We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third stay at the Point”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Suites
Ranked #20 of 341 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our third stay at the Point. We have stayed there as a couple and with family and friends (all adults) to visit the parks and family. The beds are extremely comfortable and the one bedroom grand suite is worth the extra $ if you're staying longer than a couple days. We were able to wash our clothes, dishes, etc. Felt like home away from home, but on vacation! The salt water pool is lovely and the cabana bar has good food. I used the gym this year because we had a rainy day and I was very happy with the equipment and cleanliness. It's a 5 minute drive to Universal which is wonderful so we can go to the parks all day, return to the hotel for relaxing pool time and head back to City Walk for dinner and clubs. We plan to go back later in the year or early next year to visit Diagon Alley. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I don't think we will stay anywhere else when visiting Orlando

Room Tip: If staying for more than a few days try to book the one bedroom grand suite. It has a full kitchen a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kickit25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for noting that our suites offered the “home like” feel as we do strive to make sure our guests feel at home with us at The Point! It is rewarding to know that your third stay continues to be as great as your other visits. We are glad that you were able to relax and unwind by our lovely pool after a long day of activities. We appreciate your comments in regards to the delicious food served by the Cabana Bar & Grill. We are happy that you will come back to visit the Harry Potter’s Diagon Alley. Here at The Point, we are excited about this new attraction as well. We can’t thank you enough for making us your top choice of accommodations in Orlando. We are already looking forward to your next adventure to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,854)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,980 - 1,986 of 4,854 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

My church group stayed at The Pointe Orlando and we had an awesome experience from the time that we booked our group reservations all the way through checkout. The front desk customer service was amazing! The rooms were just right for each family. I am real particular about the cleanliness of hotel rooms, and The Pointe Orlando met my expectations. We will stay there again on our next visit to Orlando.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank myrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

It is wonderful to hear that you had an awesome experience at our resort! Thank you for complimenting our Front Office team for the amazing guest service you experienced. We are happy that we were able to meet your expectations. It is fulfilling to learn that you will stay with us again and we can’t wait to see you for your next visit to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed at the point orlando for 4 days. Wife, myself and 3 kids. I booked a 1bedroom suite. Overall, pretty nice stay. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
- Nice layout and room size.
- Bathrooms equal in size to an apartment, including full size jet tub and shower
- Nice, full kitchen
- Great location

Cons:
- We used the pullout sofa. It was filthy and old. I had to have the padding of the sofa bed replaced because its was ripped and very dirty. Sofa's desperately need to be replaced. Oily and dirty.
- Was raining pretty bad. Front desk allowed people to park in the overhang area for checkin and leave vehicles there. This blocked new guests or offloading guests from being able to unload in front of the main entrance. Management needs to put up a sign to make sure guests understand they need to unload in the covered area then move their vehicles so that other guests can have the same convenience. Nothing like being stuck in a florida summer rain storm and not being able to offload your family at the main entrance.
- You have a pay 11 or 12 dollars a day, per person for the breakfast buffet. When on business travel and staying at a lower end hotel like holiday inn express, I get the exact same food complimentary. Should make the breakfast buffet complimentary for guest.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ktp098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with the TripAdvisor community. We are glad that you enjoyed the spaciousness and fully-equipped kitchens in our one-bedroom suites. We sincerely apologize for the situation you described in regards to the sofa bed. Please know that your description of the sofa bed does not reflect our usual standards. We truly care about your feedback and we have shared your concern with our Housekeeping team. We also appreciate your comments in regards to the front entrance and breakfast buffet. Here at The Point, we are committed to providing our guests with the best experience possible and we would like you to know that we have shared your feedback with our management team. Nevertheless, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will choose our resort again for your next trip to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Point returning home June 28th. We really enjoyed our stay and found the hotel clean and comfortable, all the staff are friendly, special mention to Justin, who was always happy smiling and willing to help. Shuttle service brill. Thanks xx

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Adele N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are pleased that you enjoyed the friendly and helpful service that we are known to provide. Thank you for your review and for recommending our resort. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed at The Point with a party of guests from out of town for my daughters wedding which was held in Orlando. This was a perfect choice - easy location, good price, very comfortable rooms with luxurious bedding ( sofa sleepers nothing to rave about..... sofa sleepers are good for extra guests but never for comfort) All staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, the breakfast was very reasonably priced.... the coffee REALLY good. Everyone was happy and comfortable at this hotel. Great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneC83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Jane, thank you for making us a part of your daughter’s wedding celebration in Orlando! It is wonderful to know that our luxurious suites were perfect for your needs. It means a lot to us that you were pleased with your decision to stay with us. We are glad that our excellent guest service and great value contributed to a happy and comfortable stay. Thank you once again for your kind words and we hope to see you again when you return to the Orlando area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our second time we stayed at The Point Orlando Resort and we will definitely be back. We were upgraded to a suite, which is where we stayed last time, and the rooms are great. We walked to Universal Studios and there are lots of great places to shop and eat, all within walking distance of the hotel. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haping L, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Vicki, we really appreciate your high recommendations! We are delighted that your second stay was as pleasant as your first visit. We hope that you had a great time at the Universal Studios theme parks as well. We look forward to welcoming you back for your third stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Super friendly people all over the resort, and not in that "fake nice" way you often get from a hotel chain. They were sincerely interested in your well being and enjoyment of the area. Check in was a breeze and Fabio was most excellent (after a harrowing flight!)

The rooms were very clean (1-bedroom suite) and the kitchenette was much appreciated by us during our 5-night stay. Loved the jacuzzi tub after long days in the park! The balcony over the pool was very nice too, with a nice view at sunset.

The location couldn't be better for enjoying Universal Studios and Islands of Adventures. You are literally a mile and a half away. I believe the only way to be closer is to stay in a park hotel. Sea World is also just a few blocks away and Wet & Wild is on the same block. International Drive is one block over with lots of options for restaurants, and there's an outlet mall on International Drive pretty close too if you like shopping.

For groceries and incidentals, if you drive south down Universal to Sand Lake Road, and then cross under I-4, you'll find a Wal-mart and Publix within a few miles of the hotel. Really easy to hop on I-4 to get to Disney.

Our biggest complaint (and it's a rather unfortunate one since we chose this property largely on the pool area), is that this is advertised as a non-smoking property but smoking is allowed all around the pool. I have asthma and was traveling with my daughter, and neither of us should be breathing cigarette smoke at any time. The smoking was not an occasional whiff. It was constant and thick. There were overflowing ashtrays filled with butts, and butts around the pool and hot tub on the ground. There IS an area adjacent to the little bar/grille where there are deck chairs some distance from the pool. Perhaps that would be a better "smoking area", although if you allow smoking on the property I believe you should clearly advertise that, not claim to be "non-smoking". We were unable to use the pool for more than a few minutes each time we tried because we were inevitably "smoked out" by groups of chain smokers. I felt sorry for the small children at the shallow entry area because there were ALWAYS heavy smokers positioned right there too. Usually these people weren't even using the pool itself, just smoking.

Ruined that part of our experience, because we wanted to enjoy the pool in the afternoon and visit the parks in the evening after the crowds have died down and the weather cooled a little. We ended up changing our plans because we couldn't be cooped up in our rooms all day waiting and we attempted to use the pool and were chased off each time.

Be aware this hotel does charge a daily resort fee (pool towels that I was unable to use and parking) of about $12. There is no daily housekeeping service. They replenish towels, make the bed, and empty the trash only. They are also very hard to "time". They were at our room right around dinner time a few different days trying to make the bed and swap out towels. Very unusual!

All in all I enjoyed The Point for the room quality, friendiliness of staff, and convenience to Universal, but the pool was a huge disappointment and will prevent me from returning. Unfortunately unless this policy changes, I won't be back. I prefer to use ALL of the facilities I paid for and I was unable to make use of a major draw for this hotel. I feel more than a little cheated.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Angie, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed our in-suite amenities along with the nice view of the sunset from your suite. Our team was also honored to receive your comments on the friendly service. We believe that your comments will be very helpful to other guests as they plan their travel, so thank you for sharing your thoughts and suggestions. We hope that you can accept our deepest apologies in regards to the disturbance you experienced by the pool. We would like you to know that your comments are extremely important to us. We do understand your concern and are currently looking at ways to address this opportunity. Nonetheless, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to serving you and your family for your next vacation to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 341 in Orlando
3,310 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Floridays Resort
#18 of 341 in Orlando
8,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Suites

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#13 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $110 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing