We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best anywhere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We just completed a week stay at christmas. This is one of the most well rounded and amazing places to stay of any resort anywhere. Watching the animals, all the activities available and the disney service make for a world class resort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dpuck1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2013

…but was left a bit deflated. The staff was nice, although the gal at check-in mistakenly told us that our Magic Bands were active and ready -- then we got turned away from the entrance to HS, because our APs were not activated as we thought and the line was very long (week before Christmas). No matter, even though we left the park (our first evening here and we were too tired to brave the line and then go in), we went back and had lovely baths in the giant whirlpool tub.

Had a 2BR standard view for 10 days, checking out the day after Christmas (DVC members using points -- didn't want to "waste" any on a view). The space was fine, the furniture was well-themed and very cute, but the furnishings and accessories (curtains and dressings, linens, towels, etc.) were really non-luxurious. The shower curtain was torn at the hook, so that part just hung down. Three of the hooks were also missing. Our refrigerator had some sort of leak in it -- thankfully, I saw it happening before we left for the park that day and placed a towel there until maintenance arrived. The washer needed a new sensor to use the correct water source (hot was coming out cold and vice versa, leaving all clothes rinsed in hot water). Our coffee pot's handle had been unscrewed and then repositioned to pour out tilting the pot sideways. Too much stuff to happen at this level, IMO.

The window dressings were covered in dust. We tried to put our Elf on the Shelf up there and it was really gross. The particle board in the dresser between the last drawer and the cabinet below was falling down. I absolutely hated that the fan in the vanity area of the bathroom and in the toilet room were both motion-sensored. There was no way to turn it off if you didn't want it.

Something weird was that the door to the master bedroom had a large vent on the bottom, so even when the door was closed, you could hear the TV and every word the person in there was saying from the living room area.

The housekeeping and maintenance staff were responsive and quick. I still don't get how they don't provide any lotion (so weird to me), and how they expect a family to use one little bottle of shampoo/conditioner over three days (I bring my own so not a problem for us, but the villa is supposed to sleep up to 9, and that would be really stretching it. I know you can call and ask for more, but why should we need to at these prices? Can't they just start with more and replenish only if needed?

Sanaa was devine. Loved it. Excellent flavors and a pretty good selection. We had room service twice for dinner, and it was good, but wish they had more options, especially for kids or those not wanting the themed dishes.

Waiting for the buses to the parks was easy and the board updated in real time to let us know when the bus would arrive. It seemed like too long to wait during a busy time of year. Waiting for the return bus took even longer.

Our "home" is AKV, so we will be back. I just don't get how something that opened only four years ago can be so in need of fixes and a deep clean. We have stayed at the Grand Californian Hotel at Disneyland many times and it is way better. I hope AKV can get up to par!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank twopeasonepod808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family stayed at Kidani Village in April of 2013. It is seemingly more quiet than the Jambo House but is just as much fun for kids (ours were 3 and 2.5). Upon arriving at Kidani, we were greeted by a smiling and friendly Disney employee who valet parked our car and sent our luggage up to our room.
The lobby is of course, gorgeous and you can see the animals on the reserve as soon as you enter the lobby. The front desk staff was organized and friendly and provided us with information about the hotel, the layout, restaurants, family activities as well as how and where to catch the shuttles for the parks.

The walk to our room, which was very far away from the lobby, took quite awhile due to the size of this facility. We were glad to have one of the very last rooms on the floor since it was more peaceful and it seemed as though the animals congregated in that area, especially at nighttime. However, if you have kids who either whine on long walks, or you are not using a stroller, it can become a pain to do that walk over and over again especially since you are walking a lot in the parks!

Our luggage arrived to our room shortly after we did which was nice because I have stayed at hotels where you have to go on a wild goose chase for luggage you could have easily lugged to your room, yourself!

The room we had was the 2 bedroom villa (savanna view) and oh my it was absolutely stunning! It was perfect for my family since we had myself, my husband, our 3 year old daughter, my sister, brother in law, my 2.5 year old nephew and my parents! It was very spacious and simply stunning! A true masterpiece of a hotel room! It had tons of conveniences in the kitchen such as a full size refrigerator, oven, stove, all dishes and utensils as well as a washer and dryer and large kitchen table. It had more than enough space for all of us to comfortably sleep and be in the main room together and best of all a huge balcony with sliding glass door access from all three rooms of the villa. The balcony had lounge chairs, sitting chairs and small tables-- perfect for drinking coffee in the morning and cocktails in the evening all the while enjoying the stars of the show-- all of the animals on the savanna!!!

You can enjoy the savanna by actually walking out to a large fire pit in the middle (with pleasant, non view constricting safety fencing around you), and relax in a comfortable rocking chair and listen to the sounds and watch the wonderful animals. We did this almost every evening and it was very pleasant!

We ate lunch at Sanaa (be sure to make a reservation, request a table next to the picture view savanna windows, and go as soon as they open for the most attentive service). Our lunch, albeit expensive, was so absolutely delicious that we often discuss how memorable the meal was! we ordered apps, several dishes for the table to share, traditional Indian beverages and desserts for sharing. They also have a children's menu with standard fare so the kids were happy and entertained while dining (especially by the wild looking bird who stared at us nearly the whole meal (he saw his reflection) and the giant 100+ year old tortoise who was posted us next to us).

The pool and pool side bar is fantastic here with children's "Pool Parties" throughout the day (all ages). Led by Disney Cast Members, there are games, contests and music that will sure keep your kids happy! I participated in the pool parties since my daughter was only 3 and I had a great time as well! There is a huge playground/splash pad right next to the pool so you will definitely not get bored out here! The alcoholic beverages were good too ;)

Nighttime at the pool meant s'mores over fire pits and Disney movies you could watch either curled up on a lounge chair or from a hot tub!! Great idea Disney!!! It was fun for everyone in our party!

On our last morning we walked over to the Jambo House (which was about 150% more crowded! noisy and chaotic) to have breakfast buffet at Boma (themed dining). It was traditional African fare along with American style breakfast foods. It was packed in there but absolutely amazing food, flavors, quality and service. I have Celiac Disease (gluten free) so when we arrived (I told them prior that I have Celiac), the Executive Chef took me around and showed me GF items as well as brought me out a tray of GF baked goods (donuts, muffins, bread etc) and Gf Mickey Mouse shaped waffles! Very nice!!

This was a fabulous vacation and great resort to stay at. It was expensive (as with all the Disney resort hotels we have stayed at) but the resort really knows how to make it an unforgettable trip! It is definitely worth the splurge to stay at Kidani in a Savanna room and it may even be more economical for rent a villa if you have more in your party (as opposed to renting a bunch of rooms) like we did! Hope this review helps anyone who is considering a stay at Kidani:)

Room Tip: Savanna view room is the only way to go! Don't spend the money for a parking lot view here! The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here again a week over the Thanksgiving holiday in a one bedroom. As a DVC owner, this is one of our favorite onsite resorts and also our home resort. It is great with a family of four to have the extra bathroom, especially the awesome master bath with the great jetted tub and huge shower. There are no resorts on Earth quite like Kidani and Jambo with the animals. Watching the baby giraffe and baby zebra was very fun. We don't mind taking the shuttle over to Jambo for Boma and the Mara to eat or even walking. Although the resort was full due to the holiday, we never encountered any noise. We always look forward to staying at Kidani! Mpaka sisi kukutana tena.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKNnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Returned to the UK on 23rd December following a 17 night stay in Florida/cruise. We stayed at Kidani Village for our last 7 nights and we were not disappointed! Had a 2 bed, 3 bathroom apartment overlooking the Savannah. We watched zebras, giraffes, storks and cattle from our balcony, which was amazing!! The hotel was clean, staff friendly and food was good. We ate at Sanaa and Boma and the counter service at Jambo house. The food was good, however we thought Boma was a bit expensive for a buffet restaurant. The pool at Kidani was not crowded and the activities for the kids were fantastic. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debphoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This review is only of Kidani Villas, not WDW or any other facility. Kidani is laid out in a ridiculous way, LONG halls (up to 1/4 mile from the lobby)! If you are looking to stay here, ask for a room close-ish to the Lobby. We stayed with a Savanna view, it was nice, but really it's a view of the rooms across the courtyard, not a view of the Savanna. The Villas are in no way attached to the Animal Kingdom park itself. The animal keepers did their best to try to get the animals to come into the courtyard, but animals do what they want. In the week we were there, we saw the giraffes, warthogs, cattle and antelope. We did not see the zebra from our balcony, and really never saw them up close. They stayed close to the barn. If is a very calm atmosphere, room service is good (but extremely expensive and 2 points off the deluxe dining plan instead of 1 at sit down service restaurants). We received moderate service from the concierge in a very off season week, so I don't know what they were so grouchy about, but they would not make restaurant reservations over the phone, we had to hike down to the Lobby if we wanted to make them. Annoying. Sanaa is not a great restaurant, don't waste your time, neither is Jiko. Jambo house has a great place to have breakfast (buffet) with very attentive service. Albert was our favorite server!

Room Tip: As for a room CLOSE to the Lobby. Otherwise you will be taking a long hike to your room in a place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsQ49316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Our family of 3 spend 2 nights at AKV-Kidani Village in a 2-BR villa. We rented last minute DVC points and only paid $310 per night.

This resort is beautifully appointed with lovely furniture, art and light fixtures. The pool area, community room, and lobby are lovely, BUT the hotel has "cheap bones". Beyond the lovely decor and theming, the resort looks and feels like a motel. The doors and bathrooms are very institutional. The rooms feel dark and a bit dungeon-like. We had a room on the 4th floor facing the parking lot (Standard View). The towels, toiletries and bedding were very standard, not luxury by any means.

During our 7-night WDW stay, we also stayed at Bay Lake Tower and the new villas at the Grand Floridian. I really wanted to love Kidani Village, but I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortlandWelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lake Buena Vista
Walt Disney World Dolphin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Address: 3701 Osceola Pkwy, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8445
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $410 - $1,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on your own African safari adventure at this magnificent resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design offers exquisite views of lush savannas-where over 30 species of African wildlife freely roam. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and all the comforts of home in our spacious studios and multi-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing