We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very impressed.....if you want quality and best available Disney Hotel, this isn't it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Reception staff mainly unhelpful and miserable. We stayed in a two bed suite (a Villa) in what is supposed to be, according to Disney, one of their best hotels. I don't think so. Our accomodation was so dusty that we left after 3 days of a 9 day booking, switching to the Disney Grand Floridian, where everything is as good as it gets at Disney. Trying to get help from the "Front Desk" button on the suite telephone was a major waste of time.....unless you enjoy being on hold to the resort's call centre listening to music. If the Grand Floridian Hotel is a 10, I'd give this a 4, unless you have never visited a zoo.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarryAscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

956 - 962 of 1,436 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012

The view outside everyday includes zebras, giraffes, etc., etc. The castmembers here are also great and always willing to help any way they can. The castmembers from other countries are always eager to tell you more about their home (usually Africa). Our check in was just a little slow this time, but everyone was very pleasant. The theming and friendliness of everyone makes it a great stay! The room were also great, clean and well furnished as Disney does. This is my wife's favorite place to stay at Disney and one of my favorites as well. It is much smaller than Jambo, and does lack food choices found there, but is also part of the charm! Staying there again over Easter. Hallways can be long walks but need to be arranged to maximize savanna view rooms. Parking underneath is also great to keep the car cool!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disneyadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The experience overall was amazing, but I will start with the 2 items that disappointed:

1. The check-in process was slow, unorganized and unfriendly (we were attended by 2 different employees as we had 2 rooms and this applies to both). It was not busy as we went up to the counter immediately but it took 15 minutes to be checked in. They were unorganized even though I called a week before to confirm everything. They came off as unfriendly / uninterested. They did not ask if we were celebrating a special occasion even though when I called the week before and told them it was for my son's 5th birthday. They were just going through the motions. Not typical of Disney as we have stayed at other resorts before.

2. We were in a 2 bedroom savanah view. The master bedroom was freezing. We raised the temperature and hoped it would warm while we slept. It did not and we could not use the bathroom as it was too cold. We called that morning to have it fixed. When when we got back at night the room was still freezing. We called asking if they had come to fix it and we were told that yes, it was fixed. We asked that they return to check it again. Some one came 20 min later and confirmed that it was freezing. Another 20 min later 2 engineers came to begin fixing it. It took them almost 2 hours to fix. They did not leave until 11pm. Needless to say they could have fixed it the first time and everyone could have gotten some sleep.

The great stuff: The savanah rooms are amazing. They are so spacious, although a bit too dark which should be looked into. We were on the 1st floor pretty far down so it was a walk but it was very quiet, which we liked. The animals were out there everyday and our 3 and 5 year old loved to watch from the balcony. Except for the problems mentioned above, everyone was friendly and attentive. Housekeeping was wonderful in making sure you had everything you needed. The pool was great for kids and adults. The poo, bar was well stocked and you can get room service there. The room service food there offers more choices than the in-room service.

Definetly will stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms are built to wrap around the "Savanah" so unless you right off the lobby, you wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we just returned from 5 days stay at The Jambo house. when we pulled up in front of the hotel, there is a Disney cast member waiting for us and welcome us home. She escorted me and the kids to the lobby for check in while my husband dropped off the luggage and parked the car. We were stunned with the African theme and Christmas decor. The animals and the drum sound astounded my children. They think they are really in Africa. Check in was verry quick. It took less than 10 minutes. The room was ready for us since we arrived around 1:30 PM. It is quite a long walk to our room but it is very scenic. There are many different areas to view the animals along the walkway. We saw a lot of animals roaming outside our balcony every day. Every morning my son woke up and asked to go to the balcony to check what animals were out there. I found the room is bigger than Baylake towers and The Wilderness Lodge. The swimming pool area is nice and big. There is a kid arcade and the Simba Cub house with all kinds of art and crafts and activities for kids to enjoy. Foods are ok since they do not have that many selections. African inspired dish is good to try for the first time. Dinning plan is defenitely needed at this resort. The only down side for this resort is the location. Bus is the only transportation they have. Since we are at the Jambo house, most of the time when the bus comes it is half full. We have to wait for the next one or stand most of the time. This makes it verry difficult to travel with young kids. We have to fold up the stroller and carry bags and hold our children by hand too. For this reason, I only give 4 star for this resort. Lucklily we have the car with us this time. We will defenitely come back to this resort when our children grow older. This is my favorite resort for the theming and rooming so far. However, for our next trip in February 2013, we'll be back to Baylake Towers for its location.

Room Tip: if you have young children or elderly, request to stay close to the main lobby. The resort is big a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The spacious, comfortable one bedroom villa was very dark. Beautifully themed. Friendly cast members were very helpful upon check in. The pull out sofa bed was very firm and uncomfortable for my 50 plus year old friend. Two bathrooms are both dark, useful and well appointed. Not good for makeup application. Kitchen was less intuitively arranged, making it a challenge to find things. Others ave already commented on the convenient parking .... A car is needed as the villas are not close to main Disney attractions. Glad I experienced it, but other DVC properties are better located.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank DCDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here for a week in November in a studio room.Room was large and very decorative was also very clean,kitchen area was good had a toaster,microwave,fridge with small freezer compartment and also a coffee machine.Plenty of areas to see the animals on the savannah saw plenty of giraffes and zebras during our stay.Only downside is that the hotel is quite far out took us about thirty minutes to get to downtown disney using the disney buses but other then that our stay was really good and all the staff were brilliant and very knowledgable about the animals.The reception area is quite dark but that's part of the theming,there is a small gift shop in reception area that sells gifts and groceries,there is also laundry facilities which are free and a games room.The pool area is nice and has a bar next to it plenty of seating and on a night they would show a film only did this once as some nights it was too cold to sit out.Am glad we have stayed here as I've always wanted to visit this hotel but now I've done it i proberly would not stop again even though its a beautiful hotel it is a little far out.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed in the Kidani village for a week in November. Thanks to the generosity of friends with a Disney Vacation Club membership, our entire trip in a 1 bed villa was free. Rack rates were coming up at around $300/night, so it's on the $2,100 total cost we WOULD have paid that this review is written.

Check-in was smooth, and staff very helpful. The lobby in Kidani is a little uninspiring, centering around a gift shop and check-in desks... although the Jambo House (adjoining property) is quite grand indeed. The ability to assign credit cards to separate room keys for resort-wide charging was handy.

For a 2 bathroom property, the room was a little on the small side for $300/night. We stayed on a sofa bed for the week which was comfortable, although walls are paper thin. Very little privacy in the rooms, including bathrooms. It starts to feel very crowded very quickly with 4 adults.

The room had kitchen facilities, although was quite lacking in utensils. No chopping boards, no chopping knives (beyond basic cutlery), no kitchen scissors, few pans, no jugs, etc. Not that you expect to prepare gourmet food in-room on vacation, but for a place that advertised kitchen facilities, the basics were lacking. The fridge was also leaking water the whole time.

The decor was nice, although the room was very dark. What is it with hotels offering no/few ceiling lights and relying on lamps? With all the lights on and the curtains open at 10am, I still started to feel eye strain from in-room laptop use. It doesn't help that everything in the apartment is BROWN (following the safari theme).

The Internet access was VERY spotty. There's two wi-fi hotspots - one is for in-room guests, which offers full signal stength yet simply stops sending/receiving any data after browsing the first couple of web pages. The other is public access, which stays on 90% of the time... but has 2 bars of strength (at least in our room on the 3rd floor). Either option offered slow, unreliable access that you might expect in 1999... certainly not 2012 in a $300/night property! It made simple things like using TA for restaurant recommendations all the more annoying.

The pool is decent, although MUCH bigger in Jambo House. Fitness facilities were good - there's a weight bench here with a full rack of weights, which is often just an afterthought in many other properties.

Disney transport is, as ever, very easy and handy. Just hop on a bus and go anywhere. Note however that staying in a Disney resort means free parking for each of the parks, which saves $14/day. We chose that option a couple of times and it was very handy not to have to wait around for a bus.

We ate in The Mara the first night. The bill for 4 adults eating a snack was $48 - not OTT, but not cheap for what we got (one of us only had a bowl of fries). Served on paper plates and plastic cutlery, this was very much Disney fast food. Everything was expensive. $2.50 for a water in the lobby, for example - you expect it at the parks, but such a crazy mark-up in a resort that you've already spent over $2,000 per week to stay in would be a little insulting.

Would I recommend it to lovers of The Lion King? Probably, yes, if you have young children with you. The animals were a nice touch, and a safari view would be nice for the kids. However, if we'd have spent $2,000+, I'd have felt a little ripped off given the issued mentioned above. I should add that we extended our trip in Orlando in $69/night accommodation that overall, offered better amenities/reliability of Internet and was still as close to the parks -- as well as free and decent breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpringsteenFan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Orlando hotels
Lake Buena Vista
Four Seasons Resort Orlando at Walt Disney World Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village

Address: 3701 Osceola Pkwy, Lake Buena Vista, Orlando, FL 32830-8445
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Orlando
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Orlando
Price Range: $430 - $1,575 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village 4*
Number of rooms: 493
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape on your own African safari adventure at this magnificent resort hotel. Inspired by the traditional African kraal, the horseshoe-curved design offers exquisite views of lush savannas-where over 30 species of African wildlife freely roam. Delight in dazzling pool areas, exciting animal programs and all the comforts of home in our spacious studios and multi-bedroom villas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Disney's Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Disney`s Animal Kingdom Villas - Kidani Village Hotel Orlando

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing