We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Discovery Cove

Discovery Cove
Book In Advance
More Info
$17.98*
and up
Orlando Attractions Roundtrip Transfer
Ranked #3 of 421 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Discovery Cove is a one-of-a kind experience where you can interact with bottlenose dolphins, feed tropical birds, play inches from a family of otters and even walk on the Grand Reef floor-all in one day. Between adventures, recharge with unlimited island fare and refreshments. With this all-inclusive experience your family can unwind, explore, learn, and create memories that will last a lifetime.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Visited 3rd feb2013, second visit...This place is just amazing.. Although my husband and I have visited before this was a first visit for our 4 children ( 9,11,13 and 14) Highlight of the holiday ..it was so nice to watch them burst with excitement whilst snorkelling with the rays and larger fish.. The dolphin experience was rewarded with this comment from my 14yr old son " this is the best day of my life ever" those of you with teenage lads will know that they normally just grunt and huff! Our kids were just content all day ,no squabbling between them at all which is a rare thing!! No complaints with the food all of us ate well all day... Also the kids being able to get their own drinks and ice creams etc really great... For UK visitors we booked this day for the first day of our holiday as you have to arrive early and we always wake up very early due to jet lag the first morning , so choosing the first day to visit worked perfectly for us.. We got the ultimate package which allows unlimited entry to Busch gardens, aquatica and sea world for 14 days .. Worth every penny...

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank mikeisgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12,186
    1,425
    345
    113
    64
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Thanet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“SO relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was in Orlando for 3 weeks, and DC was one of the last things we did. As you can imagine, if you've been there for that long how drained everybody was. Little did we know a trip to Discovery Cove was all we needed to give us a boost!!

There are 4 main attractions;
1) Freshwater Oasis: this is the newest addition. The water is warm, fresh and there is loads of soft white sand. In the middle of this pool there is a little island with marmosets on them, and my god they are cute! If you follow this pool round there is also an otter enclosure, with the glass cleverly angled so it feels like you're swimming with them. There is a small beach area on this part and if you get in early you can claim it as yours, we did and it was the best area as far as we saw.
2) Swimming with dolphins; magical albeit freezing experience
3) Snorkelling with the sting rays and fish etc; although you get a life jacket, the water here does go fairly deep so I'd keep small children near me at all times, espeicially if they're not that confident a swimmer. There is a pool full of baby sting rays and a shark tank around this area too.
4) The lazy river and aviary - these are just magical, the birds are so confident and the river SO SO lovely. By far the most relaxing activity.

Although a fair bit more expensive than the other water parks etc, it is worth it because you get ALL you food, drinks and snacks for free throughout the day, but bear in mind they close about 30 minutes or so before the park closes. You get to keep the snorkel but you have to give the mask back even though we did wander off with one (oops).
The staff are all really friendly, as they are across most of the parks in Orlando.
- As the park closes at 5, I'd recommend getting there when it opens so you get the full day, as we did. The restaurants do breakfast and lunch so you'll be fine here.
There are lockers.
The showers are lush with Molton Brown shower gel and soft towels (freezing though the AC is always on).
You get a free ID card and holder and a free picture on arrival.
Do not forget your ID like a passport or driving licence as you will 100% need it to get in.
If you can get an underwater camera do it as you get some amazing shots of the fish etc!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank jess c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love Love Love”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went a little over a year ago. Very nice and well maintained park. It's pricy but I will definitely go again. Sometimes, they have special deals, may check their websites. Must go amusement park in Orlando!

Helpful?
1 Thank RainboOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

very relaxing and fun, would be perfect for a young family wanting to introduce their children to snorkeling in a controlled enviroment, very safe, dolphin swim was amazing

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cowfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
247 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“So much to do, see, learn & enjoy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have visited 3 times so far. Each time we visit there is something new to see. My family and I rate this our #1 place to visit in Orlando. I love that it is an easy day. You just arrive and enjoy. Limited # of guests each day means it is not overcrowded. Parking is included in ticket price already, all meals, snacks & drinks are included as is your sunblock, towels, locker rental and snorkel gear. At the end of they day, the bathrooms are stocked with toiletries so you can shower & change before heading out.

We love to swim in all the different areas. The new marmoset exhibit was our favorite last time. We spent a little while talking with the staff members that work with them.
A tip! Some of the water areas are nice & warm, however the stingray area is much colder. You can switch from a swim vest to longer sleeved/shorts swim gear before going in there & then switch back again.

We also really enjoyed the food. I was worried it would be low quality food since 2 meals in the day are included along with snacks. That was not the case. Huge variety to choose from! We will be back.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Cove also viewed

 
Orlando, Central Florida
Orlando, Central Florida
 

Been to Discovery Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing