We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Time”

Disney's Typhoon Lagoon Water Park
Ranked #14 of 428 things to do in Orlando
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Disney's Typhoon Lagoon Water Park, one of 2 Water Parks in Walt Disney World Resort, features attractions for the whole family—from fast waterslides to a children's area with pint-sized raft rides. Catch 6-foot waves in the Surf Pool and snorkel Shark Reef—with real sharks!Escape to a tropical paradise where you'll discover a storm of fun in the sun. Disney's Typhoon Lagoon water park is the place to go for aquatic thrill-seekers of all ages. In addition to great waterslides, you'll love the lazy river, wave pool and children's play area!
Houghton Lake, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Time”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My brother and I had an excellent time when we went to Typhoon Lagoon last month. We are 24 and 20 just to let you know! We got there approximately 9:40 a.m., parked up front, bought our tickets, headed in and got a locker, and was first in line to ride the Crush N' Gusher at 10 a.m. The park was not busy at all! We could not believe that within an hour we were able to ride everything the first 90 minutes we were there. We were able to spend a good amount of time in the wave pool, which was awesome, and relaxed in the lazy river. The food was comparable to any other theme park at Disney and even enjoyed a nice strawberry daiquiri as well. We will definitely be back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank kstreet007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,148
    2,151
    651
    119
    69
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon,UK
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not much of a thrill.”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We decided to go to typhoon lagoon as we had tried the other water parks such as Aquatica and wet and wild. We booked the tickets through the Disney reservations as we did not want to have to wait at the ticket counter on the day. It costs $54 per adult and we also booked the chAirs with the umbrella which was another $40 and that gave you two loungers and two low beach chairs,this was worth it as it is a private area with good views and your belongings are safe ( you also get 4 towels).

The wave pool is great. The big wave pops up about every 5 minutes and it's about 8 a 10 feet at its highest and is quite powerful so you can body surf. It's a very large pool so there is plenty of room. The other rides are ok,but not as good as wet and wild. They are quite small so not really worth the 10 - 15 min wait. There are plenty of places to buy food and drinks and reasonably priced.
They have shower facilities with hair dryers but I must say that they didn't work. And the shower curtains only go 3/4 of the way across so a bit disappointing as it has just opened after a refurbishment.,but at least you can shower before your flight home.
In all I would say that wet and wild is still the winner for me as it offers more excitement .

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank romagerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Take a picnic....kick back in the sand...you can easily lose yourself in the South Pacific Isle feels of this place. Swimming with (small) sharks and rays is included at no extra charge. So beautiful. ANd the wave pool cannot be beat. Never seen another like this with the large waves it produces. Many fun slides and attractions. You will want more time here...and you will have the best pictures form the trip to this palm tree spotted location of greatness!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank beachesDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Johns, NL
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Wave Pool”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

If you're into wave pools, this one is the best. Amazing 10 foot breaking waves that knock you off your feet and rip the sunglasses off your face! If this sounds like a good time to you, this is the place to go! We loved it and spent hours in the wave pool.

The lazy river was ok (Aquatics has the best river) and we didn't do any of the other rides just spent time in the wave pool!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
132 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Beautifully Landscaped”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

This is the granddaddy of all water parks. I must preface this by saying I am NOT a water park fan. I don't like slides -- I like to chill and hang out in the lazy river and wave pool. My husband LOVES water rides (he much prefers Blizzard Beach to Typhoon Lagoon because he says TL has "family and kid slides" which translates into "sissy slides."). We can both agree on TL, however, because of the gorgeousness of the setting and landscaping!

The lazy river is INCREDIBLY beautiful and relaxing. You feel like you are floating through the jungle cruise! The wave pool is a different story. No inner tubes are allowed because this isn't a float and bob type of wave pool, this is a serious knock you on your butt wave pool. It's VERY rough; so rough that it's not really very fun. I don't like to get knocked over by a giant, rough wave. When the whistle blows, get out or you'll be snorting 10 gallons of water up your nose. Seriously, this wave pool EATS kids so watch them carefully! As with all Disney parks, the employees are first rate, friendly and very helpful. Bring your own towels from the hotel or you'll have to pay to rent a towel in the park.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank moviegal226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Disney's Typhoon Lagoon Water Park also viewed

 

Been to Disney's Typhoon Lagoon Water Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing