We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #18 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed here sept into oct for 2 weeks. Really lovely rooms, and as its a relatively new resort, everything was in excellent condition. We stayed in a 1 bedroom exec, the bed was like a super kingsize, and it was heavenly!! Bathroom was lovely and modern, as was the rest of the apt. Flat screen tv in living area, and a tv in the bedroom also. Free internet which was great (if you have a laptop..take it with you, so handy). All you will need is in the apt..washer/dryer, dishwasher, utensils, cooker, microwave, large fridge etc. Great having a balcony, as a lot of Orlando hotels do not have them..we could even see the disney fireworks in the distance from our 7th floor room. Maids in every day, but tended to only change the towels and make the bed. They told us they only change the bedlinen if you request it in advance! Not much happening downstairs..saw a little bar in the lobby, but it didn't seem to be open much (maybe as it was not peak season). Pool was great! Plenty of beds and never packed! My husband used the gym, which was small but adequate. He was disappointed though that they had no tv in there. We hired a car, but it was still within a 10 walk to I-Drive. All in all, we would definitely recommend this resort to anybody. Just remember that they charge a resort fee on departure, which is almost $10 per day. ;-)

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Idriveor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,072
    1,175
    306
    53
    40
See reviews for
1,911
1,691
99
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,069)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It gave our daughter independence and privacy. Also free wi-fi for her laptop to keep in touch with home! Close enough for her to walk to I Drive for shops. Close enough to walk to Wet n Wild. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Beds very comfy. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DB123Suffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Stayed 10/12 - 10/15 w/ my wife and 8-year-old son. The hotel was OK but it is no luxury resort; more like a Marriott Residence Inn. That's not bad, but the property isn't as advertised. The $9.95 daily "resort fee" is a rip-off. They have a nice pool, yes, but so does every decent hotel in Florida. The "fitness center" is four old machines in a tiny room. Mattress on sleeper sofa was thin and uncomfortable. Our son climbed into bed w/ us every night. Beware of shuttle claim: there's only 1 each day at 9 a.m. and the only return from Universal is 6:30 p.m. There aren't any sheer drapes on windows, only blackout curtains. This means it's pitch black or you're completely visible at night. The "bar" was open on 1 morning during a 4-day stay. Housekeeping was lacking. Had to call for towels 2 times and maid failed to wash our dishes 1 day. Business Center is a rip-off. $0.25/min. for Internet access. every hotel I frequent offers it free. That said, for $89 it was a good value. Tip: There's a Whole Foods nearby on Turkey Lake Rd. It has a buffet and excellent groceries. Good restaurants in the same plaza.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckielt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 16 nights in Sep/Oct. Checked in with no issues and found the staff friendly and helpful. Lobby is impressive, clean and bright. The room was superb, with tasteful, modern decor, useful items like washing powder and washing up liquid.
It was well equiped to cook with, but they have the worst pans we've ever used. Everything stuck to them even using loads of oil.

We had a good view of the pool area, everything worked well and was easy to use. The bed was incredibly comfortable, but the aircon was too noisy to have on over night. Lovely jacuzzi bath.

The pool area was perfect; quiet, plenty of towels, water not overly deep at any point.
Did not make use of food or drinks there, so cannot comment.

Location is good in some ways, as it is reasonably close to i-drive and the parks, but not too noisy. In hindsight we would stay nearer to the action, as the i-trolley is for the bus that runs alongside, not on, i-drive and it is every 30 minutes.

So lots of plus points, but a real negative was the room service. We noticed that all that was done in our room during the service was the provision of clean, dry towels and the bed being made. It was not cleaned at all. We found out after raising the issue that a new management company has recently taken over and they only clean the room the day that you arrive and the day that you leave! As we were there for 16 days we found this completely unacceptable and after much insistance it was cleaned once.
Room service have until 4:30 to do the rooms. When you have spent all day walking around a park (in the heat) and get back at 3pm you might fancy a shower (no dry towels) or a nap (unmade bed). It's not so much that as knowing that if you do have a nap the maid will be along to wake you to make the bed and change the towels. We'd never stayed anywhere that didn't make it a policy to have rooms done by midday. We were told that they only had 1 maid for the whole place. Not very good for a hotel that is 5 star in every other respect. We eventually got tired of calling down to ask for things that were not replenished - toilet roll, bath mat, water, washing powder. We also got back to our room 3 times to find it not serviced at all. On holiday you don't want to spend time complaining, so we left it till the last day and queried the resort fee and it was waived immediately to their credit.

Word of warning do not get them to call you a taxi. The first time our taxi did not turn up and as there was only one person serving on reception (a regular theme) with about 4 people waiting. Second time the taxi cost us twice as much as one directly from Universal through Mears. Noticed the receptionist was 'taken care of' by the taxi driver, but we felt taken advantage of.

The shuttle service we only used once (fancied a break from driving to have a drink) and vowed never again. It was 15 minutes late, the seatbelts didn't work and we were lucky to get there alive! The journey on the way back which would have taken 15 minutes in the car, took 1.5 hours. I know that the hotel cannot help some of those points, but safety should be something of importance to their guests.

I would recommend it based upon the quality of the room, the staff were friendly and helpful (I blame the new management company for housekeeping issues), but I still find it incredibly strange to stay at such a nice hotel and not have the rooms cleaned. We would not stay there again because we would prefer a location nearer to i-drive and with more reliable room service.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LizandDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Point Orlando. Staff was friendly, rooms were clean. the pool area was spotless. Very nice to have a full kitchen and washer and dryer. We traveled with a baby and they provided us with a pack and play for him to sleep. We will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimeye2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We made our reservation after reading the excellent reviews on TA.
The good points: the hotel is located near the theme parks.
The bad points: location near the theme parks means you are in the middle of nowhere, or better, in the epicentre of hundreds of junk food providers.
At check-in the receptionist first gave us hotel key cards which did not suit the allotted room and, worse, after all the trouble going up and down the elevator and to and fro the reception, we realized that we had received access to more than the allocated hotel room (!), i.e. we had access to the room of our neighbours as well. Furthermore, our room had already been occupied by other guests! One of the guests told us that he had arrived the same day and the same thing had happened to him as well.
Avoid the breakfast in the hotel, it is poor by European standards.
The remote control had one battery missing. We left it there for the housekeeping woman but she ignored it and did not replace the battery.
Next annoyance: We wanted to print out tickets for the KSC using the printer in the “business centre”. After purchasing a card for the computer and the printer (which by the way had run out of paper) I realized that the computer did not have Adobe Reader installed! Hence I had to download Adobe to print out the tickets using up several more dollars of my account. I informed the receptionist that you cannot call something a business centre with important software not installed on the computer. I was told that the “business centre” was run by another company and that I could contact them if I liked. No intention on his side to give me some discount to compensate for these mishaps.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlowdragAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2009

Myself and my partner and 2 friends stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks, we booked a 2 bedroom suite for the 4 of us as we got a great deal. When you enter into the hotel room there is two doors, one which is the standard room (King size bed, Tv, Microwave, Kettle and en suite bathrrom). The other room , what can I say AMAZING!! Seperate living area and kitchen to bedroom, everything you need in here ( Washing machine, dryer, microwave, cooker, dishwasher ). Bathroom was brilliant with a big jacuzzi bath.
Rooms were cleaned every single day with fresh towels etc the cleaners did a great job.

The hotel itself was in a great location within walking distance to Wet N Wild , about 10 mins from Universal. I trolley stops right outside to bring you around International Drive.
Swimming pool was lovely , lots of beds available so no racing at 7am to get the beds .

All in all a BRILLIANT stay at the hotel.
Just one thing to beware, make sure you are aware of the daily tax you have to pay in Orlando we only found out about this when we were going home.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishtourist2009xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Floridays Resort
#19 of 338 in Orlando
7,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 338 in Orlando
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing