We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible staff, good value, watch for hidden costs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Suites
Ranked #20 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were astounded at the beauty of this property from the beginning. The grounds and facilities are top-notch; clean and modern. The rooms are big and accommodating, and the bed was heavenly. The full kitchen, whirlpool tub and separate shower were all nice touches. We were blown away by the staff. We were treated like family from the first moment and they had a knack for anticipating our questions. One warning - if you have not rented a vehicle, you may have a difficult time getting around. It is about a 15 minute walk to get to the "main drag", and the hotel does not have its own airport shuttle. Taxis are affordable and abundant in the area, but count on 10-20 per ride. There are resort amenities available, like a really good breakfast buffet, but expect to pay 12.00 extra per person. (Less for kids)

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, with a pool view - best room in the place maybe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the facilities and found them to be so clean and accommodating. Thank you for commenting on the exceptional service that experienced from the very beginning of your stay. We do apologize if you were expecting the breakfast buffet to be included in your room rate. This is only included for those that purchase the "Bed and Breakfast" package. As you mention, it is an additional cost. We are glad to know that you did enjoy the breakfast though. Thank you again for your review, we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,170 - 2,176 of 4,804 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2014

Stayed once again at the Pointe in February and was very pleased. Close to everything but a little off the beaten track. Quiet and comfortable.This year they tidied the room every day. Was nice to have garbage picked up. We will be back!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Cathy, it is so wonderful that you decided to stay with us yet again. We are pleased that you had a nice time staying with us. You are absolutely right that we are tucked away just enough that our guests find themselves immersed in a quiet and tranquil environment. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Visited Disney World for the first time and opted to staff off campus. Glad we did. The Point offered exceptional rooms - spacious bedroom suite, sitting room and fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher and full size refrigerator. We picked up a few groceries and had nice inexpensive breakfasts in the room (though you could opt for a more expensive and somewhat limited breakfast buffet in the lobby). Even had a clothes washer & dryer in the room. Large bathroom included shower and Jacuzzi. Room included a nice outdoor balcony overlooking the pool area. After a long day at Disney it was nice to escape back to the real world in the evening. We rented a car at the airport. It was an easy 15 minute commute to the Disney resort and park areas. The service at the front desk was helpful and friendly. Room was impeccably clean. Room services were excellent. We've stayed a lot of hotels and this one was undoubtedly one of the best values we have ever experienced. Only one small nit, the parking area was limited so we had to hunt for a spot if we came back later in the evening. Overall an exceptional value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TASKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for the kind words! We are so pleased that you decided to write a review on your stay with us. Thank you for commenting on your spacious one-bedroom suite that includes a full kitchen and washer/dryer. We are glad that our location worked out perfectly as a tranquil retreat from your Disney vacation. It is excellent to learn that you had an exceptional stay, we hope to welcome you back again when you return to the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at The Point Orlando Resort for five nights at the end of August 2013. I chose the hotel since it was incredibly affordable and located so close to Universal Studios. I didn't want to break the bank staying at a hotel on Universal property since that would mean no money left to have fun.

Check in went smoothly and our room was ready right away, we also discussed a later checkpoint since our flight wasn't until the evening of our last day. We were allowed to stay an extra hour which is better than nothing. We asked for a room on a higher floor and view of the floor which is exactly what we got.

The room was clean however it could have used a few repairs as the were markings on the closet doors and the drain in the shower would get backed up if you took a long shower. Housekeeping did a nice job tidying up however most days they did not get to our room until dinner time. One day we arrived back at the hotel at 3 pm and our room hadn't been touched. Not a big deal as we had plans for dinner and when we came back the room was finished. This may be a problem for families with younger children wanting to rest after a day at the parks.

One day we did use the complimentary shuttle to take us to Universal. You have to sign up the night before and I think there are only two times that it drops you off and will pick you up. We chose the time that dropped you off right as the park was opening and we took a cab back which was only $5... great deal compared to parking at the park for $18!

My one and only complaint would be the bartender out by the pool. She was very slow and ignored many of the customers. One woman was saying how it took an hr and a half to get their food and the bartender didn't even bring out the correct order. My boyfriend waited for ten minutes to get a drink even though there were only a few people at the bar, she seemed more interested in chatting than serving hotel guests.

I've seen other reviews where guests have note been able to find a parking spot. We didn't have any trouble since we went towards the end of the summer but I could see this being an issue during peak vacation weeks.

Overall, I would recommend The Point Orlando for anyone wanting to stay at a nice hotel on a budget... It was definitely one of my favorite vacations and I would consider staying again!

Room Tip: Choose a hotel on a higher level and viewing the pool... I think rooms on the other side of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 922kaitlinw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Kaitlin, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review! It is excellent to hear that you had a great check-in experience and you enjoyed the suite that you were given. Thank you for also mentioning that you used our shuttle service. We sincerely apologize for the service you described at our poolside bar. These are absolutely not the service standards that we have in place. Since your experience was last summer, we are confident that this would not occur again if you decided to stay with us in the future. We hope that you will consider our resort when you find yourself returning to Orlando. Please contact us directly if we can assist you in any way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We just left this resort a day ago and everything was fairly average. The only thing that was unpleasant during our stay was our sheets weren't changed during house keeping and it seems as my son may have bed bug bites on his feet and legs. We understand that bed bugs are common in hotels but perhaps if they changed their sheets during individuals stay it would eliminate the amount of dead skin that is accumulated to actually create bed bugs. The hotel manager did call me to discuss the matter but it was just to let me know they didn't find any bed bugs (which is virtually impossible to see) and to let me know maybe my son had mosquito bites, which was funny because it was almost 50 degrees at night there was not a single mosquito. I truly understand the severity of bed bugs in a hotel and they should take better precautions to prevent it. I wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014
14  Thank JaxsMom17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Hello Jax's Mom17,

Thank you for choosing to be our guest and share your recent experience. We are truly sorry that you were not satisfied with your experience and the refresh housekeeping services our team provides. We do hope that your son is feeling better and want to let you know that when we were alerted after you had departed we immediately checked the room and no evidence of any type of pest including bed bugs were found in your room. We do hope you reconsider your decision of not returning and when your plans bring you back to our area, please contact me directly as I will make sure that everything is perfect for your arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I booked this on- line as a result of one of Trip Advisors recommendations. It is well taken care of and had a nice small bar and restaurant on site. I booked a room with a kitchenette. There was a small snafu with the accommodation but the staff took care of it very well and we were happy. I would recommend this hotel as it was just under a mile to Universal Studios.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mainewoman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you decided to stay with us based on the recommendation of other travelers. We appreciate you mentioning the great service that you received and also that you enjoyed the poolside Cabana Bar & Grille. Thanks for the recommendation, we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a great hotel. First vacation with the kids, visiting WDW and the Point was Awesome! Great location. Short drive to the WDW parks. Nearby restaurants Olive Garden, Pei Wei & Chick-fil-A was convenient and Walmart was close by too. We had a 1 bedroom suite which was like a 1 bedroom apartment. Kitchen was handy and so glad to have a washer/dryer in the room. We did use it. Super-friendly staff. The bathroom was big and extremely clean. A little apprehensive about not staying on the WDW parks but this place was so great we would definitely stay here again, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimo36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are so honored that you chose to stay with us for your first vacation as a family. Thank you for mentioning how convenient our location is as well as all of the great features of the one-bedroom suite. We are thrilled that you would stay with us again! We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Floridays Resort
#21 of 340 in Orlando
8,253 reviews
Caribe Royale Orlando
#86 of 340 in Orlando
3,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Suites

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $112 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing