We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bedbugs... but please read on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bedbugs... but please read on”
Reviewed January 27, 2011

I recently made a trip to the Kidani Village villas to celebrate my 50th birthday. Everything about the resort was fantastic. Extremely friendly staff, beautiful hotel, and a fabulous room. Had an exceptional meal that night at Jiko at Jambo House. Everything was going along perfectly until I awoke at 2:30 in the morning to bites, and when I got up and turned on the lights, discovered many bedbugs in my sheets and on the pillows. I immediately called the front desk, and within minutes a wonderful manager (Vicky) was at our door with a bellman to move our things to another room. Once in the next room, an exterminator appeared and they stripped off the sheets in the new room, and he did a thorough inspection of the mattress, bedposts, and room walls to make sure there were no bugs in the new room (there were none). Minutes later, another person showed up with all new sheets and remade the bed. Vicky stayed with us until she was sure everything was good, and she made arrangements for us to have a complimentary buffet breakfast the next morning (which was delicious), and while we were at breakfast, came to our room and took all of our clothes and luggage for heat treatment in case any of the bugs got into them. She then told us to go to the gift shop and purchase any clothes and carry on luggage we needed to get back home, all at no cost to us. When I arrived home later that night in Atlanta, I got a call from the hotel to tell me our clothes and luggage were already back from treatment, and would be overnighted to us the next day.
My main reason for writing this review is to let people know that bedbugs can be found anywhere, and are an unfortunate reality these days in even the best hotels. The way Kidani Village handled the problem was fantastic, and that is why I would stay there again. (I'd strip off the sheets and check the mattress first next time.) The staff was incredibly helpful and kind especially with such an unpleasant encounter with these bugs. Thanks again to Vicky and the wonderful staff for handling this in such a wonderfully kind manner!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Stooty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    343
    122
    42
    20
See reviews for
1,013
153
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topsfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I liked our room but like others have said you could hear everyone in the halls loud and clear, very noisy at times. You could also hear guests in the adjoining rooms. I have to be honest I don't like staying there as much as Jambo House, waiting with two kids for a bus to get breakfast at times took over a half hour, the walk was too much for our children, both having a disability. I don't understand why Disney can't put a small counter service with coffee for guests inside the front lobby. They could make one similar to the one at Beach Club, it wouldn't have to be big, but just enough for guests to get milk, cereal, coffee etc. I find having to take a bus back and fourth to your room just to get a beverage or a snack is uncalled for at a Deluxe Resort!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tinkerbell523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

We stayed in a 2BR Suite at the end of the wing, Savanah View. While a good walk from the lobby, it was also very quiet, as there were no running little feet outside our door. The place was spotless, and housekeeping was responsive. There was convenient free parking in the basement parking garage below our suite. The parking garage was spotless, too. There is a fun animal checklist provided for the kids to track the animals they've seen from the balcony-- we saw 90% of the list.. The pool was not huge, but perfectly adequate, and very well monitored by three lifeguards. I do recommend the Savannah view specifically. If this hadn't been available I probably would not have stayed at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stork03104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2011

This place is beautiful! Then on top of that being able to watch zebra and giraffe from your room is an amazing experience. We had a feeding station for giraffe right outside our room. By the end of our trip we were beginning to learn the animals personalities and quirks. The restaurant Sanaa has great food. I recommend the Chai cream for dessert. Get there right when it opens and ask for a table by the windows that look out on the savanna. Don't forget to look around inside the restaurant too!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IloveAKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I was originally skeptical about the novelty of this resort showing animal views from your room. The variety and frequency of the animals you actually see is truely amazing. The resort offers the typical Disney level of serivce. We stayed in the 2 bedroom villa. The unit had 3 full baths, including a hug steam shower and whirlpool tub in the master. Both bedrooms and the main living room had sliding doors to a large shared balcony over looking the savannah.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lukac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kidani Village. We have stayed at Jambo house before and loved our stay there as well. But Kidani Village allowed us to sleep 5 adults in a room.

First, here are the pros:

The condos are beautifully decorated. There are little Lion King touches everywhere, but it's not cheesy at all (Rafiki in the lace curtains... Africa carvings of Nala and Simba on the beds... opening scene on the tile in the bathroom). Even the dishes are cute!

All of the beds are comfortable. The pull out couch and chair are not your normal pull-out beds. They lay flat and there are no springs sticking into your back! Very nice.

The views are, of course, fabulous. There were always giraffes outside our window!

The lodge is much smaller than Jambo house, but still impressive.

The airline and baggage check is AWESOME!

The restaurant is pricey, but it was one of the best we ate at in all of Disneyworld! We all got different dishes and we all were amazed!

Parking is covered and close to the room.

The pool area is smaller than most Disney resorts, but still very nice.

OK, now for a few cons:

There is NO WIRELESS! Not even an option to pay for it! Why in the world would they build a new resort with no wireless?! Strangest thing... you can pay $10 a day for wired internet...

There is no counter service restaurant. You have to walk 10 min. to Jambo house, which is fine on a leisurely day, but a little far if you're in a hurry.

The rooms are very dim. Especially the bathrooms!

The buses were a little erratic while we were there, which has never been a problem at any other resort for us....

The doors are super heavy... but they don't block ANY sound! You can hear anybody walking by loud and clear. Luckily people seemed to settle down at a reasonable hour while we were there.

Overall it was a fabulous experience and we highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamleia2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2011

I had booked Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge Kidani Village months in advance for a 2 bedroom villa for our December stay. I was able to book during one of Disney's sales so was able to get a pretty good nightly price. When we arrived, we checked in and were given a 2 bedroom lock-off villa. This is different from the regular 2 bedroom in that you are given a 1 bedroom villa along with a studio suite adjoining. The studio suite only had 1 bed with a small loveseat sofa bed. We were a party of 5 and this did not work for us, plus this was not what I had booked, so I complained and at first was told that they could not change us to a 2 bedroom villa for 2 nights but would give us $100 credit per night. 2 members of my party went back to the front desk and spoke with a supervisor in person and explained that we were given the wrong villa. He was able to upgrade us to a magnificent 3 bedroom 2 level villa for the same price as I had booked the 2 bedroom villa. We were extremely pleased with the 3 bedroom villa. We had 3 large bedrooms, 1 being a master suite with king bed and huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower, the other 2 bedrooms had 2 queen size beds in each (very comfortable beds). Each bedroom had an adjoining full bathroom, plus another full bathroom downstairs by the kitchen and living room. We had a large kitchen and dining area, 2 living areas, 6 flat screen tvs, including a large tv in the downstairs living area. We had 3 balconies in order to watch the animals. The villa was spotless, and we had daily maid service. The only negative was that it was at the very end of one wing and there were almost 700 steps to the lobby! (we counted). Otherwise it was over the top. We were so busy going to the parks that we hardly had time to enjoy all the amenities. We had a rental car so we didn't have to hike down to the lobby each time to catch the bus. We have found that we can drive to the parks, enjoy free parking (by staying at a Disney hotel) and this works very well for us. The Kidani Village and Animal Kingdom Lodge are tucked back close to the Animal Kingdom Park, so they are somewhat off the beaten path and a ways away from the other parks. Also the Disney theme is understated in this resort so you are not seeing Mickey Mouse everywhere. We ordered room service one morning for breakfast and they were very prompt with the delivery, and food was good. We also ate at Sanaa one evening and that meal was delicious, totally different from the regular theme park fast food.
We always stay at Disney resorts due to the perks they offer and we will definitely continue to stay with them. They made this into an unforgetable vacation experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C5254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Villas of Grand Cypress
#1 of 337 in Orlando
1,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Address: 3701 Osceola Pkwy, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8445
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on your own African safari adventure at this magnificent resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design offers exquisite views of lush savannas-where over 30 species of African wildlife freely roam. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and all the comforts of home in our spacious studios and multi-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing