We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay in Orlando ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Point Hotel & Suites
Ranked #19 of 340 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just home after 11-day stay in the Point in Orlando. Wish it never ended, it was the best stay ever in Orlando. We had a 1-bedroom suite, were able to cook some meals like spaghetti, nasi, macaroni in stead of going to the same restaurants again and again. The location is great, 5 min drive to Universal (Halloween Horror Nights) and Florida mall and 2 outlet malls. Staff friendly, breakfast ok, will not take breakfast included next time, did not like the eggs, in my opinion tastless. Better buy some stuff at Albertsons and make our own breakfast in the morning, cheaper too.. Will definately book the Point again on our next visit in November/December with my 82-year old dad. Swimming pool is great to relax and escape the sun!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear SylviaGrobben -- We appreciate you reviewing your stay here on TripAdvisor. We apologize that the breakfast was not tasty to you. But you are smart to take advantage of the full kitchen, save money and make some of your own meals. We can't wait to see you and your Dad back in November/December.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,949)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,057 - 3,063 of 4,949 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Very nice room. Good view to Universal Parks and well located. It was very helpful to do my laundry in the room!
You have to pay for the complete room service, they'll only fold the sheets and towels... a sweep would be very wellcome, indeed.
Anyway, after staying at very awful hotels at International Drive, this one i could easily try again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view to Universal Paks
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rgallodf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Dear rgallodf -- Thanks for the review. Glad you liked the room and our location. We're glad you would try us again, but are sorry that we were only "good" on your scale. We strive for Excellent in all our services and amenities. You're correct, we have a "Trash 'n tidy" service daily, where we empty the trash, replace towels and bathroom amenities, and make the beds. After 7 nights, a full clean is included. Hopefully, next time you try us, we'll move up another notch of Orlando hotels. Feel free to contact me directly if there is anything I can do to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Really enjoyed my 10 nights in this hotel! Staff were always friendly and helpful. Upgraded ourselves on arrival which was definitely worth it as we had washer/dryer etc. The Point is in an ideal location with Universal, Wet n Wild and many restaurants only a small walk/drive away! Would recommend this hotel to everyone and will hopefully return in the near future!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talkshowsonmute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear talkshowsonmute -- Thanks for the review and recommendation. That means a lot to us. You really saw the value of the 1-Bedroom suite, with the full kitchen and washer/dryer. We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to seeing you "in the near future."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in room 1001S. A 1 bedroom Grand Suite.. The room was very roomy, with bath,seperate shower, washer(noisy whilst running) dryer, tv in both lounge and bedroom. The towels are changed on a daily basis and the beds changed once a week. Nice clean pool and a gym with a nice jacussi hot tub just out the door. Great for working up a sweat and then jump straight in the hot tub., towels provided for around the pool.The location of the point is ideal for universal and islands of adventure, city walk and also wet and wild and aquatica and also sea world. A great hotel and would recommend staying here to our friends. I would definately stay again should i visit Orlando again. Nearly forgot to mention the staff, who are very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dannygelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Dannygelly -- Thanks for the kind words about your visit with us. Hearing good things about our staff is particularly rewarding, since Hospitality is important to us. Great idea to work up a sweat in the fitness center, and then relax in the Jacuzzi. We appreciate you recommending us to your friends. We look forward to welcoming them (and YOU) back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I will never stay here again, it is overpriced for one. I paid over 300 dollars for 2 nights thinking I was going to be within walking distance of universal, which its not. There is no parking. We got to the hotel after HHN22 around 12 and we had to park on a fire lane, because the 30 spots they have were all taken. There are more rooms than parking which is very inconvenient . The shuttle they have for the theme parks leaves at 7;30am and comes back at 7:30pm, so realistically you can't use it, who leaves the park at 7:30 when the parks close at 2am? The room was nice, big, it had a kitchen. The jacuzzi bathroom was not in our suite, so the picture u see is fake, my bathtub was tiny. Oh an if you like a cold room, forget about it, they control the a/c. You have a fan in the room. The t.v's are old too. Wish I knew this before I paid so much to stay there. For that I could have stayed in Disney and driven. Never again..

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joseandsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Joseandsandy -- Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. We sincerely apologize for your experience. It does not reflect the level of Guest Service we give to our guests. While we don't suggest walking to Universal, many of our guests are particularly energetic, and post accordingly on TripAdvisor. We apologize if that was confusing for you. And we're sorry for the parking situation you encountered. Based on guest feedback, we've now added extra Security in the parking lot, to ensure everyone is able to park safely. And we're sorry for any confusion regarding the shuttle schedule. It runs according to "regular" theme park hours, and not in line with special events, such as Halloween Horror Nights, which keeps the park open later. Fortunately, it's close, and cab rides are only about $6 one way. We regret that your suite did not have a Jacuzzi tub. There's a handful of suites at the resort which do not have those tubs, including those for guests with disabilities, and we apologize you ended up in one. For future reference, don't hesitate to ask about that to the Front Desk. Depending on how busy we are, we might have been able to switch you to another suite. And we're concerned about your comment regarding the A/C. All units do have thermostats allowing the guest to lower the temperature, as low as 70. Plus, the overhead fan does help balance the temperature with the moving air. We regret we weren't able to assist you with the thermostat prior to your departure. Despite your challenges, I would personally like to invite you back to stay with us again, to give us a second chance to improve the quality of your stay with us, and let us demonstrate the resort stay you (and all our guests) deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked this hotel because we needed a place with two bedrooms as friends were also traveling with us. We booked the two bedroom suite and it was perfect. We found this cheaper than two separate hotel rooms and had the advantage of a living room and small kitchen with a washer and dryer in it as well.

The staff we all very friendly and went out of their way to make our stay memorable.

In the lobby they offered a hot buffet breakfast (eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc.) which is very convenient, as well as free shuttle service to Universal and Disney.

Pool is nice with a small pool side bistro where you can order food, drinks, etc., and is very reasonably priced.

Would definitely stay here again and would hesitate to recommend this to my friends/family

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear David A -- Thanks for your review and so glad we were able to make your stay pleasant. The 2-Bedroom Suite works perfectly for friends traveling together, rather than separate hotel rooms. Glad you enjoyed the poolside Cabana Bar & Grill. We're very proud of that facility, and guests really seem to enjoy it (I personally like the Flatbreads!). Your recommendation means a lot to us, and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We just spent 4 days in Orlando and had a great time. This was our 3rd stay at the Point Orlando and it just keeps getting better. Service, facilities, b-fast buffet, restaurant by the pool, the rooms…everything had changed for the best. It's nice to keep coming back and find out Hotel Management isn't settling for being 'good'. I definitely recommend this Hotel and wouldn't dream to switch to a different one for my next trip. Location is great too so that just closes the loop for me.

Room Tip: Rooms with pool view may be better if you like to sleep in a pitch dark room. The rooms facing the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Hotel & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Eva R -- Thanks for the nice review and your sincere loyalty. Always great to hear our guests returning and having a great time. We couldn't be more pleased. As you said, we don't settle for good-enough, we always strive for EXCELLENT. We can't wait to welcome you back for your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Caribe Royale Orlando
#91 of 340 in Orlando
3,498 reviews
Marriott's Grande Vista
#69 of 340 in Orlando
4,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Hotel & Suites

Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range: $119 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Point Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing