive as other Disney properties, cute areas that younger kids will love; like the Toy Story area and the huge dogs from 101 Dalmations. When we've stayed at places like Coronado Springs or Port Orleans, they are very nice properties, but they don't have any classic Disney décor. Would recommend this hotel. Nice store too, which saves you time as you can buy your Disney memorabilia right at the hotel.

Room Tip: Fantasia area is closest to large pool, nice location but will be loud. Toy Story and 101 Dalmation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelfromDuluth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My friend and I stayed here to get the "Disney experience" while in Orlando. The architecture of the resort was pretty cool. However, queues for breakfast were so long, by the time we got out breakfast and paid for it, it was cold. Waiting for a bus to the theme parks took forever. Spoken to very rudely by a female working at the concierge desk...staff certainly are not bright and bubbly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sartravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have stayed All-Star Movies on 3 seperate occasions, each on was fantastic. From the moment we arrived we were greated with smiles. Nothing was too much trouble. Check In was fast and efficient. Our room was neat functional and clean. From our viewpoint the room was only to sleep in, there is to much to do everywhere else. The pool was great, as was the poolside movies each night. The in house dining was great. I can't recommend more highly, if on a budget All Star Movies is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron000001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Okay, for starters this "hotel" wasn't that bad, it's just that I don't feel that the room should've been $120. First off, this is actually a motel not a hotel and the rooms are small and they are old. If you are an adult or teenager you will not have the best time here. All the tv channels are, of course, disney and the nearby food court is over priced. They do show movies at the pool, but they are un-entertaining, juvenile disney movies. If you want to blow $120 bucks on a lame and over-priced resort with nothing but dumb teenage disney stars on t.v., this resort is your place.

Room Tip: Just don't stay here altogether, waste of money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donnchakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days on our family Disney trip. Overall we had a great experience the room was clean and the staff was friendly. We enjoyed the use of the pool and the convenience of the onsite dinning. We were able to get extra pillows and a pack in play with ease. I also love that we were able to have pizza delivered to our room which was great when we came back with tired and cranky young ones from the park. The draw back for me was the double bed which can be difficult for two adults to sleep in. I also wish the dinning had some healthier options most food was pretty generic.Another draw back is transportation, I love having the Disney buses but if you stay for the firework shows it can take hours to get back to the hotel there does not seem to be enough buses to accommodate the amount of guests.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Toy Story area which was nice because it was close enough that we only had a short...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missbsbusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Orlando
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Orlando – Disney Springs Area
0.1 mi away
Disney's All-Star Music Resort
0.3 mi away
Disney's All-Star Sports Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Disney's Pop Century Resort
1.9 mi away
Disney's Art of Animation Resort
2.6 mi away
Disney's Caribbean Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's All-Star Movies Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's All-Star Movies Resort

Property: Disney's All-Star Movies Resort
Address: 1901 West Buena Vista Drive, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Top resorts Hotel in Orlando
#114 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#127 Family Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Disney's All-Star Movies Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1920
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine yourself sharing the spotlight with some of your favorite Disney friends, as you headline your very own all-star adventure. Stay at a Disney Resort hotel that salutes the legends of Disney films-from the dotted pups of 101 Dalmatians to the playful toys of Andy's Room- with whimsical, larger-than-life decor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, ETB and HotelsClick so you can book your Disney's All-Star Movies Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movie Resort
Disneys All Star Movies Resort
All Star Hotel Disney
Disney All Star Hotel
Disney Movie Resort
All Star Movie Resort Disney World
Disney All Star Movies Resort
Disney All Star Resort Orlando Florida
Disneys All Star Movie Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing