We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good value, but not luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Point Orlando Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #18 of 338 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good value, but not luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Point is a good value for a hotel in Orlando, but I was expecting more considering the high ratings and positive reviews on TA. The staff is very friendly and helpful; when we had an issue with the smoke alarm and coffeemaker, someone came up to help within five minutes. The rooms were clean and spacious. The furnishings are showing wear and were probably not high quality to start with. The mattress was hard, which made sleeping less than ideal. The prices at the lobby cafe ($2 for a cup of coffee) and the pool bar ($6 for a beer and $10 for a gin and tonic) were ridiculous. The hotel sits in the middle of a barren lot. Our view was of some auto parts building. Overall, you get a lot for your lodging dollar at The Point, but I will stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RivrVuMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Tim G -- I appreciate your honest feedback. And I'm glad you saw the value we brought for you. But I'm sorry you didn't feel our furnishings were well maintained. That's not keeping with our standards, and I'll have our head of housekeeping watch for worn furnishings. And I apologize for your sleep quality. We appreciate getting feedback from our guests, so we can make decisions as to what might need improving in the future. We'll add the mattress to that list. And I'm sorry you didn't feel our prices were in line. We do check nearby resorts and try to keep our pricing in line with other resort restaurants. But we'll keep an eye on it. I do hope you will change your mind, and give us another chance on your next Orlando stay. Please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly, if there is anything I can do to assist with a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,711
    1,037
    271
    44
    34
See reviews for
1,671
1,497
87
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
155 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights, checked in at room 1101 H, it was suddenly a big room that we are not use too, 2 queen size beds, for 2 adults and our 3 years old son, this cld fit a family of 6 :o)
the room offers comp. coffee and tee, microwave and fridge, i believe it was more an apartment hotel, although minuses was not able to open windows, where the other rooms had a balcony, perhaps coz we had a little boy with us, nonetheless it was a clean and a really nice pool with a pool bar as well, ( didnt use that ) remember the last days we ask for some tissue boxes and some comp coffee, we were told the wld charge us, but housekeeping didnt fill them in our rooms like the other days, so why charge us ? minor issue.

one thing also bothered us was when using the bathroom the vent was attached to the light, and the vent made so much noise ur had to close the bathroom door :o( this cld have been done a better way.

fresh pool towels provided at pool side, and comp parking as well, ( good thing ) the hotel also had breakast for the cost of $ 10.99 adults and half price for kids, let me say one thing Orlando provides a wide range of breakfast places and the competition is enormous for just $ 5.99 at Ponderosa is just all u need for breakfast, so just tried it :o)

Really friendly staff, let us check in early than expected, although they cld just say the room is guerantee from 3pm, but we got there couple of hours before.

If u like shopping this place is probarly one of the best places in Florida, the premium outlets on Intl drive offers many shops for every taste, and there is also the prime outlets which is pretty much the same thing although the they have some more top designers.

But if we were to come to Orlando again, this hotel wld definately have my reservation again.

free wi-fi ( thumbs up )

Room Tip: Upon check in request an room with a balcony and on the top floor wld suddenly be a plus nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnson W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear panerai1966 -- Thanks for your well-balanced review. A couple good tips that we'll note for the future as we continue to maintain our rooms and suites. You are correct that there are many dining options nearby to choose from. Glad you found the Ponderosa. I'm sorry for your experience with the housekeeper regarding your items. We should have taken care of that. I've notified our head of housekeeping to help tighten up this area of our customer service. But best of all is that we have your future reservation. Thanks so much for that, and we look forward to welcoming you at that time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

The One bedroom suites are just wonderful! Clean and a GREAT value. I've been here a couple times now. Tower Two is my preferred choice. Something about facing that direction watching the sunset over Orlando...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JDT82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear JDT82 -- Wow "Great Hotel!!" How could we ask for more?? And welcome back. We appreciate our returning guests. And I'm glad we could accommodate your request for "sunset view." Sounds nice! I can't wait to welcome you back on your next stay with us. Let me know if I can assist with anything in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

The staff go out their way to make your stay as nice as they can. Our welcome( after a 12 hour journey )was warm and charming and though the place could do with a coat of paint or some touch ups it was delightful.
Our suite was lovely and had a full kitchen all for the same price as most nice hotels, and cleaning staff gave us loads of extra towels and powder for the washing machine that they even have in the room.
Pool is beautiful warm and a sun trap , though the pool bar a little expensive for drinks.
Breakfast was pleasant , but to be hones better value to go to Denny's down the road.
But over all it was really very good, and would go back.

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and book a pool view room its only a little extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asksteve2cu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear asksteve2cu -- Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our team really does do our best to accommodate all our guests' requests. You are correct; there are many dining options, within the resort and a short distance away, so guests always have choices. Just to clarify, we don't charge extra for pool view, but we do our best to accommodate guest requests for pool view, when we can. I'm pleased to read that you'll be back with us. Can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I felt like I took a chance on this hotel as it wasn't a major brand and I am thoroughly happy I did! Clean, wonderful service, comfortable rooms and fabulous pool environment. Amazing - will stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Jen G -- Thanks for the review and your glowing stream of adjectives. It's always nice to get a pleasant surprise when you're not certain what you are getting into. I'm happy we were that good surprise for your visit to Orlando. Come back again soon, and we'll make sure you have another "amazing" visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Excellent staff in a well maintained hotel within easy distance of I drive.
Second time I have stayed and would stay agin without any hesitation.
Stayed in a 1 bed suite .
The Room was clean & spacious with the addition of your own washer & dryer made it very handy especialy if you are on a long haul fight or have kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Janet D -- Welcome back, and thanks for sharing details about your stay. Yes, the washer/dryer is a great help, cutting down on how many clothes you have to bring with you. And, perfect for kids, too. I hope your next visit to us comes soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
101 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nts for Outlet mall shopping in Orlando. We had a fully appointed suite on the 8th floor. We had a separate bedroom and bathroom with a large shower and a separate jacuzzi.
Nice balcony with a pool view. The service was excellent.
Great location close to I-Drive.
Recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMLAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear AMLAP -- Thanks for making us part of your shopping trip to Orlando, and thanks for sharing your experience here on TripAdvisor. Your recommendation means a lot to us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#15 of 338 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 stars 7,058 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 338 in Orlando
5.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Lake Buena Vista
Hampton Inn Orlando/Lake Buena Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
#23 Best Value Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing