We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the sweat-- the Kids loved it.”
Review of Gatorland

Gatorland
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.29*
and up
Gatorland Nights Shining Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Gatorland features 3,000 gators and 89 crocodiles, as well as a number of bird and snake exhibits.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
165 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth the sweat-- the Kids loved it.”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

If you have a resident ID now is the time to hit Gatorland for just $10 per person. We enjoyed a few hours here in the boiling heat. Our 8 year old daughter-- science buff-- was delighted and even our 4 year old was intrigued. They especially liked the shows and the "albino" gators. The staff was nice as well but there were a ton of bees going around and it was of concern for my 10 month old. If you think of it more as a zoo than a theme park you are going to enjoy it. There is also a water feature sprayground that the kids like although I found it to be a bit dirty. Don't forget to pack your swimsuits and towels.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank gsmyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,526
    1,419
    335
    83
    57
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not Good for $25”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The first time I visited was 12 years ago. At that time, they had a pond with dozens and dozens of gators and they held meat high over the water and the crocs would come all the way out of the water to get it. It was cool. Now the show is sad. Apparently, PETA has been here and was concerned over overcrowding and the crocs being exploited and hurt as they fall onto others. Now they have four in the pond and they hold the chicken inches over the water so only the head comes up. Don't get me wrong, still a good place to go but not at the price they charge. They have a large swamp area with crocs and gators spread around so it's not that bad but they should charge $10. I probably would have put 3 stars if I had not been here before when the show was much better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We enjoyed gatorland very much. The kids enjoyed feeding the alligators and birds. Lots of alligators of various sizes to see, some quite large. Some crocodiles as well. The jumping show was impressive although the wrestling show was a little uncomfortable to see as the alligator did not appear to be a willing participant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton
Level Contributor
114 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Neat to see”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We have been to gatorland several times over the years and I can't really see that much of anything has changed in that time. Looking at alligators is interesting. They have some albino gators that are neat to see. The gator wrestling isn't much to see since the gators are so small and not much "wrestling" to it. The gator jump-a-Roo could be good if they didn't have the stupid guys making it lame.. They seriously need to take that out. They charge $10 to sit on the back of a gator for like 3 seconds for a picture that you have to pay extra for..that's a rip off but we took our own picture since the kids wanted to do it. Overall, it's not worth $24.99 but if you can get some discounted tickets then you should go. They also have a little water park but we didn't do that since it kept raining.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JulesinGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Mass.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“An escape from Disney”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Gatorland is the perfect escape from the Disney experience for a few hours during your visit to the Orlando area. A small train gives you a tour of the grounds, take in the jumping alligator feeding show, feed the alligators from a dock and just stroll through the property to see alligators, crocs, turtles, birds and more. Have small children, let them take advantage of the splash park for no additional fee. Gatorland does exactly what it says it will, and it will not put a huge dent in your wallet.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gatorland also viewed

 

Been to Gatorland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing