We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wont stay anywhere else from now on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #19 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Very friendly staff, gave us plenty of info, didnt have to pay for parking, room was very clean bed was comfortable, very quiet area yet just across the street from universal studios, took us no more then ten mins to get to the park. The all you can eat breakfast was a decent price and the food was really good with a large variety. Loved this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunshine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear sunshine2011 -- I appreciate your review of your stay. It's always great to read that a guest of ours "won't stay anywhere else from now on." And I'm glad that you enjoyed the breakfast -- the price, the food and the variety. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,748)
There are newer reviews for The Point Orlando Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,690 - 2,696 of 4,748 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

brilliant hols at top class resort. the rooms fab and spacious, the jacuzzi a gift and the balconies overlooking universal grt wit all the fireworks. staff very friendly and always helpful. location is just of i-drive and walking distance to all amenities. the taxi service the hotel uses must be commended and no rip off, usually with hotel normally more expensive than street pick up, not in this case/ very efficient and reliable. must get there e mail for pick up nx time we in orlando.

cant wait to go bac to orlando and definitely be staying at point orlando.
thanks guys for brill holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear DublinJoanne -- Thanks for your review, calling us a "hidden gem." Sounds like you had a great time, and that you experienced our outstanding hospitality. And I'm so pleased to hear that you had a good experience with the taxi company we recommended. I wouldn't have it any other way! Please come back and visit us again sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Point Orlando Resort is the perfect location for a visit to Universal Studios. We stayed four nights in a one bedroom suite and enjoyed our stay. The unit was over 700 square feet and included a full kitchen, large bathroom, and laundry facilities. The bathroom had a separate door, so the master suite could be private. The living room including a hide-a-bed for additional guests.

The complimentary bus service to Universal Studios was reliable and a 15 minute ride and left daily at 8:20am. We took a taxi back each day for $8.00 including the tip because the free bus returned at 7:30pm. The staff is courteous and the facility is clean. Great value for Orlando.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ronvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear ronvoyage -- I really appreciate the nice review, especially from a Top Contributor like you. You found a good way to get back from Universal, allowing for more fun at a very reasonable cost. Good for you! And I'm glad you found our staff courteous and the resort clean. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My wife and I are currently staying at this hotel, and will be leaving on Sunday 27th after an eight nights stay.
First of all, let me warn you about its non-disclosed fees: the advertised room rate is a scam! Once we arrived here, they told us we had to pay USD 11 dayly in "resort fees" (¡?)... These are unbelievably disloyal terms, since we prepaid our room and were not informed at that moment about this "extra" price, that by the way does not mean you'll be getting any additional service. I wonder if it's legal to advertise a certain price and then, in our case, charge almost extra USD 100 without previous notice. I'm guessing NOT!
And believe me, the worse is yet to come. Once in your room, you'll notice a flyer that states that as a guest, you'll be provided a “Refresh Service” that includes replacing towels, removing trash and making of the bed... and if you want to UPGRADE it, you must pay a dayly rate of USD 10-20 depending on the type of room (this is really UNHEARD of! Upgrading the cleaning service!? I'm attaching a photo since otherwise no one would believe it). Since we decided not to pay this “upgrade”, we are now in a carpeted room that hasn’t been vacuumed at all in 5 days (beware allergics!), and the bathroom counters, mirrors and floors have not been cleaned in the slightest, and neither has been the bathtub.
Besides this “MINOR” details, the room was OK.
Bottom line: do yourself a favor and avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank MGF_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We had a brilliant stay in the the Point Orlando Resort! Our stay in the hotel last September (for 2 weeks) was a home away from home. We choose the hotel as we wanted accomdation with two rooms (as we have two children) in case we got bad weather and also as we wanted self catering. Our check in was very efficient and we were helped with our bags, after two flights from Ireland this was very necessary. We were very pleased with our room size, furnishings, beds etc and there was everything you could need in the kitchen for cooking if your too tired to go out after a day in the theme parks. The pool was a good size and never to busy. The pool side restaurnat was enjoyable also. Universal studios was in walking distance but you could get the suttle bus also, which we were very pleased about. Disneyland was much farther away so had it not been for the shuttle bus we would have been lost. The shops and restaurants were all in walking distance. We were sorry we didnt get to go to the Wet n Wild park as it was only 5 minutes away. The staff were always extremely friendly and helpful. We were sad leaving as we had so much fun. It was definitely our best holiday so far and we would love to return some day!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Lisa C -- It's great to hear we gave you the "best holiday so far." Thanks for sharing. It sounds like our suite was perfect for your family. And I'm pleased that the scheduled theme park shuttles worked out well for you. Come back again and visit us. Perhaps you'll have time for our neighbor, Wet 'n Wild!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

After returning from a cruise we wanted to do some sight seeing i Orlando. We had planed to drive back to Miami, but we got tired and decided to spend the night in Orlando and drive back the following morning.
After a quick search on the TA-app, we reasoned that the Point would be a good alternative for a night sleep.
We paid 191 dollars for one night, which is not cheap. Our room was at the fifth floor. Check in was quick and without any hassels. We carried our luggage to our room which was of a really good size; that is the one positive thing about this hotel. The room was huge for the two of us; a separate living room, a kitchen and a big bath with lots of space.
The standard and the interior design was what I would call boring and extremely outdated. Maybe its because I am a scandinavian and used to a more minimalistic style, but it seems to me that many american hotels are stuck in the eighties when it comes to decoration.
The room was clean enough, but a long black hair at my pillow will not give extra points in the cleanliness category.
We paid 11 dollars for breakfast. Compared to breakfast buffets at quality hotels, the Point breakfast is a sad story. But you will find food to fill your stomach; the oatmeal was actually quite good.
For me the Point is a hotel in the "touch and go" category. If you are in need of a nights sleep and nothing more, it will do. However; I would become depressed if I had to stay any longer than that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Imedvindfranord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear Imedvindfranord -- Thanks for reviewing your stay, albeit it a short one, with us. And thanks for selecting us as your stop-over after your cruise, before heading to Miami. I'm sorry you didn't care for the decor of your suite. We do our best to provide a pleasant environment that appeals to as many people as possible. I apologize for the hair you found on the pillow. That's not consistent with the cleanliness standards we require at our resort (and as you may have seen referenced here on TripAdvisor by other reviewers). Normally, our suite rates are lower than you paid, when reserved a little bit longer ahead of time. I'm guessing you ended up with a last-minute rate. I hope you'll consider coming back to visit us in the future. I'm sure once you have had some time to get to know our friendly staff, your experience would be anything but depressing. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a beautiful hotel! We chose it for the close proximity to Universal Studios, and also because of the reasonable price. We received an upgrade when we checked in. We ended up with a King Executive Suite. The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated and had many unexpected amenities like a full kitchen and a washer and dryer! The bathroom is very large and had a bathtub with jets as well as a walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable with a lot of pillows. Loved our stay here and would definitely book here again if we were in the Orlando area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3hapitravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Dear 3hapitravelers -- Thanks for the review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed our resort and your experience with us. Just to clarify, what you described (for others' information) is a 1-Bedroom Grand Suite. The Executive Suites don't have the full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc. And, yes, that's a GREAT suite. I'm glad you had a comfortable sleep and that you'll definitely book with us again. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Floridays Resort
#20 of 340 in Orlando
8,162 reviews
Caribe Royale Orlando
#85 of 340 in Orlando
3,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 340 in Orlando
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $102 - $359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing