We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Suites
Ranked #19 of 342 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at The Point over the Christmas holiday while enjoying Disney. Our experience was stellar! The front desk staff was amazing in making sure that we had excellent directions to Disney as well as the closest Walgreens when we needed medication. At the last minute we asked to extend our reservation for one night and the staff worked their magic to make it happen. Our deluxe family suite was nicer than any we saw on the Disney property and the drive to the parks was easy. A shuttle is also offered to various tourist destinations. If we ever travel to Orlando again, this will absolutely be our first choice!!

Room Tip: If you have a large family, reserve the deluxe family suite! We have five children and we were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kara s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Kara, it was a pleasure to serve you during your time in Orlando. Thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience on TripAdvisor. It is great to know that you received great service and that you enjoyed your suite. We are honored to be your first choice in Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,322 - 2,328 of 4,856 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights just before Christmas and would definitley return, We have stayed around I Drive over a dozen times in various levels of hotel and this one is in a wonderfully quite and easily accessable location which is key over the busy holiday season.
Wet and Wild was walkable and Universal was less than 5 mins drive away.

Check in was simple and the staff always helpful, the room was large and well equipped with very comfy beds and all areas where pretty clean.
The kitchinette (Microwave, fridge, sink and crockery) was an unexpected bonus to us and we missed the ability to breakfast in the room when we moved on to another hotel.

There were a couple of minor niggles, the shower was pretty rubbish (worse than most US ones which aren't great to start with) and you should be aware of the hotel 'concept'

They seem to be trying to run it as some form of efficiency, efficient for them, expensive for you if you want a full hotel service.

On top of our quoted price we had to pay a 'resort fee' which seemed to cover parking and wi-fi (stated as free on their website) which is becomming pretty common practice in the US but us tantamount to a hidden fee or tax, we then found that the rooms are not cleaned daily - they make the bed and hang/replace towels but there is no cleaning/vacuming, sheet changes, kitchenette cleaning performed - if you want that doing you pay extra each time.
It's not the worst idea in the world but it should be made clearer as it's website states it as a 'full service boutique hotel' which it is not.

I would go back but it's important to know what you are getting for your money so you can accuratley compare it to other hotels once you add in the cost of parking and full room cleaning.

Room Tip: It's not a hotel for the view - we looked out over Universal and Wet and Wild which was fine. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allplayandnowork73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. It is wonderful to know that you had a great experience and would be happy to stay with us again. Thank you for mentioning the wonderful service you received from our staff as well as how well-equipped you found the suite to be. Please accept our apologies that you were not made aware of our housekeeping policy when booking. This is stated on our website and is communicated at check-in. Our hotel service fee includes self-parking, local phone calls, in-room starter kit, and schedule shuttle transportation to the theme parks. This is also outlined on our website, but we will look in to ways to make it more clear to our guests so that this does not occur in the future. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again when you find yourself visiting the Orlando area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The clean, spacious suite with a kitchen is great for family travel. A Whole Foods supermarket is close (by car on Sand Lake Rd) to stock up for meals. Attractive pool area, but cabana food can be skipped. Kaitlyn at the front desk provided superb and friendly service. We didn't use the washer and dryer, but it was nice to have in the room in case. Hotel provides free shuttle service to and from several theme parks. All for a great room rate, but be prepared for an extra resort fee. We would definitely be repeat customers.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fjb726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us! It was a pleasure to serve you during your time with us. We love hearing about how much you enjoyed the suite as well as the amenities like our pool area and theme park shuttle. We apologize that you didn't enjoy the food at our Cabana Bar & Grille as much as we would have liked. This is unusual and we will be contacting you privately to learn more information. We appreciate your feedback and are so glad to know that you enjoyed your experience. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights over the Xmas holidays. The suite was very spacious with its own full kitchen and laundry. Very pleasantly relaxed and quite. A big difference from the crowds at the Disney resort hotels. We had the breakfast package which was very convenient in not having to go out every morning or even making our own. The only comment is that the breakfast buffet was lacking in choice especially if you were paying for it at $11. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay very much and highly recommend to others.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank smokeyjoeTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

We appreciate you providing feedback on your stay with us. It is wonderful to know how much you enjoyed your suite and the tranquil atmosphere that The Point Orlando Resort provides. Thank you for the high recommendation, we hope that you will stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This hotel is excellent! Good location right next to the Universal parks, to International drive and easy access to the malls! Has the whole infrastructure of a flat with first class kitchen appliances. The space in bedroom and living room is great, pool area is wonderful, and breakfast is good! Their housejeeping could include a complete cleaning session when staying more than five days. Definitely recommendable!

Room Tip: A room facing the pool is always nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatriciaTavares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Patricia, thanks for the great review! We love when our guests feel right at home when they visit us, and it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed all of the amenities inside of your suite. It's also great to hear how much you enjoyed the breakfast served at our barista each morning. We apologize that you found the housekeeping policy to be inconvenient. Guest staying for 7 nights or more receive a full cleaning. Otherwise, guests may request to have a full cleaning for a small fee. We appreciate your feedback and recommendation. It is our hope that you will choose The Point Orlando Resort again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We booked interconnecting suites for our family of 5. We were able to have groceries delivered to our room in advance from Orlando Grocery Express which was brilliant because we arrived directly from Australia and were starving! The hotel was within walking distance of Universal theme parks, but we made use of the free shuttle. When I realised I'd forgotten something it was only $7 taxi ride both ways. We also made good use of the laundry facilities. The reception staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Esther, we are so thankful that you decided to write a review. Thank you for the kind words and for mentioning how wonderfully our two-bedroom suite accommodated your family of 5. We appreciate your comments regarding our staff and hope to welcome you back the next time you make the trip over to the U.S.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Can't say much. We loved it. We booked 2 connecting suites. Both of them were spacious. Complete kitchenette, washer and dryer. Which was very important as we had a ton of dirty and sweaty clothes from full day at the theme park.

They provided shuttles to the theme parks. You have to reserve a seat a day before. It was not available every hour though but it works for us because we spend a whole day at the parks.

The breakfast area was not as spacious as the room. The menu was also pretty basic. Also, in room dining menu/options were quite limited if you want to have a midnight snack. Eventhough there were some restaurants within 0.5-1 mile radius.

Overall it was a great choice !

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mutiaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It is excellent to know that you made use of all of the amenities in your suite like the washer/dryer and kitchen. We also love knowing that you utilized our scheduled theme park shuttles. We do apologize that you were not as blown away by the buffet breakfast as you were the suite. We will pass that on to our Food & Beverage Manager so that your comments can be addressed. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will stay with us again when you return to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 342 in Orlando
3,314 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Floridays Resort
#18 of 342 in Orlando
8,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Suites

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#15 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $110 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing