We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DVC holiday with friends” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“DVC holiday with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We would of not stayed in disney qccomodation if it wasnt for our friends, they had bought into dvc and offered to use their points to take us. When we pulled up it was wow, the loby was lovely, we then went to the room which was a long walk, took us 10 minutes to get into the room we were trying to swipe the card which is wrong, when we got in it we thought how lovely we had a 2 bedroom both with on-suite bath, main had a lovely walk in shower, and jacuzzi bath, the their was a pull out bed in the lounge, the kitchen was well equiped with dishwasher, coffee machine but no kettle, and microwave, hidden was a washer and dryer which was useful. Balcony was massive we had a corner room could see loads of animals from the room which was lovely. Housekeeping was only once which was bad as our friends have to pay dues every year so think this is a bit unfare for them, the beds were so cumfy 2 queen size beeds in our room i slept really well here, the only complaint really is carpets in hallway were dirty but with so many people they wouldnt able to keep up. The pool area was lovely, i loved the hot jaccuzi so relaxing felt like you were in the jungle, the kids loved the slides and the kids club, would of loved to come back here but price, but glad we had the chance to come here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tannedjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    330
    120
    39
    19
See reviews for
985
148
8
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Kidani Village rooms are efficiency rooms with a refrigerator, microwave, toaster, coffee maker. The decor is average, house keeping does the minimum required. A bit shabby. If you are located at either end of the hotel it is a really long walk to the lobby - something to think about when shlepping kids and luggage. Room service for breakfast was an 1 1/2 wait, so on the last day we could not get our breakfast because it would not come before check-out time and they would not allow us to remain in the room until it was delivered so we had to cancel our order. We booked a room for 2 adults and one child. There was only one bed and a pull out sofa, which we had to make ourselves. The first day the maid staff left the bed open, the second day they closed it up - so upon arriving back at about 1:00 in the morning we had to start making beds. Our room was cramped - having to climb over the bed or move the table and chairs to access the balcony with the bed open. I know other rooms were more spacious with a better layout. The day we left a cast member knocked on the door at 9:00 am to ask us when we were leaving. We did see animals from our balcony. The African cast members were knowledgable and friendly and seemed truly happy to answer questions and engage in conversation. Service was not what I have come to expect from Disney - often cast members could not answer questions, gave erroneous information, or just were nowhere to be found. - ditto service in restaurant, although the food was good.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view are worth the money if you want to hang on your own balcony, but there are many pl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bostontomaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basehor, Kansas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Beautiful property! We stayed at this resort from March 15th through March 23rd. We had seven people with us and the rooms were like mini apartments. Plenty of room to get our needed space. Everything was luxury. Nice equipped kitchens. Large living area with flat screen TV with a pull out sofa and a pull out love seat. Could easily sleep three in the living area. Three full baths. Master shower was huge and also had a jacuzzi bathtub. Beds were comfortable. Huge deck overlooking the savanna. Very happy with accommodations. Pool area was big with several slides and a couple hot tubs. They kept the area very clean. Tennis and basketball courts were also nice, but quite a distance to walk to. Did not use the workout facility, but it also looked very nice. There were only a couple negatives that I will share about the property. One, the rooms are very dark, which the only time I had an issue with this was when I was getting ready in the mornings. Very hard to see to put makeup on. Maybe some small lighted mirrors would help. Two, my mother owns Disney timeshare and she reserved three rooms for our trip. One of the rooms faced the inner section and had the giraffes and zebras as their view, which was awesome! The other two rooms, including my mother's, faced the front of the resort and had some kind of deer, wart hogs, etc. Not a bad view either, but I can see deer pretty frequently back in Kansas. I just thought, timeshare members should have more priority over others and get the better views, especially for the price she paid! Last of all, the distance from the lobby to our villa was about a 1/4 mile. Not normally a problem, but after walking all day at the parks, it's quite a distance to walk. I just wonder if they are going to figure out a better way for people to get from lobby to the very back villas. We thought of one of those moving flat escalators? Or some kind of short cut through the parking garages? I don't know just thoughts....but, I think something will have to be done. So, if you don't want the far walk, request rooms close to the lobby. Overall, the resort was fabulous and if it weren't for the price, I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Request view of giraffes and zebras, that is the best view they have. Also, if you don't want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephvaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife and I are stayed in a One Bedroom Villa at Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, Kidani Village, with our two sons (2 and 4 years old) from February 27th to March 7th, 2013. This review will focus almost exclusively on the property, with reference to the Disney parks and attractions as they relate relates to the resort. Our recent stays at Disney include the Beach Club with an upcoming reservation at Contemporary’s Bay Lake Tower.

Resort Overview
For those not familiar with Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge, it is important to understand the layout. The overall property consists of two separate resorts; Disney's Animal Kingdom Lodge - Jambo House, and then Kidani Village. The former was the original property and stands as a larger resort with more restaurants, etc.. Kidani Village is adjacent to Jambo house, newer, but small with fewer dining options. Both properties in the beautifully adorned resort encapsulate a working, meticulously recreated African savannah. There are essentially two room views to choose from; savannah and non-savannah. We stayed in a savannah-room villa, but I'll get to that in just a moment. To maximize the number of room capable of savannah views, the resort and it's rooms run out great lengths from the a central lobby. This is well documented in previous reviews of the property, but essential when considering this resort. Walks back to the lobby for restaurants and Disney transportation can be in excess of 10 minutes from the far reaches of the 'wings', especially accompanied by small children or the elderly. This never bothered us, as we had a nice double stroller for our kids, and are only in our young 30s. In what may be the most incredible resort theming undertaking at Disney, the buildings, public spaces and rooms are breathtakingly amazing. From elaborately carved woodwork throughout to thatched roofing, this property is overwhelming. The larger Jambo House does have a more impressive feel to it, but again, it's larger. There is nothing less impressive about Kidani Village, simply smaller. All of the aforementioned points pale in comparison to the reason you choose this resort --- the savannah. Even if you aren't staying in a savannah room, there is plenty of opportunity to take in the animals and lush landscapes from the observation outcropping off the lobby, or from the comfort of a window-side table in Sanaa (restaurant). Giraffes, zebras and antelopes join a cast of many, many animals to be viewed throughout your stay. Of many organized activities provided by the resort, several involve animal viewing and educational opportunities. Some of the best are offered after dark by a nightly bonfire on the savannah with the chance to use night vision goggles to view the more nocturnal residents. The pool at Kidani is very kid friendly with two fun waterslides and a really inventive wet playground that kept my children occupied for hours. There is also a nice little bar/grill at the pool mixing drinks and serving up basic fare. Aside from the restaurants, a walk over to Jambo House is a must with small children as they have a nice, hidden playground that is perfect for taking a load off while the kids burn some additional energy from the day.

Dining
As you'll find from continued reading, I found this to be an excellent resort, perhaps even one of the finest at Disney. The first and most glaring complaint I will levy on Kidani Village however, involves dining, or lack there of. There is only a single restaurant at Kidani; a lovely African themed establishment named Sanaa. Other than a very small market in the lobby and a limited room service menu, that effectively exhausts your options at this property. Sanaa is nice restaurant with a very approachable lunch menu. Dinner on the other had may rely too heavily on its African theming to broadly appeal to children and picky eaters. Room service was perfectly fine, albeit very limited, rendering it only useful a couple of times. Now, this only encompasses Kidani Village. Jambo House, 'next door', has several great restaurants including a very welcome (those of you with small children) 'quick service' option. Feeding both properties however, Jambo House eateries were very difficult to get into without making extremely advanced reservations. Getting back to the nature of our room though, we did indeed have a full kitchen and having utilized a local grocery delivery service, were fully equipped to prepare several of our own meals 'in-house'.

Room
We stayed in a first floor, One Bedroom Villa, located on the Jambo House side of the Kidani property. Room location can be very important at this resort, affecting both potential views and walk time. As mentioned earlier, the room wings run at great lengths off both sides of the lobby. One wing runs away from/further from Jambo House; the other runs towards it. There is no denying that the further you are from the lobby, the further you will be walking each day. As a result, I would absolutely recommend requesting a room close to the lobby. If that is not available however, your second bet is to be on the wing closest to Jambo House. Although property-to-property transportation exists from the lobby, we would have never considered it with what was a less than 5-minute walk from our room to Jambo’s restaurants and pool. Secondarily, we were lucky enough to be located on the first floor with a savannah view. This lower floor will get you and your family as close to the animals as possible. The room itself was similar in layout to the other One Bedroom Villas you’ll find at Disney properties, with a few exceptions. Opening to a full kitchen with dining area and living room, there exists a very nice full bathroom off of this main living area. The primary bathroom is still off of the master bedroom, and it doesn’t disappoint. It’s enormous; full jet tub, a walk-in shower big enough to fit a traveling circus and dual vanities. The master bedroom is very large with seating and a study table. The king bed was very comfortable, and draperies very effective at cutting out the light for sleeping in, or mid-day naps. With a savannah view room you’ll want to spend copious amounts of time on your balcony. One long balcony traverses sliding doors off of both the living room and master bedroom. The resort provides a fun educational tool to help identify the various animals you’ll see throughout the day, although I preferred sunrises and sunsets as the lighting and atmosphere was simply amazing --- you really have to try hard and remember that you’re in central Florida. With a lot of wood in these rooms, and the overall property, meticulous African and Disney carvings flow throughout. We were also very pleased to find that these rooms, or group of rooms rather, were extremely quiet. In fact, if not for the super, high-flow flushing toilets that you would inevitably hear from other units, you’d be unaware that there were neighbors at all.

Transportation
So much has been made of the ‘remoteness’ of Animal Kingdom Lodge that I wanted to address transportation directly. I won’t go into a description of Disney Transportation here, so if you’re unfamiliar with the busing system, educate yourself before your visit. That said, AKL is by all accounts the most distant resort from any central measurement of Disney property. Of course, it’s right next door to the Animal Kingdom, but there exists no walking path to access the entrance. The farthest reach from this resort is going to be Downtown Disney and Blizzard Beach, with the MK, Epcot and Hollywood Studious in between. Many have reported that it could take upwards of 30 minutes to bus to the Magic Kingdom. Although this may have been true on occasion, I would estimate the average ride time at much closer to 18 minutes. This may seem lengthy to some, but you really have to weigh it against some other variables. For starters, Kidani Village and Jambo House (otherwise just referred to as Animal Kingdom Lodge) are the ONLY two stops on their particular bus route. Yes, the Beach Club and Boardwalk are technically much closer to the Magic Kingdom, they also share more numerous stops, effectively rendering your ride time about equal. So with that said, I would contest that the remoteness of the AKL is a non-issue with regard to ride times. Of course, staying at various other resorts can provide alternative transportation options such as walking, monorail and boat, so you’ll really have to weigh your priorities. One very key factor when considering a stay between Jambo House and Kidani Village is that the busing system overwhelmingly favors Kidani. Kidani Village is picked up and dropped off first every time. With limited seating/space on the bus, this is crucial at pickup. There was more than one occasion where the bus completely filled up at Kidani, and didn’t even stop at Jambo House. Who knows how long those poor people had to wait as a result?

Conclusion
By the end of this year we’ll have stayed at three of Disney’s deluxe resorts; Beach Club, Contemporary’s Bay Lake Towers and the Animal Kingdom Lodge. Proximity to the parks will always favor the first two, and who can say that Storm Along Bay Waterpark at the Beach Club isn’t cool? When it comes down to outright experience with the resort itself though, I’d almost have to say that the Animal Kingdom Lodge, specifically Kidani Village makes this resort a must try for anyone considering a one of these resort properties. We will be visiting Bay Lake Tower this fall, and I look forward to sharing my experiences with that location, as the proximity to the Magic Kingdom is something I’m very excited about.

Room Tip: First floor savannah view rooms near the lobby are ideal. If you can't be near the lobby, than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank jtrblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain Home, Arkansas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom condo (facing the buses, unfortunately).
As usual with Disney, everything was perfect.
As you walk in, you are amazed by the attention to detail. You have a full kitchen, a breakfast table that looks as if it was made from a huge African tree, a couch and a huge chair that actually turns into a sleeper.
There is also a "guest bath" and laundry closet.
The Master was amazing. It was huge, with a king sized bed, nice bedding, dresser/entertainment stand, desk with a chair, and another chair facing the balcony.
The master bath is impressive- huge shower with bench, a whirlpool tub, and a nice big vanity. The toilet closet has a door, which is always nice.
The 2nd bedroom with its own bath, two queens, and two closets also has a door to the balcony.
Wow! We had a long, huge balcony and right outside our interior door was a huge window overlooking the savannah!
What a treat!
Next time we will surely go with the upgrade for a Savannah balcony. The giraffes, ostriches, antelope and other exotics were fascinating.
Any time you go outside to the fire pit area, you meet an expert on the animals and their environment. Every one we met was amazing- and actually from Africa!!!

We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaiyaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gales Ferry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Set apart from the hustle and bustle of the WDW crowd is Kidani Village. Still on WDW property and run in WDW style, sits a quiet escape. There are two resorts in Animal Kingdom, the other is The Jambo House. Kidani is the newer of two. Be prepared to leave enough time when traveling between the Village and parks or Downtown Disney, for the Animal Kingdom Resorts are secluded. Back at Kidani, you can meander down to the "African Savannah" and have a close encounter with the animals. They are a safe distance away for their protection, but there is no glass between you and them. Giraffes, ostrich, wildebeests, cranes, zebras, ankole cattle, and many others are right there roaming in front of you. Cast members are always around to teach you more about the animals of the Village. If it is a chilly night, a campfire, in Disney style, will keep you warm. The animals are lured in your direction by guides leaving feed nearby.
The pool side is geared around activities for kids, but there are areas for adults too. There is a bar with lite bites, two hot tubs, and a long slide for the kid in you. For those ambitious enough or those that just never run out of steam, take time for a set or two at the tennis courts or a workout at the gym.

Room Tip: There are plenty of rooms with views of the Savannah which give you the pleasure of seeing the anima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scorpiondiver62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Have stayed twice at Kidani Village, the first time we had a standard view. Hotel room excellent as we'd expected. (We are Disney Vacation Club Members). We found the staff very helpful and informative. We had taken members of our family with us and had booked three studio rooms, ttwo on the fifth floor and on the second. We met on the Savannah viewing area daily. It's amazing watching the animals grazing in almost natural surroundings, night and day! The staff are very informative and on hand to answer questions. We have enjoyed many meals at the Sanna restaurant. The second time we managed to book a Savannah View studio. Each morning we sat on the balcony and ate our breakfast whilst watching the animals freely walking around, Zebra's, Giraffes, Cranes etc. The room was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Both times we have stayed here we have had rooms on the fifth floor. Ideally It would be better to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nerostgiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Disney's BoardWalk Inn
#55 of 335 in Orlando
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Property: Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Address: 3701 Osceola Pkwy, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on your own African safari adventure at this magnificent resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design offers exquisite views of lush savannas-where over 30 species of African wildlife freely roam. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and all the comforts of home in our spacious studios and multi-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Vacatia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing