We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The lobby is absolutely stunning, when you walk into the Kidani Villas. The staff is welcoming & the onsite restaurant "Sanaa" was lovely.

We loved our 1 BR Savannah View Suite. Having the animals right off of the balcony was an amazing experience for our entire family. When the kids were jagged out from a long day at the parks, they would just go out & sit on the balcony & watch the animals. The room itself was ample. The master-bath was incredible--huge tub & great big glass paneled shower. The kids slept comfortably on the pull-out couch in the living area. It was nice to have the second room. The kitchen is well appointed & was a nice feature. Although we did buy groceries, we did not use the stove. The only curious thing about the room, was the poor lighting. The lighting was quite low & hard to see, even in the bathrooms. It made getting ready a tad difficult.

The commute to the parks is also on the long side. But, it's not at all inconvenient.

All in all our entire trip was a magical experience. The kids can't wait to come back to Kidani.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

7452 is on the extreme end on the property. It is closer to the Jambo house pool than the Kidani Pool. Nonetheless our 2 bedroom condo was very good. It had 3 full bathrooms which was great. The kitchen was nice but no blender and no spatula. As a condo I would stay here again just hopefully not so far from the rest of Kidani.

The big problem is no one decides to stay here just to stay here. We come to enjoy the parks. By the time you commit to Disney transportation to get to the MK you have given up a lot of time and in the world of waiting on line v fast pass this is significant.

It would all be OK if Disney cared but they don't.

I suggested to my DVC sales person that they could give 3 instant fast passes to make staying on property and cost of admission worth it but evidently service recovery is no longer a Disney core value.

If you are looking for a relaxing Disney property this it. If you want to enjoy seeing Zebras, Giraffes this it. If you want anything else in a WDW experience at this point I am not sure any property rewards you for your expense. The extra magic hours were 7 am or after midnight. Neither worked for my family. There was no extra magic for us.

If you want to just go to AK this is a great property. If you want to do MK its counter productive but I am not sure any property makes sense for the MK. My advice is enjoy Kidani for what it is but do not count on it to make a MK experience worth your hard earned money.

Room Tip: Avoid Rooms that are on the extremes of the property as the walks are long and the last thing you ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drjonman2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are DVC members and this was our first trip actually using our points. We decided to do a little "hotel hopping". We stayed at the Bay Lake, Wilderness Lodge and lastly AKL. This was definitely our favorite. Being able to look out your balcony and see all these animals was truly breathtaking! We were fortunate enough to see many zebras, giraffes, wildebeests, and ostriches to name a few. We stayed in a studio which was spacious enough for my family of 3. The only downside of DVC is there is no daily housekeeping but there are trash rooms which is convenient. We loved the decor of the room and we thought the lighting fit the atmosphere perfectly. The lobby is absolutely gorgeous and there is an area where you can go outside and get a closer look of the animals as well as ask any questions to a cast member who is knowledgeable about the animals. My only tip is to definitely stay at the Kidani Village instead of Jambo House if possible. Reason being is the busses always pick up and drop off guests at Kidani Village first, so by the time we got to Jambo House there was little to no seating left. Which can be quite uncomfortable having to stand the whole bus ride. Especially to Magic Kingdom which is an almost 20 min bus ride. Overall we really enjoyed our stay at the AKL and felt right at home! We can't wait to come back and here those 2 magical words "Welcome Home"!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdysldy1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I should state up front that we are "old hands" at Disney, visiting from the UK perhaps once a year, just for fun, with our kids, now 10 and 14 but only for a couple of nights at a time. We stayed in a 3bed condo, on the two top floors of the resort. We were a long way from reception but we like the fact that this resort has underground parking, so no problems with the suitcases. The room was, as ever, outstanding. Huge, in fact, giant. Well equipped, well served. I like the fact that we have complimentary wifi but I think they should do water as well ($7 for a bottle - ouch!). Other reviewers have made the point that this resort is very spread out. This is correct, and if walking is an issue, you need to make sure you have a room close to the lobby. We liked the Sanaa restaurant a lot, but accept that there are relatively few dining options here - not an issue for us as we were only here a couple of nights, and the second night we had eaten in the Rainforest Cafe for a late lunch and couldn't eat anything more. The resort is beautifully done, and we like the slightly quieter ambience vs Jambo where we have also stayed. The buses to Animal Kingdom always go to Kidani first, which is also an advantage! When we stay here, we are typically focused on going to AK as our "prime reason" for visiting. If I could suggest, I would say that visitors planning a full week in Disney, or more, might try 2 or 3 nights here - there is nothing elsewhere that matches the giraffes wandering across the savannah etc etc - and then the rest in one of the other resorts. I think this is absolutely worth doing, but it is so different from the other Disney themed resorts that to get the whole experience, you probably need to stay at two resorts ( at least ).

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk, ask for a room close to the lobby well in advance Be clear about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Atmosphere and Common Areas:
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village is honestly one of the most beautiful resorts that I have ever stayed in. The resort itself is very unique and peaceful. It was designed with three themes, Fabric, Proverbs, and Art. the art is abundant everywhere, and coupled with its smaller size creates a very cozy feel. I stayed here a few months ago with my family and loved it. I loved being able to lounge outside any time I wanted and just watch the animals. Although Jambo house is larger and offers more activities and restaurants, I would say that anyone looking for a more peaceful and quiet environment should stay in kidani village because kidani village does not have the same drums and parads of children that Jambo house has.

Dining:
Like I previously said, Kidani Village does lack the same dining options that Jambo house has, but this is not as problematic as it may seem. Jambo house is short walk or bus ride from Kidani Village. In addition, each room in Kidani Village is equipped with its own refrigerator, microwave, toaster, and coffee maker. Kidani Village also has a small convenience shop in its lobby where small microwavable meals and other snacks are sold. To get to Jambo house from Kidani Village, just board any theme park bus. To get to Kidani Village from Jambo house, just board any Downtown Disney Bus.

The Room:
1. Deluxe Studio
My family fist split up into two Deluxe Studio for the first nights and the stayed in a 2 Bedroom Villa for the remainder of the trip. The Deluxe Studio has 1 Queen Bed and 1 Double-Size Sleeper Sofa. The Deluxe studios can sleep 3-4 people at most (although anymore than 3 will get cramped unless you have two smaller children who are fine with sharing a full out bed). While we were staying in the studio, I was stuck on the pull out bed, and it was very uncomfortable! After a long day in the parks however, it is just nice to be able to lie down!
1 Bedroom Villa
although I have not stayed in a 1 Bedroom Villa, I'm sure it is very similar to the 2 bedroom (minus the extra room). It includes 1 King Bed and 1 Queen-Size Sleeper Sofa and 1 Twin-Size Sleeper Chair. Disney's website says that it Sleeps up to 5.
3. 2 Bedroom Villa
The 2 Bedroom Villa was very nice and spacious! We had 6 people in our group and we were all very comfortable and happy. The 2 bedroom Villa has 1 King Bed and 2 Queen Beds and 1 Queen-Size Sleeper Sofa and 1 Twin-Size Sleeper Chair. According to Disney's website, it sleeps up to nine people. Our first studio was very far away from the lobby, so it was a haul to get everyone's luggage to the room and back to the lobby. It was also inconvenient to get to the lobby and the busses. Our 2 Bedroom Villa was very close to the lobby though and was very conveniently located to the lobby.
Housekeeping did very minimal work.

Amenities in all rooms: (according to disney's website)
- Toaster
- Full-Size or Stacked Washer and Dryer
- Microwave
- Telephone with Voice Mail Messaging
- DVD Player
- Alarm Clock with Radio
- Hair Dryer
- Internet - Free WiFi
- Iron & Board
- Refrigerator - Small
- Coffee Maker
- Crib Pack 'n Play
- Safe - In Room

Transportation:
This was the one downfall of the Animal Kingdom lodge for me. Since my family did not have a car, we took disney's complimentary transportation. The remoteness of the resort does add to the feel of the resort, but it also adds to the travel time and inconvenience. My family's two favorite parks are Magic Kingdom and Epcot, so we spend the majority of our time there. It took about 17 minutes to get to magic kingdom and Epcot, about 5 minutes to get to Animal kingdom, about 12 minutes to get to hollywood studios, about 10 minutes to the boardwalk (boardwalk inn), 10 to get to Blizzard Beach, about 16 to get to Typhoon Lagoon, and about 15 minutes to get to Downtown Disney by bus. Sometimes it can take a while to finally get the bus you want (after seeing the Epcot and downtown disney one like 5 times before the Magic kingdom one finally comes) but the busses come roughly every 10 or so minutes and the bus stop has plenty of seating in the shade.

Recreation/amenities:
- Uwanja Camp
- Jogging Trails
- Kidani Campfire (I would highly recommend this)
- Safari So Good Arcade
- Basketball and Shuffleboard Courts
- Community Hall (planned activities, arts and crafts, video games, billiards etc. Spots equipment can also be signed out here)
- Johari Treasures (convenience shop)
- Survival of the Fittest Fitness Center (by Samawati Springs Pool)
- Tennis Court
- Samawati Springs Pool (zero-entry pool with a 128-ft. long water slide, Maji Pool Bar, and two whirlpool spas. There are also clean showers available near this pool)
- Amenities offered at Jambo house (Uzima Pool, Hakuna Matata Playground, Pumbaa's Fun and Games Arcade, Massage and Fitness Center, and Simba's Clubhouse)

Source:
https://disneyworld.disney.go.com/resorts/animal-kingdom-villas-kidani/rates-rooms/

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank saraj714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We would of not stayed in disney qccomodation if it wasnt for our friends, they had bought into dvc and offered to use their points to take us. When we pulled up it was wow, the loby was lovely, we then went to the room which was a long walk, took us 10 minutes to get into the room we were trying to swipe the card which is wrong, when we got in it we thought how lovely we had a 2 bedroom both with on-suite bath, main had a lovely walk in shower, and jacuzzi bath, the their was a pull out bed in the lounge, the kitchen was well equiped with dishwasher, coffee machine but no kettle, and microwave, hidden was a washer and dryer which was useful. Balcony was massive we had a corner room could see loads of animals from the room which was lovely. Housekeeping was only once which was bad as our friends have to pay dues every year so think this is a bit unfare for them, the beds were so cumfy 2 queen size beeds in our room i slept really well here, the only complaint really is carpets in hallway were dirty but with so many people they wouldnt able to keep up. The pool area was lovely, i loved the hot jaccuzi so relaxing felt like you were in the jungle, the kids loved the slides and the kids club, would of loved to come back here but price, but glad we had the chance to come here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tannedjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Kidani Village rooms are efficiency rooms with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker. The decor is average, house keeping does the minimum required. A bit shabby. If you are located at either end of the hotel it is a really long walk to the lobby - something to think about when shlepping kids and luggage. Room service for breakfast was an 1 1/2 wait, so on the last day we could not get our breakfast because it would not come before check-out time and they would not allow us to remain in the room until it was delivered so we had to cancel our order. We booked a room for 2 adults and one child. There was only one bed and a pull out sofa, which we had to make ourselves. The first day the maid staff left the bed open, the second day they closed it up - so upon arriving back at about 1:00 in the morning we had to start making beds. Our room was cramped - having to climb over the bed or move the table and chairs to access the balcony with the bed open. I know other rooms were more spacious with a better layout. The day we left a cast member knocked on the door at 9:00 am to ask us when we were leaving. We did see animals from our balcony. The African cast members were knowledgable and friendly and seemed truly happy to answer questions and engage in conversation. Service was not what I have come to expect from Disney - often cast members could not answer questions, gave erroneous information, or just were nowhere to be found. - ditto service in restaurant, although the food was good.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth the money if you want to hang on your own balcony, but there are many pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostontomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Address: 3701 Osceola Pkwy, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8445
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $427 - $1,568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on your own African safari adventure at this magnificent resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design offers exquisite views of lush savannas-where over 30 species of African wildlife freely roam. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and all the comforts of home in our spacious studios and multi-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing