We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #20 of 336 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Pooler, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Staff”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We arrived the day before Thanksgiving for a four-night stay. The Front Desk staff was amazing (I had made a booking mistake) and got us settled with no trouble. The rooms are very spacious and well insulated from hallway/neighboring room sound. The full kitchen and bathroom areas were clean and the kitchen had a large variety of cooking gadgets (hand mixer, cheese grater, etc). Any staff interaction we experienced was positive: polite and efficient housekeeping staff, friendly cabana and room service staff, and our bellhop was as sweet and patient as could be with my 8 and 6 year old. The drive to Universal was quick and easy. We will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Michelle, we are so glad that you had an excellent time at The Point Orlando Resort. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and mention the amazing service that you received from our team. We are already looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,997
    1,158
    301
    51
    40
See reviews for
1,856
1,669
98
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,051)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My husband and I just came back from The Point Orlando Resort for the Thanksgiving weekend. We've been to Orlando a few times and stayed at other hotels, but this one is definitely the best. When we checked in, Natalie was so welcoming with a nice smile and great personality. She also gave us some good advise on Black Friday shopping in the area. She was very informative for all the questions that we asked her about the area and trolley service, which is right outside the hotel and will take you on International Drive from beginning to end. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle service to all the parks. Since we had a 3-day pass for the trolley, we did not use the shuttle service.

We decided to take the upgrade to a one bedroom suite with a balcony overlooking the pool which was very nice in decor and very clean. The kitchen was very modern with black appliances and black marble counter tops. The bathroom was huge with a soaking, jetted tub. The bed was very comfy with clean, crisp white sheets and comforter.

All the staff that we talked to throughout our stay was very friendly including the housekeeping staff. They were all very pleasant and seemed as if they truly liked their jobs.

The pool area was small but very clean with a small hot tub. In this area was also the Cabana Bar which offered a drink special and bar food. The drinks were very good.

They also offered a breakfast buffet for $11.95 which we did not try. We decided to go to the IHOP on International Drive about two stop lights from the hotel. Not a far walk at all. There is also a Walgreens, 7Eleven and a Red Lobster near the IHOP.

This hotel has everything we need. Location, transportation, great service and is extremely clean not only in the rooms, but in the public areas of the hotel. I will definitely be returning to The Point Orlando Resort on my next Orlando vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floor gives a nice view of International Drive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We are so happy to be considered your "home" in Orlando. Thanks for taking the time to share with other travelers how perfect The Point Orlando Resort is for couples. We are so glad that our resort provided you with everything you needed. Thanks for mentioning the lovely time you spent poolside at our Cabana Bar. We are already looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom suite for 17 nights and were so pleased that we had picked this resort to stay! We were welcomed and checked in really fast, also given loads of information on the local area. Our suite was lovely! Very clean, modern and lots of space for 2 people. The full kitchen really was a FULL kitchen, it had every utensil and appliance you could possibly need. Toaster, blender, kettle, dish washer, ice maker, washer, drier, oven, hob, microwave including loads of glasses, mugs, plates etc. The maids did a great job of keeping it clean and were really lovely and always said hello. TV in both the bedroom and the living room. Bathroom had a jacuzzi bath which was great to relax in after a long day at the parks! Huge shower and loads of space to put makeup, toothbrushes etc. Balcony was nice to have too! I would recommend paying a little extra for the one bedroom suite if you are staying over a week as it gives you a bit extra space to really live in. We did a lot of shopping so were glad of the extra space and the cupboards to store everything in! The only minor problem I had was doing my makeup in the evening as there is only one mirror in the bathroom. Although the mirror is huge I struggled to get up close to apply eye makeup as it is behind the sink and it was really awkward. I think the resort should invest in makeup mirrors in each suite, as they are only cheap to buy and it would make every girls evening a lot less stressful when getting ready to go out. A full length mirror somewhere in the suite would be handy too! Apart from that minor suggestion everything else was perfect and I could not fault it. We had breakfast with our suite and ended up eating there most mornings from our holiday. It wasn't a massive selection of food but it was really lovely! I had the scrambled eggs most days just because it was so surprisingly nice! I don't think I've had scrambled egg that is so nice before! Not sure how they make it! But there is unlimited tea, coffee, juices, cereals, egg, bacon, sausage pattys, bagels, brown and white toast, pancakes, syrup, waffles, french toast, fruit, yogurt. The resort also offer free shuttles to universal, sea world and epcot. This was so handy! Just remember to book on the night before. Plenty of parking space too if you hire a car which we did for a few days. Wet n Wild is literally over the road! They sell iTrolley tickets on reception too! We downloaded the Mears taxi app while we were there and ordered our taxis from the room to go to the Citywalk in the evening. You can see where the taxi is on the map. It costs about $6-7 to Universal in a Mears taxi plus tip. If you order a taxi from reception they order a different company but it costs about $10 plus tip to Universal. Not much difference but if you are getting quite a few taxis then it may be worth ordering a Mears taxi. We had a problem with our sink in the bathroom not draining very well just after we arrived. We mentioned it to a girl on reception the next day and by the time we came home from the park it had all been fixed. I can't remember the name of the girl on reception but she was there every day and was so helpful! She even called different Pizza Huts for us one night to find the one which would deliver to our hotel! Really great service as she didn't have to do that! We both wish we didn't have to leave Florida it was amazing! Would recommend this resort to everybody! The pool was open till 11pm so we would sometimes come back in the evening and go for a swim or relax in the jacuzzi by the bar. Never been able to do this in any other hotel before! Please could the hotel invest in a makeup mirror and a full length mirror though? Would make it so much easier when getting ready! Thanks so much for an amazing stay! Could not have been better!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
JF, it was such an honor that you chose to stay with us for 17 nights! Thank you for choosing The Point Orlando Resort and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that your suite had everything that you needed. We do appreciate your feedback regarding the mirrors in the suites, we will definitely pass those comments along to be considered. You provide a lot of great tips about the area, and I'm sure those will be very helpful to other travelers. Thank you for your kind words, we hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

This hotel is well placed for visiting Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure, it's only 1 mile down the road. Wet 'n' Wild is just on the doorstep, Seaworld is probably 5 mile away, we stayed here for two weeks, i choose it firstly cause of the reviews on Trip Advisor and secondly because of how close this was to what was going on. The hotel has it's own (free) shuttle to Seaworld and Universal, we opted for taking it as we have heard that the parking in the parks can be pricey. It worked really well for us and the times seemed really good for getting round the parks. We booked a one bedroom apartment and after an initial couple of issues with getting a wheelchair access room and not having the expected bathroom, this was rectified (third time lucky) and we got the bathroom we booked with a thrown in upgrade to pool view and free breakfast the following morning too for the inconvenience. There was a nice big car park so you never struggled for a car parking space which was good, As it was November the weather wasn't up to much for our whole stay and didn;t manage to enjoy the pool as much as we would have liked, i think my one problem with this would be the bar at the pool is the only bar, and being outside and it being coooler in the evenings i didn't really want to sit outside so much. The prices at the bar were what we thought were overpriced, but in general we thought that for most of international drive unless there were happy hour offers. Drinks & food were pretty much the same price outside the parks as they were inside, so not the difference that we thought there. Pool towels were also provided.

What we found strange and had i read our confirmation better than i had i would have realised. Housekeeping was not inlcuded, there was a daily refresh service that was carried out, which was basically emptying bins, tidying the bed and refreshing towels every other day, you could pay for a full housekeeping service which would involve changing the bed for $10 per day extra. We didn't opt for this as felt this should have been included !!! To our relief we were then informed that our beds would get changed after 7 days as we were staying for so long. The room was well equipped, we had a dishwasher, washing machine & tumble dryer, Microwave, an oven, a huge fridge, then we had the Sofa and TV in the lounge area and then another TV in the bedroom, whilst there we had an issue with the remote control in the bedroom, we reported this and with a few fours while we were out this was fixed. So that was a really good. In the bathroom we had the seperate toilet, seperate shower, jacuzzi tub, there is a hairdryer in the bathroom also. There was plently or cupboard and draw space for all your belongings, this was spread out around the apartment a little and in the end we found we didn't need the draws that were in the lounge as we had plenty of room in the bedroom and bathroom storage.
Also near the hotel Florida Mall (6 miles) Mall at Millenia (3 mile) Walmart (1.5 mile) Premium & other outlets (1.5 mile) Oak Ridge Gun range (5.5 mile) Walgreens(near wet n wild) (0.5 mile)

Room Tip: Upgrade when your there, the offers are normally better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubby15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
It was a pleasure to serve you during your stay here in Orlando. We are so glad that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed the location of our resort as well as the services provided to you by our staff members.. We do apologize that you were unaware of the housekeeping policy. We do have the daily refresh service that you mention, with a full cleaning after one week. We are sorry if this was an inconvenience for you. We hope that you will return and allow us to serve you again in the future. Please let us know if we can assist in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Our family of 4 just got back from an excellent stay at Point Orlando resort. We had a 2 bedroom suite that was very spacious with a living room, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen.
The suite was clean and well appointed (and well maintained).
The staff at the front desk was super helpful and always smiling.
We did not try out the breakfast or the poolside bar, so can't comment on the service.
The hotel is less than a mile from Universal studios, and the free shuttle from the hotel gets you there in 5 minutes. The only issue we had was they had only 2 shuttles in the morning and 2 shuttles in the evening. So while the morning one was great, the evening shuttle was hard to catch because it's really hard to plan your time in the theme parks. That said, there are plentiful taxis available at Universal that get you back to the hotel in under $10.
The hotel's also really close to all the restaurants on International Drive, which is a huge plus.
All in all, a wonderful stay - and as the terminator would say, "I'll be back".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Glad to hear it, Ajay! Thank you for mentioning how lovely your suite was as well as the incredible service you received from our staff. Your transportation advice is great, so thanks for posting that for other travelers. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We are frequent guests of The Point and are never disappointed. One thing we noticed this particular trip, the front desk staff members (Natalie, Rose and Hamid) greeted my husband and me by name when we'd first arrived. We felt so at home.

The rooms are always neat and clean, and everyone on staff is always kind and accommodating. Like my daughter (who recommended The Point to us a few years ago), this hotel will always be our first choice when we stay in Orlando.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Linda, well said! It means so much to us that you had such memorable experiences with our staff members. This is one of our top priorities, along with the cleanliness and comfort that you experienced in your suite. We're honored to be your "home" in Orlando. Can't wait to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and it was clean and fresh and spacious. The room was always cleaned before we were back from breakfast. The bathroom was large enough to fit two. There were shuttles to resorts like Disney, and getting around town wasn't so bad as there was an I-trolley stop right in front of the hotel. Definitely, we'll be back soon

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Towmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Tomi, thanks so much for taking the time to write a review. It's wonderful to hear about the fresh and clean suite that you stayed in. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#21 of 336 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,810 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing