We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, perfect service and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Point Orlando Resort
Ranked #23 of 335 Hotels in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, perfect service and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Point is ideally situated just off I-Drive in walking distance to Wet 'n Wild and a short drive (or bus hop) to most of the major parks. A number of good restaurant chains (inc. TGI and Chili's) are just round the corner and Walmart, Walgreen's and Target are very close [by car]. The hotel itself is modern, welcoming and well-designed - making moving around easy and relaxing. The room we had was a Deluxe Two Bed Family Suite perfect for two couples (or a family), with enough private space for those much-needed quiet moments, but with the benefit of a central lounge and kitchen area for hanging-out together. In room facilities included all the essentials: a super-comfortable bed, good shower, iron, fridge and tea & coffee. The main kitchen area also includes a freezer, washer/dryer and a dishwasher - perfect for the lighter and budget conscious traveller. The only niggle is that the in-room internet is a wired only connection, although it is free and WiFi is available in reception and out by the pool. The pool area is perfect for chilling out, cooling down and soaking up the early morning sun. Later in the day the pool-side bar lights up with a mellow grove and daily specialty cocktails, with a good selection of lite-bites if you need something a little more filling. Overall our stay was superb thanks to the friendly and very helpful staff and great location. Highly recommended & excellent value !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JsyMsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear JsyMsey,

On behalf of The Point Orlando Resort, thank you for taking the time out in writing us a review, it truly does go a long way. I am also happy to hear that everyone enjoyed the comfort of your suite and found all the amenities useful, hope to see the family in near future.

Sincerely,
Point Orlando Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,944
    1,146
    301
    50
    39
See reviews for
1,828
1,646
96
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,033)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

I had a wonderful weekend stay at this hotel. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The decor was nice and the food was very good too. The location was great. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addictedRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear AddictedRN,

Thank you so much for your feed back, its great to hear you had a wonderful stay with us. Please be sure to reach out to us for your future visit.

Sincerely,
Point Orlando Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Wonderful bed.. Exceeds our expectation.. Will definitely come back!! Its home away from home!!

Room Tip: Facing the pool has more view than the outer one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLizaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Dear AnnaLizaM,

Wow ”Home away from home” that is our true motto and it would our pleasure to have you back with us. Thanks again for your kind words.

Sincerely,
Point Orlando Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This room cost us 88$ a night and don't think this is a pos hotel based on the price. It's actually great. Very clean. Decor is very nice, not cheesy old hotel The bed and pillows are comfortable and it's nice nice to have a fridge and microwave. I would absolutely recommend this place. We aren't people who frequent dives like motel 8. We typically stay in nicer hotels. This place is a bargain. Only downfall is wifi is only available in lobby. Ask to stay on first floor and we have full reception in our room

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boogs61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manger at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Boogs61,

Thank you for all of your kind words. Please note that Wi-Fi will be installed in all of our guest suites over the next month. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Point Orlando Resort and look forward to having you back in the future. Be sure to call our Reservations Department for our returning guest special.

Sincerely,
Point Orlando Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

It's location and facilities were exactly what we wanted and were up to the standard advertised. Great location for both car access and walking. Staff were friendly (particularly at the Cabana at the pool) and the suite was huge. Returned for the last part of the holiday and got a pool view room. It may not suit you if you're looking for a full service hotel / restaurant, but for what we were looking for, it was perfect.

Room Tip: If you're not poolside, you have a 50/50 chance of a view of the car tyre business. However, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartanArmyEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manger at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear TartanArmyEdinburgh,

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. The Cabana Bar was thrilled to hear that their great customer service really had an impact on your holiday. We hope to see you on your next visit to the Orlando area and we will continue to provide excellent customer satisfaction.

Sincerely,
Point Orlando Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

This is not a 'hotel' it is a resort and is mainly a self catering establishment which appears to ne timeshared.
There is no hotel standard room service, it is a tidy up and in the 7 nights I stayed the sheets were NOT changed, despite being told this would occur after 5 nights.
Some days the rubbish had not been taken, on another the room was not 'tidied' at all until i confronted a member of staff on the floor.
The bathroom was infrequently cleaned and it appeared some toels folded and left in place.
There is a buffet breakfast, taken in the foyer of the hotel, which is not big enough, if more than 7 rooms come down at the same time then its full.
There is NO wi - fi in rooms, you can connect via a USB cable, but thats no good if you have say an IPAD.
To connect to wi-fi you need to go to the foyer, thats the same place as you have breakfast.
The car park is too small,as I said the place lacks facilities and space for the number of rooms it has. The car park is so small that at times especially in the evening you have to park on the grass.
When I went to checkout, I left my luggage in the foyer, whlst I went to get my car my nearer, i returned to find it had been placed in a luggage room and the member of staff seemed to think I needed to prove it was mine as someone else had said it was their's.
Then I found that someone had charged some items to my room, these were deducted after being asked 3 times whether I had purchased the items.
I raised my issues as outlined here with the staff on reception and was told the manager would be informed. I left my email address but no contact has been made.
There are many places to stay in Orlando, many are actually Hotels and are built to cope with the numbers of people who can stay there, this place is best if you are on a budget and dont mind self catering type cleansiness.

The rooms were spacious I agree, but

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Scotforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manger at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Scotforever,

The Point Orlando Resort would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. Our #1 goal is guest satisfaction and we apologize for not meeting those expectations. The Point Orlando Resort offers a light refresh service daily which includes replacing your towels, removal of your trash and making of the beds. For a minimal fee a Full Maid Service is available for purchase. At the moment Wi-Fi is available in all of our public areas and a High Speed Internet connection is available in all suites. Over the next month Wi-Fi will be installed property wide. We are truly sorry for the confusion with your luggage, when personal items are left unattended we store all items in our bell closet for security reasons. Thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

Sincerely,
Point Orlando Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

My two boys and my dad stayed at The Point Orlando from June 2-7, 2012. It was better that I expected. We had the two-room, two-bathroom family suite at a government rate, and it was well worth that and more! We spent two days at Legoland (which is about a 45-55 minute drive from the hotel) and two days at Universal (which is about a 2 minute drive from the hotel). The suite was huge with two bedrooms (one with two king beds, the other with one king bed), a huge master bathroom with separate shower and jacuzzi tub, a smaller full bath, living room, balcony overlooking the pool, full kitchen, and washer/dryer. We ate breakfast in the room each morning to save money (there's a Walgreens just down the street - good to get milk and cereal). The pool / hot tub were wonderful as well... we closed it down each night at 11pm, even after full days at the parks.
I only have a couple of minor suggestions... there are no hooks on the back of the bathroom doors! My kids and I shared the smaller bathroom and there was virtually no place to hang anything. I'm glad I brought my shoe organizer, which I use to keep all my toiletries in. Also, with the family suite, as you walk in from the hallway, there are actually two separate doors (so technically they can book the rooms separately). But since we had the whole place, it would have been nice to have door stops to keep our interior doors open.
But again, the hotel is wonderful. The staff was very pleasant. Even the food out at the Cabana Bar was good and reasonably priced. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annieosu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabio G, Front Office Assistant Manager at The Point Orlando Resort, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Dear Annieosu,

It’s always great to get good, honest feed back and thank you for the advice, we will start looking into installing hooks in all bathrooms. Many thanks from The Point Orlando Resort.

Sincerely,
Point Orlando Resort Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Floridays Resort Orlando
#19 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,707 reviews
Florida Center
Universal's Cabana Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Point Orlando Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Point Orlando Resort

Property: The Point Orlando Resort
Address: 7389 Universal Blvd, Orlando, FL 32819-8322
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Orlando
#14 Family Hotel in Orlando
#18 Business Hotel in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Point Orlando Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 227
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This full-service, all-suite, newly renovated luxury boutique hotel is quaintly tucked in the heart of Orlando on Universal Blvd, just minutes from International Drive and close to Universal Studios. The Point Orlando Resort provides a tranquil Florida experience that will have you feeling right at home. The Studio, 1 Bedroom Suites and 2 Bedroom Suites offer a variety of comfortable accommodations to suit your needs while enjoying resort-style amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelUp, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Point Orlando Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Point Orlando Hotel Orlando
The Point Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing