We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #20 of 339 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed at The Point Orlando Resort from the 24th September for 10 nights, this was our second time staying here and had another perfect stay. We had a one bedroom grand suite (511S) with our room overlooking the pool. The room facilities were excellent again including fully equipped kitchen with washer/dryer, a wonderful bathroom with whirlpool bath (a godsend after a day walking in the parks) and separate shower cubicle. The bedroom is a lovely size, so is the lounge which our nephew slept in using the sofa bed (he said that this was comfortable). Our first night someone came to the room to make the bed up for us which was a nice touch.
The location of the hotel is fantastic, we walked to Universal each time we went, we walked to International Drive too. We drove to other places and the hotel is ideally located for the I4.
We ate at the Cabana on our first night, the food and drinks were fab. We used the Cabana a few times and were never disappointed.
The hotel staff are so friendly and helpful, nothing is too much and they always greet you with smile.
We cannot fault this hotel, it's amenities or staff, we would and do highly recommend this hotel to friends & family.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Julie, thank you so much for choosing to stay with us again. We are glad to hear about your wonderful experience staying at The Point Orland Resort, especially with the Cabana Bar & Grille. We are delighted that you found the food and drinks to be great. We appreciate your recommendation, and look forward to serving you during your next trip to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,801)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,375 - 2,381 of 4,801 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was thus far a great experience and one of the best resorts I had stayed at. Great location, exceptional service, and beautiful room. The bartender Amina was very sweet I didn't know exactly I wanted to drink but I told her what I like, I'm usually very picky with drinks and surprisingly she made me something I plan on getting everywhere I go, a Strawberry Mango margarita swirl. The front desk staff was just as helpful with Fabio going out of his way to make sure to be at every service he could be. I will definitely be back and recommend this place to anyone who is thinking about it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Jenn, thank you for commenting that The Point Orlando Resort is one of the best resort experiences you have had! That means a lot to us, as we strive to provide a memorable experience to all of our guests. Thank you for mentioning our bartender as well as the front desk staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Point has a quiet manner, there is no hustle and bustle at any time, and that's what we were looking for. The suite was on the small side, but clean, comfortable and modern. On the plus side, the bed was huge. I arrived and was asked if I had any preferences, and was given a room on a high floor-- A great way to be welcomed into the hotel. More importantly, there was free wifi, which worked very well, and also free parking--both essential. Over our trip, every request was fulfilled in a good natured way (ice, shampoo, towels)..Also the front desk personnel were always helpful with instructions, maps and advice on the parks. The maid service, which is marketed as light, could have been a bit less rushed (wrinkled bed, soap not replaced with a new one), but it did not sour the experience. Breakfast was not included, but there is coffee to prepare in the room and a nice roomy fridge to fill yourself. We stayed 5 nights and had a nice time. thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Your review captures the exact atmosphere that we strive to provide here at our resort. We are located close to Orlando's attractions, but tucked away just enough to provide a quiet and tranquil environment to our guests. Thank you for mentioning that and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear about all of the experiences that you had that were wonderful. We certainly hope you will allow us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed at the point o resort 23 sept to 7 oct 2013. My partner , dave , has been to Orlando 5 times and says this is the only hotel he would like to go back to. The staff are all polite and helpfull. It appears nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a one bed grand suite and it was great. Spacious and clean, with all utensils and equipment you could possibly need in the kitchen. Bed was huge and so comfortable. Was great to have washer and dryer in the kitchen. We really enjoyed our stay.
International Drive is only a few minutes walk from the hotel, and if walking is not for you the i-ride stop is close by.
I cant comment on the pool or bar area as we didnt use them but we could see from our balcony that people seemed to be enjoying them.
I really cant find fault with the hotel. Its near all you want in Orlando, yet is so quiet!!
We will , i am sure, return here on our next Orlando holiday..
I certainly hope they continue to keep the hotel as it is, they could certainly teach other hotels in the area how to give an excellent service at a great price.
We had suite 405 s and it was perfect for us, great view from the balcony and not too high up as i dont do heights well !!!!
We would like to thank all the staff for helping make our much needed holiday great .

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harley084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

It means so much to us that your partner holds our resort in such high regard. Thank you for noticing the genuine care that we have towards our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our second year to stay at the point and I couldn't recommended it enough. It's located on universal boulevard which is away from the busy international drive but close enough for nights out. It is serviced by the I-ride trolley outside and 5 mins away the lynx bus service so transport was always easy because of this we didn't drive and didn't feel the need to. The place itself is clean, friendly and welcoming. The pool area is nice with a separate hot tub area it has a small gym with is adequate for when your away fro home. We had the one bedroom grand suite which is spacious with full kitchen separate living area and balcony. It is serviced everyday with towels and rubbish removal. It's like a home from home and a welcoming sight at the end of busy theme park days. Some helpful hints:

Shuttle runs to all theme parks but don't forget yo book night before if you miss shuttle taxi is $8 from universal and $35 from Disney BEWARE of taxi drivers they rip you off so something we learned to save you heartache we used Mears taxis not hotel ones as they ripped us off too many times last year. Taxis have to use a meter so don't get into one that has a set price as this will no doubt be higher than the meter fare. You have 7 days to complain about the taxi to the taxi company and they will refund you any extras you were charged if you were ripped off you need the date, time, taxi badge number for this, this is useful to know!!

Walmart on Turkey lake drive is 5 mins in a car and it's invaluable for shopping and water to bring to theme parks

Wet & wild located across from the point 1 min walk

Denny's good for breakfast 5 min walk

Walgreens pharmacy 5 mins open 24 hours

Now back to the point will definitely return again and no hesitation in recommending to anyone and I'm hard to please!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Catherine, it means a lot to us that you decided to visit for a second time. We are glad that you found the location to be so convenient and that you enjoyed the amenities offered. We hope that you will come see us again when you return to Orlando!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The hotel is very convenient to Universal. Shared a two bedroom suite and had plenty of room. Resort fee includes shuttle to Universal which was helpful. Plenty of parking. Only negative was the service in the pool area. The first night there friends gave up and ordered pizza from nearby. Second night we ordered food and waited a really long time and then the "upgrade" that I ordered and paid for (sweet potato fries) wasn't provided and the response was a shrug and I could wait - given we had already been waiting over 30 min I declined. No offer of reimbursement for the food I paid for and wasn't given. Other than this the staff in the hotel very friendly and rooms and beds very comfy

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bd1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. Thank you for commenting on the friendly service you received from our staff and the comfortable accommodations that our suites offer. However, we are deeply disappointed to hear about the experience that you had at our Cabana Bar & Grille. This is far below the high standards that we usually provide to our guests. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will be addressing this internally. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hope that you will consider giving us another chance when you return to Orlando.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We just home from a weeks stay at Point Orlando Spa and Resort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had such a good time. Our room was beautiful and very clean. It was well stocked right down to the Keurig and K-cups. The bed was plush and comfortable. I wish I could have brought it home with us. The staff was accommodating in every way. The pool area was gorgeous and so relaxing. The bar and grill was nice to have right there by the pool. Restaurant Row was close by so there were plenty of great restaurants to choose from each night. We can't wait to go back.
Sherryl and Steve Mueller, Matthews NC

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherryl and Ste... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley C, Guest Relations Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2013

Sherryl and Steve - we truly appreciate this wonderful review that you have written our resort. We are so glad that you had a wonderful time. Thank you for mentioning how comfortable and clean your stay was, including the high quality customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Floridays Resort
#21 of 339 in Orlando
8,242 reviews
Caribe Royale Orlando
#87 of 339 in Orlando
3,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 339 in Orlando
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $110 - $421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing