We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Peaceful...Esp Wonderful if you have the right room location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2010

We recently stayed at Kidani Village for the first time at AKL, which is our DVC home resort. We fell in love with Animal Kingdom Lodge during our first stay at Jambo House, and joined DVC in October 2008. This was our first time staying on the Kidani side since it opened, and as much as we love AKL, we found that some oversights for the design of the Kidani made our stay less inconvenient. We brought our two small daughters on this trip: a 4-year-old and our 6-month-old. Our room (#7751) was located on the Red River Hog side (far side) of the Sunset Savannah. We paid for a savannah room and since our room faced outward (not toward the main savannah) we saw very few animals at all (only hogs, pelicans, Okapi). It was a very shallow area of savannah with a service trail running right through it, and was bit of a disappointment for us and for our 4-year-old. I will definitely request a room on the Giraffe side when staying at Kidani again.
Our room was very far from the main lobby, and with two small children it was quite a hike to transportation, especially after a long day at the parks. A major oversight in my opinion is the absence of a quick-service restaurant, which resulted in the Mara (Jambo House) being very overcrowded not to mention at least a 20 minute walk from our room. The last half of our week was rainy and we stayed in the better half of two days which made the distance from Jambo House and restaurant access sort of a pain. "Sanaa" seemed too exotic for our daughter so we did not experience it and I really think just a small cafeteria even if only for breakfast/lunch would be nice. We love Boma and Jiko, so opted for those instead. After reading some of these other reviews, I regret not having asked for a different room as I think this would have made all the difference in a more pleasant stay.
Our room was spacious and very clean as we have always found with AKL. We did find leftover underwear in the dryer which was strange (4/5), but otherwise the room was very clean. The master bathroom in our 1BR villa was huge and we overall had plenty of space. The beds for some reason are very uncomfortable and stiff, which we've found to be the case at Jambo as well. The pool is amazing, was not crowded during our visit, and the Samawati springs area is a very cool play area for kids. The resort was great, our room was ready even though we were a few hours early for check-in and the staff was friendly and efficient. The store at Kidani could definitely be bigger and offer more options, but the main shop at Jambo House is a larger, better alternative.
The bus service is much busier that it was before Kidani existed, and we found the wait to be much longer and the buses often packed. During the rain, we waited over 30 minutes at Magic Kingdom for a bus. Fortunately, most park buses stop at Kidani first, otherwise we would have had issues getting 2 strollers on/off. After staying at the main lodge, we found Kidani to be overall less impressive and some of the wonderful conveniences we really liked about Jambo House are not the same, but it is still a beautiful place to stay. We just learned to be more specific in our request next time!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MamaCruz0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,289 - 1,295 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2010

I honestly can't say enough good things about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa in the Kidani Village section of the resort in December, and we were very, very pleased. The 1 bedroom villa is very spacious, and it even has 2 full bathrooms. The master bathroom is HUGE and features a large walk-in shower and a separate whirlpool tub.

It is truly an incredible experience to see animals grazing right outside your balcony, and the overall theme of the resort is exotic and unique. If you're looking for something that you won't find just anywhere, this is it!

The service we received was excellent, our room was spotless, and the resort itself was beautiful. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ead979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We had a two bedroom condo in Kidani Village. There were four adults and two teenagers and we found we had lots of space and privacy. The villa was very nicely decorated and in excellent condition. Lots of tile and granite. The master bedroom had a one person whirlpool tub which we enjoyed. Also three full bathrooms which we needed! We had a huge balcony that ran the length of the villa, and a savannah view with lots of giraffes, zebras, ostrich, and african cattle. The pool was great and had activities in the afternoon for younger children. My only criticism of this place was the lack of a casual eating place like Mera at Jambo House, the considerably smaller onsite store, and limited onsite activities. There is an expensive onsite restaurant with a very limited menu, while Jambo House has three restaurants. Most of the good activities take place at Jambo and shopping is very limited at Kidani, when you compare the two villages. It's a 10 - 15 minute walk between the two villages, and it was very cold when we were there, so we didn't walk to Jambo House very often. There is a bus service but it's not user friendly or timely.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
Thank Peggy55Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I recently stayed at the Kidani Village villas at the Animal Kingdom Lodge in WDW. The place is beautiful and it is cool to go and sit in a chair and look at giraffes and antelopes outside your hotel. However, if you enjoy sleeping and being away from kids, this is NOT the place. Early in the morning and late in the evening, you hear kids yelling and sprinting up and down the halls coming back from the theme parks. The management is wonderful, they helped with the noise and when my bag was covered with oil from the airlines, they gave me a new bag since they couldn't clean it. Above and beyond necessary! So if noise and kids don't bother you, I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EpcotAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We stayed in a 1BR value in the Jambo House with a savannah view in ostrich trail. The room was the first room on the right as you entered the hallway. It is on the opposite side of the lobby from the elevators, but still convenient. It is a savannah view and it was a nice view, but very few animals came up that far. A few did come up when they put the food out, but it's kind of at the top of the savannah and most animals stayed farther out. But still it is a value room and any view of the savannah for those points is great! No complaints from me.

The room was comfortable and in good condition. We had 4 adults staying in the room for three of the five nights we were there. We had plenty of room. It would have been more convenient to have the room with the toilet have an entrance off the hall rather than be in the BR, but we managed fine.

There were two sinks in the BR and a whirlpool tub/shower combo. The tub/shower combo was great with lots of room, but there was a big step to get in and out of the tub.

The hide-abed was reported as comfortable by our friends. The master bedroom was comfortable also, but the door and the bed touched every time the door was fully opened or closed. The beside table was also behind the door, so if it was open, you had to close it to get back there. Again, not a big deal, just something we noted.

It was wonderful to have a full kitchen, even though we really only used to to make breakfast and heat up out left over pizza when we were there. It has a place setting for 8, so even with 4 people you have plenty of tableware and could fill the dishwasher before actually having to run it.

We really enjoyed the hotel. There are tons of activities to do at the hotel. It would have been nice to have the time to check some of those out also. The grounds are beautful and the pool area really seemed like you were in a jungle. The loungers are grouped together with trees/bushes surrounding them. It really give a feeling of less people around. The animals on the savannah were awesome. It was nice just to walk out and see zebras grazing and tommies roaming around.

Boma is a wonderful place to eat. It's buffet style, so you get to try lots of different dishes. Make sure to save room for the zebra domes!

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikayla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

This was a repeat stay at the Animal Kingdom Villas, staying in Jambo house for a second time. This hotel is excellent, the ambiance is amazing with animals frolicking outside your balcony and there are a multitude of programs for children and adults. We had a savannah view on the 5th floor overlooking the Arusha savannah. During our stay we saw giraffes, zebras and many other types of African wildlife. The restraunts are also amazing. The counter service restrauant, The Mara has a great selection of quick foods and Boma is the most amazing buffett I have ever been to. The rooms are well decorated, clean and comfortable. I could go to Disney and spend my whole vacation at this hotel I like it that much. I would highly recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jedixtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

loud music in the lobby,elevator and inall pulbic areas. the only hotel where the bus stop is located up close to your room again noise noise till midnight or later and also the piped in music at the bus stop which you hear in your bedroom till the wee hours. the picnic and play area is very far from the hotel which is hardly ever used and the pool and the excerising room are uncomfortably located in front of the hotel where all the traffic and unsafe for young chidren. this hotel is very guest unfriendly and the staff does not care they are like zombies

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank byronthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Disney's Beach Club Villas
#104 of 342 in Orlando
827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Address: 3701 Osceola Pkwy, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8445
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $445 - $1,846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on your own African safari adventure at this magnificent resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design offers exquisite views of lush savannas-where over 30 species of African wildlife freely roam. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and all the comforts of home in our spacious studios and multi-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing